North Central Arkansas Speedway checkerw wave for Briggs, Muilenburg
Print this page
August 2, 2013  |  by Scott Ramos

YELLVILLE, Ark. -- The USRA B-Mod feature Saturday night at the North Central Arkansas Speedway fired off with Kandy Methvin and John Briggs on the front row.

After a two-car tangle on the first attempt to get the race started, the second attempt saw the field fanning out three-wide heading into turn 1 and again coming off turn 2 as cars fought for position with Briggs claiming the top spot on the opening loop in front of Methvin, Shawn Ply and Charlie Gentile.

Several cautions slowed the early running and allowed the field to stay close to one another and fight two- and three-wide for position behind leaders Briggs and Methvin.

After the final yellow flag of the race waved on lap 8, a great fight over the second spot began between Methvin and Gentile with Methvin glued to the bottom line and Gentile running around the top side of the track until Gentile finally claimed the spot for good on lap 15.

Briggs pulled away of the closing laps to claim the win and Gentile was able to stay in front of Methvin to claim second on the night.

The USRA Modified feature race was dominated by outside polesitter Steve Muilenburg from start to finish, with only a single caution period for a spin by polesitter Rusty Weir as the first lap went into the scorebook.

The restart saw Corey Weir in the second spot in front of Mikey Bell on lap 2 with Kandy Methvin making it a three car battle for position for laps six through 12.

Bell got past Weir to take over the second spot on lap 11, but Methvin grabbed the second spot on lap 12 and held off Bell through the end.

Racing action continues this Friday night, August 9th with all classes in action. North Central Arkansas Speedway is located between Yellville and Flippin on Hwy. 62-412. For all the latest speedway information please call 870-449-LAPS(5277), or just go to the North Central Arkansas Speedway website at


USRA Weekly Racing Series
North Central Arkansas Speedway, Yellville, Ark.
Friday, Aug. 2, 2013


Feature: 1. 5 John Briggs, 2. 33G Charlie Gentile, 3. Kandy Methvin, 4. 2D Chris Davidson, 5. 86 Shawn Ply, 6. 24F Cain Foster, 7. 13M Brady Madden, 8. 39 Earl Muilenburg, 9. 33 Steve Muilenburg.


Feature: 1. 33 Steve Muilenburg, 2. 41 Kandy Methvin, 3. 9X Mikey Bell, 4. 68 Corey Weir, 5. 59 Rob Muilenburg, 6. 37 Mike Smith, 7. 9 Brint Hartwick, 8. 78 Rusty Weir.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group