Mississippi Thunder Speedway wins to Waits, Bleess
Print this page
May 24, 2013  |  by Guy Hamernik

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. -- Twenty-five USRA B-Mods took to the Mississippi Thunder Speedway Friday night for the Blackhorse Bar & Grill 18-lap feature. On lap 1, Cody Gardner and Troy Langowski got mixed up through turn 4 bringing out the first caution. A breakdown for Jake Timm took him out of the running on lap 2, and Kyle Brown edged into the turn 4 wall bringing out the second caution.

On the restart, mayhem broke loose as several cars came together resulting in a hard rollover for Jack Baehman. Tyler Creeley, Alex Williamson and Phillip Dunbar were also involved. Baehman gingerly exited the car favoring his right shoulder.

Jon Van Minsel shot out to the early lead with Jacob Bleess on his tail. On lap 8, Bleess shot down to take the lead through turn 4 as Van Minsel suffered a breakdown on the back-stretch. That put Bleess on the point with Parker Hale in second, followed by Chris Gilbertson, Darran Jonsgaard and Eric Kanz.

When the race continued, a great shoot-out developed between Hale, Kanz, Walski, Jonsgaard and Crapser. Out front it was all Blees taking home the feature win, followed by Walski, Gilbertson, Hale and Kanz.

Steve Lavasseur and Jake Timm paced the River City Manufacturing USRA Modifieds to the start with Timm taking the early lead. Josh Angst shot to the high side and Brad Waits shot low to take second away from Lavasseur. It was a three-car battle for the lead for several laps until Timm mixed up through turn 2 and Waits passed on the low side for the lead.

Caution flew as Chris Loberg spun in turn 4, giving the lead back to Timm. On the restart, the three continued their battle. Waits took the lead on the restart, with Keith Foss passing Angst for third. Angst slowed up with a flat tire which brought out another caution.

Waits, Foss and Timm battled three wide for three laps before Timm drifted back. When the white flag flew, it was Waits low and Foss high looking for a little extra bite to make the pass for the lead. Coming out of the final turn, it was a drag race to the finish as Waits edged Foss for the win.

Decorah Iowas Dan Bohr battled from a 10th starting spot to finish third, while Lance Hofer finished strong in fourth and Timm finished with a top-5.

Racing action continues next Friday with KAGE-Budweiser night at Mississippi Thunder, the areas longest running sponsorship with plenty of prizes for the fans. The green flag drops for the big cars at 7 p.m. with the mini-modifieds taking to the Lightning Speedway at 6 p.m.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, May 24, 2013


1. (5) 24 Brad Waits, Rochester, Minn.
2. (6) 95 Keith Foss, Winona, Minn.
3. (10) 66 Dan Bohr, Decorah , Iowa
4. (7) 11 Lance Hofer, Cochrane
5. (3) 10 Jake Timm, Winona, Minn.
6. (8) 59 Hank Rollinger Jr., Buffalo City
7. (11) 77 Tom Brink, Winona, Minn.
8. (1) 99L Steve Lavasseur, River Falls
9. (12) 15 Chris Loberg, Menomonie
10. (9) 94JR John Doelle, Arcadia
11. (4) 99 Josh Angst , Winona, Minn.
12. (2) 44 LeRoy Scharkey, Rochester, Minn.


1. (3) 21 Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.
2. (8) 95X Shaun Walski, Winona, Minn.
3. (11) 4G Chris Gilbertson, Trempealeau
4. (4) 28 Parker Hale, Grand Meadow, Minn.
5. (12) 23K Erik Kanz, Winona, Minn.
6. (6) 07 Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls
7. (9) 8X Darran Jonsgaard, Fountain City
8. (14) 9 Brady Keefe, Stewartville, Minn.
9. (5) 88 Troy Langowski, Winona, Minn.
10. (25) 90 Tyler Creeley, Winona, Minn.
11. (16) 34F Nick Frion, Ellsworth
12. (7) 6 Dustin Kruse, Brandon , S.D.
13. (19) 13 Ryan Konkel, Winona, Minn.
14. (20) 35X Phillip Dunbar, Rushford, Minn.
15. (21) 5W Mike Krueger, Sparta
16. (18) 80 Bill Engler, Hixton
17. (17) 20K Kyle Brown, Minnesota City, Minn.
18. (2) 81 Cody Gardner, Elkton, Minn.
19. (1) 1 Jon Van Minsel, Spring Grove, Minn.
20. (15) 97 Don Schaefer, Eyota, Minn.
21. (10) 11 Jack Baehman, Hudson
22. (23) 15W Alex Williamson, Rushford, Minn.
23. (22) 48M Mike Jonsgaard, Rochester, Minn.
24. (13) 10 Jake Timm, Winona, Minn.
25. (24) 54 John Feirn, Chippewa Falls

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group