Everett earns $1,000 for USRA Modified win at North Central Arkansas Speedway
Print this page
May 17, 2013  |  by Scott Ramos

YELLVILLE, Ark. -- Nearly ideal weather greeted the drivers and fans as they entered the speedway this evening at North Central Arkansas Speedway, and the turnout was the best of the year in support of Racin’ For A Cure. Thanks to the generous donations of those in attendance, nearly  $4,000 was raised to benefit the American Cancer Society.

After picking up wins in their respective heat races, the team cars of Dallas Everett and Bill Frye paced the field to the start of the $1,000-to-win USRA Modified feature.

Everett and Frye led the pack for the first three laps of green flag action followed by Rob Muilenburg, Mike Smith and Chris Theodore until the first yellow flag of the event waved on lap 3 for a solo spin by Kyle Cotter in turn 2. As the race got restarted, Theodore made a quick move into fourth going into turn 1 as the field got back up to speed, then made the pass around Smith into fourth place using the bottom of the track on lap 5.

Kandy Methvin brought out the yellow flag before lap 6 could be completed, setting the stage for another yellow flag before lap 6 became official when Rob Muilenburg spun on the front straight as the cars accelerated to restart the race. Carl Murphy used the restarts to crack the top 5, getting past Mike Smith into the fourth spot before John Briggs brought out another caution as he spun coming off turn 2.

A four-car pile-up exiting turn 4 brought out the yellow flag again on lap 9, stacking up the front-runners for another restart that Theodore used to move briefly past Frye into the second spot. After trailing Theodore for a single circuit, Frye dropped to the very bottom of the track in turn 1 to drive past and slide up in front of Theodore exiting turn 2.

After starting ninth, Steve Muilenburg hung back and steered clear of the trouble in front of him before starting to move up through the field late in the race, taking over the fifth spot on lap 17 and then claiming his finishing spot in fourth on lap 19.

As the laps would down, Frye closed several times on Everett but was never able to get close enough to make a serious bid for the win.

The USRA B-Mods got underway with Kevin Grissum on the pole, and Wayne Degase outside the front row. Ray Flippin started outside the second row, but used the high side of the speedway to get to the lead before the first lap was completed.

Caution fell on the speedway when debris was spotted in both turns 2 and 4 on lap 4, and as soon as the field was reset the racing action resumed and Steve Muilenburg began moving to the front, claiming fourth on lap 5, second on lap 6 and then the lead on lap 10.

Two more caution flags slowed the event, and after a restart on lap 14 Charlie Gentile moved into second and tried to close on Muilenburg over the closing laps, but Muilenburg was able to hold on for another USRA B-Mod feature win.

Next up on the racing schedule is another full night of racing to get your Memorial Day Weekend started on Friday night, May 24. North Central Arkansas Speedway is located between Yellville and Flippin on Hwy. 62-412. The gates open at 6 p.m. on Friday nights, with the racing starting at 8 p.m. Adult admission is just $10 for those over age 17. Seniors and those with a military ID card are $8 and children age 7-16 years is $5 with those under 6 getting in for free. A family plan for two adults and any children under 16 is only $20, and a pit pass is available for $25.

For all the latest speedway information please call 870-449-LAPS(5277), or just go to the North Central Arkansas Speedway website at www.dsmotorsports-llc.com.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
North Central Arkansas Speedway, Yelleville, Ark.
Friday, May 17, 2013


Feature: 1. Dallas Everett, 2. Bill Frye, 3. Chris Theodore, 4. Steve Muilenburg, 5. Brint Hartwick, 6. Carl Murphy, 7. Mike Smith, 8. Rob Muilenburg, 9. Jason Snodgrass, 10. Rusty Weir, 11. Corey Weir, 12. Lonnie Judd, 13. Kyle Cotter, 14. Paul Norwick, 15. John Briggs, 16. David Marez, 17. Mikey Bell, 18. Kandy Methvin.


Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. Charlie Gentile, 3. Terry Phillips, 4. Kevin Grissum, 5. Earl Muilenburg, 6. Wayne Degase, 7. Shawn Ply, 8. Ray Flippin, 9. Chris Davidson.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group