Foss, Hovey first-time winners on opening night at Deer Creek Speedway
Print this page
May 11, 2013

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- Although not a perfect night for racing with cool temps and strong winds, night 1 of the 2013 racing season got underway Saturday at the Deer Creek Speedway with 121 cars and drivers on hand, including 40 USRA B-Mods.

2011 USRA B-Mod national champion Brandon Hare jumped into the early lead with Troy Hovey in second after they cleared the four-wide battle in turns 1-2. A quick caution on lap 3 saw Hovey and Hare side by side for the lead while Cory Crapser and Erik Kanz raced for third.

With four down, Hare retook control of the race with Crapser solidly in third. John VanMinsel worked into the fourth position while Hovey continued to work on Hare up front, and on lap 7 pulled alongside for the lead with Crapser now joining in on the battle.

Hare continued to hold a slight advantage as they crossed the line and Shaun Walski moved by VanMinsel for the fourth spot with 10 laps completed. Hovey took the point on lap 11 and on lap 12 Crapser took second away from Hare.

VanMinsel, Kanz and Jacob Bleess battled for the fifth spot for the remaining six laps while on lap 14 Walski worked past Hare for the third spot.

At the finish it was Hovey with his first win at the speedway. Crapser, Walski, Hare and VanMinsel rounded out the top five.

Dustin Sorensen and Cole Queensland won the two "B" features while Scott Van Burkirk, Crapser, VanMinsel, Hare and Hovey won the five heat races earlier in the night.

The final race of the night saw Josh Angst jump out front of the USRA Modified feature. Keith Foss sat in second with Bob Timm and Lucas Schott racing for third.

With three laps complete, Mike Sorensen moved under Josh Wise for the fifth spot while up front on lap 5 Foss and Angst were side by side. Sorensen worked into fourth on lap 7 as Foss took over the lead, and Schott moved past Angst on lap 8.

The first caution of the race was on lap 12, and on the restart Foss led Schott, Sorensen, Angst and Eric Dailey in the top 5. Another caution on lap 17 saw Foss lead on the restart. Schott moved high on the speedway, allowing Sorensen to take over second on lap 19. Dailey worked past Schott on lap 22 for third.

As the checkers flew over the Deer Creek Speedway for the last time, it was Foss with his first win in the USRA Modified division. Sorensen, Dailey, Schott and Bob Timm rounded out the top 5.

Next week races resume on Saturday night with the annual Bus Race night. For more information visit us online at or "LIKE" our Facebook Page. You can also follow us on Twitter @DeerCreekSpeed (#TheCreek) or on our YouTube Channel.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, May 11, 2013


"A" Feature: Troy Hovey, Cory Crapser, Shaun Walski, Brandon Hare, John VanMinsel, Erik Kanz, Jacob Bleess, Parker Hale, Alex Williamson, Cole Queensland, Ben Moudry, Kyle Anderson, Scott Demmer, Brian Mahlstadt, Dustin Sorensen, Scot Van Bukirk, Dean Hoffman, Steve Amundson, Kadden Kath, Tyler Creely, Mark Motl, Casey Knutson, Alan Wagner, Trevor Fecht.

"B" Feature #1: Sorensen, Creely, Terry Kohnert, Ryan Halverson, Lee Jonsgaard, Pete Kiley, Mike Chisholm, Brian Hermanson, Taylor Ausrud, Rod Hinz.

"B" Feature #2: Queensland, Wagner, Dan Hovden, Kylie Kath, Kenny Boge Jr., Derek Clement, John Warrington, Ryan Konkel, Chris Roney, Cody Gardner.

Heat #1: Van Bukirk, Walski, Demmer, Motl, Sorensen, Kiley, Kohnert, Roney.

Heat #2: Crapser, Kanz, Bleess, Moudry, Wagner, Boge, Clement, Hinz.

Heat #3: VanMinsel, Williamson, Amundson, Knutson, Chisholm, Queensland, Hermanson, Warrington.

Heat #4: Hare, Kadden Kath, Anderson, Mahlstadt, Hovden, Creely, Gardner, Jonsgaard.

Heat #5: Hovey, Kylie Kath, Hale, Hoffman, Fecht, Halverson, Konkel, Ausrud.


"A" Feature: Keith Foss, Mike Sorensen, Eric Dailey, Lucas Schott, Bob Timm, Jake Timm, Dean Mahlstedt, Rodney Sanders, A.J. Wiste, Jason Schlangen, Todd Scharkey, Jason Cummins, Eric Pember, Brandon Davis, Tommy Myer, Joel Alberts, Pat Grahm, Nate Wasmund, Greg Jensen, Josh Angst, Doug Hillson, Tom Brink, Joe Horgdal, Josh Wise.

"B" Feature: Davis, Jensen, Pember, Horgdal, Don Gerritsen Jr., Michael Wytaske, LeRoy Scharkey, Darwyn Karau, Robert Franklin.

Heat #1: Dailey, Schott, Sanders, Cummins, Grahm, Jensen, Wytaske, Horgdal.

Heat #2: Foss, Sorensen, Wasmund, Schlangen, Brink, L. Scharkey, Franklin.

Heat #3: Wise, Mahlstedt, Wiste, Hillson, Alberts, Pember, Karau.

Heat #4: Angst, J. Timm, B. Timm, T. Scharkey, Myer, Davis, Gerritsen.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group