Champions honored at Mississippi Thunder Speedway awards banquet
Print this page
December 1, 2012  |  by Dan Bailey

WINONA, Minn. -- Friends, family, fans and fun; those are just a few of the aspects of local racing that continue to make it so popular. But the competition of the sport is always one of the highlights, and those who can best the competition are always rewarded.

For the fourth year in a row, the racers, their families, crew members, car owners, sponsors and staff joined together at Winona’s Riverport Inn & Suites to remember the completed racing season and celebrate those who enjoyed a successful 2012 season at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway’s 2012 awards banquet.

After a delicious buffet dinner presented by Dianne Nelson and the Riverport Inn & Suites staff, it was time to begin handing out awards. The top-5 finishers in the point standings of all 8 weekly divisions were awarded with trophies ranging in size from three to six feet tall, and the top-10 in the two USRA divisions were also given their series points fund checks.

Track champions also headed out into the balmy December evening wearing brand new Mississippi Thunder Speedway track champion jackets.

In the Rivercity Manufacturing USRA Modifieds, Lucas Schott of Chatfield, Minn., was crowned the 2012 track champion while Winona's Erik Kanz earned the title in the USRA B-Mods.

In addition to the awards given out to drivers, speedway owner Bob Timm took some time to discuss plans for the upcoming 5th Anniversary Season at Mississippi Thunder Speedway. The tentative 2013 schedule is already being laid out.

Returning for another season of support is Jack Baehman’s Baehman Law. In addition to supporting the 5th Annual Baehman Law B-Mod Challenge, and the hugely popular Baehman Law B-Mod Nationals, Baehman Law will be contributing $10,000 to the division – 100% of which will go directly to the drivers.

Additionally, Timm mentioned that work continues on the reconfiguration of the pit area and informed the competitors that 100 loads of new material have just been laid on the racing surface.

Midway through the awards presentation to the racers, Timm returned to the podium to present special awards to individuals who continue to “step up to the plate” as supporters of Mississippi Thunder Speedway. Special awards and recognition were given to Jay Oricchio, Jack Baehman, Steve & Kevin Reutzel and Art Bolson.

As the evening progressed, the crowd was treated to door prizes from wide variety of local, area and regional businesses which continue to support Mississippi Thunder Speedway. A public thank you was offered to those supporters for the over 100 door prizes provided for the evening’s festivities: Les Duellman Racing, NAPA Auto Parts of Winona, Motor Parts & Equipment, Kent Grover @ The Engine Store, Fastenal, Lou Fegers Racing Equipment, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Images by Design, Coca Cola Bottling Company of Winona, Pehler’s Distributing, Joe Provo Racewear / Joe Signs, Mississippi Welding Supply Company and Daniels Yamaha.

After the 90-minute awards ceremony, the crowd mingled and danced the night away to the fun and music from Rip-Roarin’ Entertainment.

Congratulations to all competitors and especially the award winners from the 2012 Mississippi Thunder Speedway season – here’s looking forward to the 5th Anniversary Season in 2013.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group