Late race passes the name of the game at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
June 14, 2013  |  by Dan Bailey

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. -- Every fan of racing loves to watch a great battle for position; when that battle for position is for the lead, even better. When the battle for lead is in the closing laps of feature ... look out, ‘cause the fans will be on their feet, the enthusiasm will be high and the drivers will be pushing just as hard as possible.

Friday night’s action at Mississippi Thunder Speedway was a race fans dream, as every single feature event of the evening came right down to the final lap to determine who was going to be pulling into Victory Lane.

2010 Track Champion Josh Angst has had his work cut out for him through the initial stages of the 2013 season. Friday night, things were back where he liked them, as he was able to pilot his Culver’s of Winona #99 to a clean sweep winning both the second heat race and the evenings River City Manufacturing USRA Modified Winona County Employees 25 lap feature.

But, like the two previous results already highlighted, Angst’s step to the win came with some late-race action. Decorah, IA’s Dan Bohr wrestled the lead away from local driver Lance Hofer on lap two and looked ready to make his maiden voyage into Victory Lane for the 2013 season. From lap two through lap 17 Bohr’s #66 was out front and seemingly sailing towards victory. But, a cliché is a cliché because makes sense time and time again ... this feature was not going to be over until it was over!

In turn four on lap 17 a lapped car slid up the banking directly into the line of Bohr’s high-line missile. Just enough sheet metal was wrinkled to slow Bohr’s momentum, Angst, who’d slowly caught Bohr since stepping into second on lap eight, saw the opportunity and pounced like a stalking tiger.

Angst, then, sailed to his feature win and celebrated a change in his season, “we have struggled a bit early this season”, commented Angst in Victory Lane, “but last night we really got things corrected and tonight shows that we’re back to running the way we can.”

Bohr settled was an obviously heart-breaking second place finish, Hofer and current point leader Jake Timm finishing third and fourth ahead of Brad Waits in fifth.

Young Alex Williamson bested the 22-car Black Horse Bar & Grill USRA B-Mod main event, holding off Shaun Walski in second, Cory Crapser in third, Chris Gilbertson & third heat race winner Jacob Bleess in fourth and fifth respectively.

Mississippi Thunder Speedway will be silent next Friday June 21st as the track keeps it’s lights dark for their 2013 ‘bye week’ ... speedway owners and management encourage all race fans to visit Winona, MN to enjoy the Steamboat Days festivities. High-speed action returns to Mississippi Thunder Speedway Friday June 28th with the make-up of the fan-favorite Winona Radio KAGE / BUD night, one of the longest running active race track event promotions celebrating dirt track racing since the late ‘80s! Action will continue July 5th with the 5th Annual River City Rumble; extra money for the racers, on-sight DJ music and prizes for the fans including bikes for the kids and five (5) flat-screen TVs! Watch the Mississippi Thunder Speedway web site for details!

Mississippi Thunder Speedway is located 3.0 miles north of Fountain City on Wisconsin Highway 35. For more information, call 608-687-3282 or visit on the World Wide Web.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, June 14, 2013


Feature: 1. Josh Angst, 2. Dan Bohr, 3. Lance Hofer, 4. Jake Timm, 5. Brad Waits, 6. Tom Brink, 7. Bob Timm, 8. Hank Rollinger Jr., 9. John Doelle, 10. LeRoy Scharkey, 11. Steve Lavasseur, 12. Bryan Hessler, 13. Brian Albrecht.


Feature: 1. Alex Williamson, 2. Shaun Walski, 3. Cory Crapser, 4. Chris Gilbertson, 5. Jacob Bleess, 6. Ben Moudry, 7. Erik Kanz, 8. Parker Hale, 9. Jake Timm, 10. Casey Knutson, 11. John Feirn, 12. Brandon Reutzel, 13. Nick Frion, 14. Tyler Creeley, 15. Phillip Dunbar, 16. Ryan Konkel, 17. Bill Engler, 18. Cody Gardner, 19. Darran Jonsgaard, 20. Tucker Breitung, 21. Jack Baehman, 22. Troy Langowski.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group