Steve Muilenburg doubles up at North Central Arkansas Speedway
Print this page
June 21, 2013  |  by Scott Ramos

YELLVILLE, Ark. -- The first night of summer, and the summer racing season, got underway with warm and humid conditions in the air this evening at North Central Arkansas Speedway.

The USRA B-Mod feature race powered off turn four to start with Cain Foster and Tony Myers on the front row. Myers out-drove Foster into turn one and led Charlie Gentile down the back straight with Steve Muilenburg closing on the top two cars in third. Gentile grabbed the lead on the second revolution before Ray Flippin brought out the first yellow flag of feature racing action as he slowed coming off turn four and ended his night prematurely. John Briggs made it up to third on the restart dropping Myers back to fourth, and after following Gentile around the track for a pair of laps, Muilenburg took over the lead for good on lap four. A pair of cautions would slow the remainder of the race but Taylor Duggins and Myers had an intense race for third throughout the last several laps as Muilenburg notched his first feature win on the night. Gentile finished second and Duggins held on for third.

The USRA Modified feature capped off the nights feature races, getting underway with Corey Weir and Kyle Cotter out in front of the pack as the green lights came on to start the event. The first start was called off as the field was widely spaced and out of order coming to the starting cone, and the second attempt was waved off for a single car spin in turn four. The third attempt to get up to speed was finally successful, with Weir leading Kandy Methvin across the line on the opening lap. Steve Muilenburg moved past Cotter and Mike Smith to take over third on lap two using the bottom of the track as the bottom groove started to hold traction. Smith challenged Cotter on the bottom line for several laps before getting into fourth on lap seven. A spin by Cotter on lap ten brought out the yellow flag, and Cotter unfortunately saw his night come to an end as he was pushed to the infield for the duration of the race. Weir led the field back up to speed, but Steve was able to use the bottom groove to take over second on the next scored lap, and then grabbed the top spot down low one lap after that. Rob Muilenburg made it past Methvin into third for a single cycle on lap thirteen, but Methvin charged right back into third on the following lap as the two drivers dueled nose to tail for three laps. Methvin closed on Weir in the second spot and it became a three car fight for the spot with Weir trying to hold off the charging cars behind him. After racing side-by-side for a pair of circuits of the speedway Methvin briefly claimed second on lap fifteen but Weir came back to lead lap sixteen. A slight slip by Weir on lap eighteen allowed Methvin, Rob and Smith past in turns three and four, with the final outcome showing Steve taking his second feature win of the night. Methvin held off Rob to claim second as Rob took third.

The next night of racing action will be Friday night, June 28th with a B-Mod Triple Crown event leading into an off-week to allow track officials to spend the 4th of July weekend with their families. North Central Arkansas Speedway is located between Yellville and Flippin on Hwy. 62-412. For all the latest speedway information please call 870-449-LAPS(5277), or just go to the North Central Arkansas Speedway website at


USRA Weekly Racing Series
North Central Arkansas Speedway, Yellville, Ark.
Friday, June 21, 2013


Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. Charlie Gentile, 3. Taylor Duggins, 4. Tony Myers, 5. Ray Kemp, 6. John Briggs, 7. Cain Foster, 8. Ray Flippin, 9. Kevin Grissum, 10. Terry Phillips.


Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. Kandy Methvin, 3. Rob Muilenburg, 4. Mike Smith, 6. Corey Weir, 7. Jason Snodgrass, 8. Rusty Weir, 9. Kyle Cotter.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group