Karrick, Claxton victors at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
July 26, 2013  |  by Bob Libbey

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- Tim Karrick took advantage of a great handling car and some lady luck on his way to a second win of the season in the USRA Modifieds Friday night at the Lakeside Speedway. Joe Cobb was running strong to begin the race until getting side-swiped by Jared Steins during a caution. While the damage looked minimal it was enough for both to fall from the race early.

Mark Schafman inherited the lead and held strong until contact with the concrete caused him to fall backward. Karrick took advantage of Schafman’s ailing car and took the lead on lap-16. From there he just had to run hard and consistent to keep current points leader Nic Bidinger and first heat winner Cody Agler from overtaking him.

They finished second and third while Jason Bodenhamer and John Allen rounded out the top 5.

The USRA B-Mods feature also saw a driver go green-white-checkered. Eventual winner Gene Claxton took command early only to find himself having to hold off last week’s winner, Brad Smith.

Smith came from the seventh starting position and would challenge for the lead until he found Jeremy Chambers looking to take second from him. Chambers raced from 15th to finish third. Current points leader Aaron Marrant had to race through the B-Main to finish fourth. Fourteen-year-old Shadren Turner held his own to round out the top 5.

“Racing on the River’s Edge” continues every Friday night through October with the USRA A-Modifieds, Grand Nationals, USRA B-Modifieds and Factory Stocks. Gates open at 5 p.m., hot laps are at 6:45 and the first race gets under way at 7:30. Adult ticket prices are $12, kids 7-12 are $6 and children 6 and younger are admitted free. Seniors and military personnel with ID are admitted for $10.

For more information on special events or ticket information call the Lakeside Speedway office at 913-299-9206 or visit our official website at www.lakesidespeedway.net. You can also find us on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or Tweet us at #lakeside.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, July 26, 2013


1. (2) 42 Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.
2. (7) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
3. (15) 17C Jeremy Chambers
4. (23) 70 Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
5. (9) 17T Shadren Turner, St. Joseph, Mo.
6. (3) 8 Terry Bruner, Shawnee
7. (16) 3J Joe Pete Brugnoni, Kansas City, Mo.
8. (8) 44X Sam Schuler Jr., Kansas City
9. (22) 41 Bob Russell, Lees Summit, Mo.
10. (19) 32 Shelby Manthe, Lenexa
11. (18) 21K Kevin Sloan, Easton
12. (10) 28S David Holcomb, Kansas City
13. (21) 11T Mike Taylor Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
14. (12) 36K Kelby Ostrander, Oskaloosa
15. (17) 31 Brett Magee
16. (13) 44 Gregg Truelove, Liberty, Mo.
17. (24) 75R Robert Isabell III, Bonner Springs
18. (6) 21C Chad Clancy, Smithville, Mo.
19. (1) 222 Colten Stevens, Basehor
20. (11) 17 Dean Galvan, Bonner Springs
21. (4) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville
22. (5) X33 Nick Newton, Kansas City
23. (14) 32J Stephen Willmon, St. Joseph, Mo.
24. (20) 4R Raven Justice, Kansas City


1. (5) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor
2. (10) 3B Nic Bidinger, Perry
3. (7) 77 Cody Agler, Emporia
4. (9) 16B Jason Bodenhamer, Avondale, Mo.
5. (12) 98 John Allen, Chanute
6. (11) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta
7. (8) 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia, Mo.
8. (15) 88 Donnie Burlington Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
9. (21) 8 Mark Hoover, Maryville, Mo.
10. (14) 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton
11. (3) 3 Larry Harvey Jr., Kansas City
12. (2) 34 Mark Schafman, Edwardsville
13. (1) 0 Joe Cobb, Kansas City
14. (19) 67 Tim Dotson, Sturgeon, Mo.
15. (4) 59 Jared Stiens, Maryville, Mo.
16. (13) 5 Scott Crystal, Overland Park
17. (18) 75 Tad Davis, Mo.unt Hope
18. (22) 99H Trevor Hunt, Kearney, Mo.
19. (17) 56T Brian Troxel, Centralia, Mo.
20. (20) 54 Garry Billings Jr., Prairie Village
21. (16) 01 Kirby Stiens, Conception Junction, Mo.
22. (6) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
DNS - 34A Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
DNS - 53 John Baker, Basehor

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group