Fuqua, Powell, in victory lane at Lakeside
Print this page
August 16, 2013  |  by Bob Libbey

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- What have the last three USRA Modified feature winners all had in common?

They all won the race on the last lap.

Tonight it was Darron Fuqua who needed all 24 laps before charging to the lead. Current track points leader Nic Bidinger led from lap 1 and showed his hand to be the dominant car but Fuqua never quit gaining momentum on him. Finally, hooking the right rear on the cushion out of turn 4, Fuqua, was able to pass for the lead and win one lap later.

After battling for position the entire race, Tim Karrick bested Terry Bruner for third. Mark Schafman rounded out the top 5.

Tim Powell entered the night in a borrowed ride (and a part-time one at that) but he would leave with the USRA B-Mod trophy—his first since 2005. Powell needed half the race to motivate forward and pass early race leader Mike Taylor. Once there he had Jake Richards and Brad Smith to contend with. Basically, he couldn’t bobble at all or he would give the race away.

Richards, who had earlier in the evening won the B-Main to advance to the A-Main, started 21st and by lap 11 was up to third. One lap later he got around Smith and was challenging for the lead. Hooking that right rear on the high-side berm, Richards nearly beat Powell to the checkered flag. Aaron Marrant and Chad Clancy rounded out the top 5.

“Racing on the River’s Edge” continues every Friday night through October with the USRA A-Modifieds, Grand Nationals, USRA B-Modifieds and Factory Stocks. Gates open at 5:00, hot laps at 6:45 and the first race gets under way at 7:30. Adult ticket prices are $12.00, kids 7-12 $6.00, and children 6 and younger admitted FREE. Senior Citizen’s and military personnel with ID are admitted for $10.

For more information on special events or ticket information call the Lakeside Speedway office at (913) 299-9206 or visit our official website at www.lakesidespeedway.net. You can also find us on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or Tweet us at #lakeside.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group