Methvin holds off Martin for North Central Arkansas Speedway USRA B-Mod victory
Print this page
May 24, 2013  |  by Scott Ramos

YELLVILLE, Ark. -- For the second week in a row, pleasant spring-like conditions greeted everyone in attendance this Friday evening at the North Central Arkansas Speedway.

Kandy Methvin and Logan Martin led the field to the green flag to start the USRA B-Mod feature race, but the first attempt to get underway was waved off for a very ragged line-up. Methvin claimed the early lead on the opening lap before the first of four caution periods fell on the speedway when debris was spotted in turn 4.

Steve Muilenburg gained the second spot on the restart, but Martin moved back around him in chase of Methvin on lap 3. Before the fourth lap was recorded Muilenburg spun in turn 4 and slowed the pace once again.

After the restart the field was closely packed with Terry Phillips and Tony Myers fighting for position when the two got together exiting turn 2 and sent Myers up on top of the wall where he slid all the way down the back stretch before coming off of it at the track exit. Meyers was unhurt but his car suffered extensive damage and ended his night.

Methvin pulled away from Martin on the restart and Muilenburg started to move back up on the score sheets before bringing out the final caution of the event when his rear end failed. Methvin was able to pull away from Martin on the restart to claim his first feature win of the season.

Next up on the racing schedule is another full night of racing to end the month of May on the 31st, and there will be more exciting ATV and Motorcycle TT racing on the track to start the month of June on the 1st. North Central Arkansas Speedway is located between Yellville and Flippin on Hwy. 62-412. For all the latest speedway information please call 870-449-LAPS(5277), or just go to the North Central Arkansas Speedway website at


USRA Weekly Racing Series
North Central Arkansas Speedway, Yellville, Ark.
Friday, May 24, 2013


Feature: 1. Kandy Methvin, 2. Logan Martin, 3. Terry Phillips, 4. Steve Muilenburg, 5. Charlie Gentile, 6. Tony Myers, 7. Tommy Morgan, 8. Cain Foster.

Latest News from the USRA

January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
January 12, 2018
Jegtvig posts Friday night victory at Wild Wet Shootout
Blake Jegtvig became the fourth different winner in as many USRA Modified main events Friday night during Round 4 of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootoread more
January 10, 2018
Schott scores in Wild West Shootout Wednesday night action
Lucas Schott scored the USRA Modified victory Wednesday evening during the third round of the Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group