Richards doubles his pleasure, Spieker snags first at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
June 21, 2013

Chris Spieker in victory lane after his USRA Modified win on Friday, June 21, at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan.

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- On a night that looked to be all about USRA Modifed points leader Darron Fuqua, it ended up being a new face in victory lane.

Chris Spieker found out that even with a fast hot rod you still need a little luck sometimes.

Fuqua paced the field and, at times, led by a full straight-away when out of turn 4 he quickly found his way into the infield with a motor that was overheating, giving the lead and his first feature win of 2013 at Lakeside Speedway to the Massena, Iowa native.

Terry Schultz, Tim Karrick, Kerry Davis and Justin Johnson rounded out the top 5.

Jake Richards in victory lane after his USRA B-Mod win on Friday, June 21, at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan.

The always wild USRA B-Mods lived up to its reputation as action all over the racetrack kept the fans on the edge of their seat’s while Edwardsville driver Jake Richards picked up his 2nd feature win of the year.

Richards started outside of row #1 and used that to his advantage as he was able to use the top line of the track all night to lead all 15 laps.

Gene Claxon, Aaron Marrant Chad Clancy and Nick Newton rounded out your top 5.

“Racing on the River’s Edge” continues every Friday night through October with the USRA A-Modifieds, Grand Nationals, USRA B-Modifieds and Factory Stocks. Gates open at 5:00pm, hot laps at 6:45pm, and the first race gets under way at 7:30pm. Adult ticket prices are $12.00, kids 7-12 $6.00, and children 6 and younger admitted FREE. Senior Citizen’s and military personnel with ID are admitted for $10.

For more information on special events or ticket information call the Lakeside Speedway office at (913) 299-9206 or visit our official website at You can also find us on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or Tweet us at #lakeside.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, June 21, 2013


1. (2) 56 Chris Spieker, Massena, Iowa
2. (3) 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia, Mo.
3. (5) 1k Tim Karrick, Basehor
4. (13) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
5. (1) 7J Justin Johnson, Gardner
6. (10) 34 Mark Schafman, Edwardsville
7. (8) 39 Luke Driskell, Stilwell
8. (7) 3 Larry Harvey Jr., Kansas City
9. (15) 21x Tim Setzer, Archie, Mo.
10. (11) 01 Kirby Stiens, Conception Junction, Mo.
11. (9) 8 Mark Hoover, Maryville, Mo.
12. (17) 0 Joe Cobb, Kansas City
13. (16) 28 Jerry Liston Jr., Kansas City
14. (18) 88 Donnie Burlington Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
15. (19) 175 Jason Park, Kansas City
16. (4) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta
17. (20) 81 Dan Charles, Basehor
18. (14) 00e Eddie Bray Jr., Archie, Mo.
19. (12) 3B Nic Bidinger, Perry
20. (6) 34a Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
DNS - 77 Cody Agler, Emporia
DNS - 99 Tim North Jr., Olathe


1. (2) 4j Jake Richards, Edwards
2. (5) 42 Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.
3. (3) 70 Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
4. (6) 21c Chad Clancy, Smithville, Mo.
5. (4) 3x3 Nick Newton, Kansas City
6. (16) 11 Mike Higley, Kansas City, Mo.
7. (18) 1 J. Genail, Atchison
8. (8) 222 Colten Stevens, Basehor
9. (22) 44x Sam Schuler Jr., Kansas City
10. (13) 21 Lance Town, Wellsville
11. (10) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville
12. (12) 27b Jarret Beach,Tonganoxie
13. (21) 38 Matt Pugh, Overland Park
14. (20) 32 Shelby Manthe, Lenexa
15. (17) 36j John Brown, Lancaster
16. (9) 3j Joe Pete Brugnoni, Kansas City, Mo.
17. (23) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
18. (24) 22g Steve Goodman, Meriden, Mo.
19. (14) 29 Aron Rottinghaus, Overland Park
20. (11) 18 Frank Littrell, Claycomo, Mo.
21. (15) 87 David Hartman, Trimble, Mo.
22. (1) 8 Terry Bruner, Shawnee
23. (7) 12b Bryan Rigsby, Topeka
24. (19) 55d Mason Daughters, Polo, Mo.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group