Smith, Ruffin tied in track title bout as RPM Speedway tops 400 drivers milestone
Print this page
August 6, 2013  |  by Darin Short

CRANDALL, Texas-- The 2013 racing season at RPM Speedway in Crandall Texas has been full of new drivers, side-by-side racing on the newly reconfigured surface, large and supportive crowds, special events from the new track management, and now, extremely close points battles.

The speedway is proud to announce that there have been 402 different cars competing in the five RPM divisions so far during the 2013 racing season.

“We’d like to thank the drivers for their support of RPM Speedway in 2013,” track promoter Jason Troutman said. “As with any new venture, there’s going to be a bit of a learning curve, but we’ve got a really strong track staff team, and I couldn’t be prouder of the collective effort.

“Our goal of keeping the racing programs fresh, week in, week out, has helped elevate our car counts as well as attendance. I just wished the weather would have been a bit more cooperative along the way, but that’s all part of having an outdoor venue.”

Going into this Friday night’s highly anticipated O’Reilly Summer Slam 2, the USRA Modifieds are all knotted up with Charlie Smith and Bobby Ruffin deadlocked with 469 points.

And if the points battles aren’t enough added drama as it is, drivers are racing for beefed-up purses this Friday, Aug. 9, at RPM Speedway’s O’Reilly Summer Slam 2 with $1,200 earmarked for the feature winner in the USRA Modifieds.

This all sets the stage for the $25,000 David Pope Memorial on Saturday, Sept. 7. USRA Modifieds will be racing for $3,000 to win, plus the $540-to-win the Utility Trailer Dash for Cash. Lots of added awards and events are also planned on this special night – one you will certainly not want to miss. There is no entry fee for any of the racing divisions and regular RPM admission prices of $12 are still in effect.

Again, thank you to the fans, race teams, sponsors and track workers for their renewed support of RPM Speedway and please click for details on all of these special upcoming events.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group