Cummins, Wheeler dominate Chateau Raceway features
Print this page
August 9, 2013  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. -- It was a picture perfect day for Kids Free Night at the Chateau Raceway Friday evening.

A field of twenty L&D Ag USRA B-Mods took the green for their 15-lap feature. It would not go the full distance, however, as numerous yellow flags cut five laps off the race. It took the fifth attempt to get the first green flag lap in as the pack of cars had a very tough time of it.

Dan Wheeler came off of row 2 to dominate the race which ended up going 10 laps with another green-white-checkered finish. Cody Gardner came home in second with Josh Mattick third. Terry Kohnert ran a fine race to finish fourth and A.J. Zvorak would be awarded fifth.

After the race, fifth-place finisher Jerry Young and Kylie Kath were disqualified for post-race unsportsmanlike conduct.

Jason Cummins blew off the outside of row 1 and dominated the 25-lap French’s Repair & Fabrication USRA Modified feature.

Damon Haslip and Todd Scharkey went at it tooth and nail for quite a few laps before Scharkey took over. Cummins was way out front by then in the race that went without a single caution.

It was Cummins' first win of the season, as Scharkey finished second. Brandon Davis raced from tenth to third with Jacob Dahle and Haslip completed the top five.

Front row starters Haslip and Cummins both turned down the chance at the Brew Pub Pizza Front Row Challenge, so the bonus will rise to $1,600 next week.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, Aug. 9, 2013


Feature: Dan Wheeler, Cody Gardner, Josh Mattick, Terry Kohnert, A.J. Zvorak, Scott Demmer, Adam Ackerman, Chad Dugan, Mike Yeager, Kadden Kath, Mark Wytaske, Tanner Johnston, Rick Utley, Justin McMahan, Max Anderson, Taylor Ausrud, Taylor Ovrebo, Jesse Baer, Michael Wytaske, John Warrington, Jaiden Bastyr, Jerry Young, Kylie Kath.

Heat #1: Young, Kylie Kath, Kohnert, Ackerman, Dugan, Mattick, Ovrebo, Bastyr.

Heat #2: Zvorak, Demmer, Anderson, M. Wytaske, Baer, Yeager, Johnston, Utley.

Heat #3: Gardner, Wheeler, Kadden Kath, McMahan, Ausrud, M. Wytaske, Warrington.


Feature: Jason Cummins, Todd Scharkey, Brandon Davis, Jacob Dahle, Damon Haslip, Joe Horgdal, Jason Schlangen, Parker Brumm, Greg Jensen, Darwyn Karau, Tyler Clark, Doug Hillson, Jeremy Misgen, Joe Wernecke, Joel Alberts.

Heat #1: Davis, Haslip, Cummins, Schlangen, Brumm, Karau, Hillson.

Heat #2: Dahle, Alberts, Scharkey, Horgdal, Clark, Wernecke, Misgen, Jensen.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group