Fuqua, Marrant garner Lakeside Speedway laurels
Print this page
May 24, 2013  |  by Bob Libbey

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- Darron Fuqua had to run hard to win the caution-free USRA Modified feature Friday night at the Lakeside Speedway. It took the Mayetta driver 10 laps to go from his row-5 starting spot to the lead, motoring around initial leaders Chris Spieker and Mark Shafman on the way up front.

Once there, he had to stay on the gas as Tyler Schmidt and Dustin Boney were meticulously picking off competitors lap after lap from their last-row starting spots, eventually finishing second and fourth, respectively.

Schafman finished third while Tim Karrick rounded out the top 5.

Terry Bruner’s early lead in the USRA B-Mod feature was short-lived as Aaron Marrant was able to hit the gaps just right and motor from fifth to first by lap 2. He never looked back on his way to his second career USRA B-Mod feature win.

The best battle came down to the wire as 12th-starting Brad Smith overtook Bruner for second as the checkers flew.

Chad Clancy and Gene Claxton rounded out the top 5 in the caution-free event.

“Racing on the River’s Edge” continues every Friday night through October with the USRA Modifieds and USRA B-Mods, plus Grand Nationals and Factory Stocks. Gates open at 5 p.m., hot laps are at 6:45 and the first race gets underway at 7:30. Adult ticket prices are $12, kids ages 7-12 are $6 and children 6 and younger are admitted free. Seniors and military personnel with ID are admitted for $10.

For more information on special events or ticket information call the Lakeside Speedway office at 913-299-9206 or visit our official website at www.lakesidespeedway.net. You can also find us on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or Tweet us at #lakeside.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, May 24, 2013


1. (9) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta
2. (20) 66T Tyler Schmidt, Easton
3. (3) 34 Mark Schafman, Edwardsville
4. (21) 22 Dustin Boney, Kansas City, Mo.
5. (8) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor
6. (4) 77 Cody Agler, Racing Emporia
7. (5) 56 Chris Spieker, Mussena, Iowa
8. (13) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
9. (10) 3B Nic Bidinger, Perry
10. (15) 34A Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
11. (6) 16S Mike Ryun, Pleasant Valley, Mo.
12. (7) 3 Larry Harvey Jr., Kansas City
13. (14) 5 Scott Crystal, Overland Park
14. (18) 45 Bob King, Independence, Mo.
15. (12) 88 Donnie Burlington Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
16. (11) 99 Tim North Jr., Olathe
17. (1) 8 Mark Hoover, Maryville, Mo.
18. (17) 28 Jerry Liston Jr., Kansas City
19. (16) 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton
20. (2) 81 Dan Charles, Basehor
21. (19) 26 Steve Hanna, Kansas City
22. (15) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee
23. (22) 28L Nick Little, Plattsburg


1. (5) 70 Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
2. (12) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
3. (7) 21C Chad Clancy, Smithville, Mo.
4. (8) 42 Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.
5. (6) 4J Jake Richards, Edwards
6. (15) 11C Chad Feather
7. (4) 44C Troy Carlyle, Kearney, Mo.
8. (1) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville
9. (13) 21K Kevin Sloan, Easton
10. (16) 1D D.J. DeMotte, Basehor
11. (14) 22G Steve Goodman, Meriden, Mo.
12. (21) X33 Nick Newton
13. (11) 38 Matt Pugh, Overland Park
14. (22) 0 Richard Layne, Kansas City, Mo.
15. (2) 44X Sam Schuler Jr., Kansas City
16. (9) 28S Dave Holcomb, Kansas City
17. (24) 7M Heath Murry, Tonganoxie
18. (20) 11T Mike Taylor Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
19. (19) 3J Joe Pete Brugnoni, Kansas City, Mo.
20. (23) 34 Todd Greenlee, Kansas City
21. (10) 222 Colten Stevens, Basehor
22. (17) 16 David Pierce, Kansas City, Mo.
23. (18) ON1 Jason Park, Kansas City
24. (3) 8 Terry Bruner, Shawnee (DQ)

Latest News from the USRA

April 25, 2018
Hamilton County Speedway announces May 5 grand opening, kids night
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, have announced that opening night for the 2018 racing season will happen Saturday, May 5, with an open prread more
April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group