Muilenburg dominates again at North Central Arkansas Speedway
Print this page
August 23, 2013  |  by Scott Ramos

FLIPPIN, Ark. -- Warm and muggy conditions set the backdrop for this Friday evening’s racing at North Central Arkansas Speedway.

Charlie Gentile and Ray Flippin held down the front row for the start of the USRA B-Mod feature race and after three aborted attempts to get the race started, the drivers were lined up single file in an attempt to get the race cleanly underway.

Flippin held the lead coming off turn 2 through the opening circuit, but it was Steve Muilenburg making a pass on the very bottom of the track in turns 3-4 that gave him the lead the next time around closely chased by Flippin, John Briggs and Kandy Methvin.

A caution on lap 5 bunched the drivers together for the restart and Methvin tried to use the top of the track to get in front of Briggs, but Briggs was able to hold off every attempt Methvin would make to get past until the next yellow flag flew on lap 15.

With the field again packed tight Methvin dove to the very bottom entering turn 2 but had to check up as the his ride pushed up the track exiting turn 2 allowing Briggs to maintain the third position.

Muilenburg pulled away from Flippin over the last five laps to take the win, Flippin finished second with Briggs holding off Methvin to take home third.

The USRA Modified feature event had Kandy Methvin on the pole with Jason Snodgrass lined up outside his right-hand door.

Methvin led the first three laps before Muilenburg grabbed the lead on lap 4.

Two cautions slowed the race, both for single cars spins as Jimmy McDaniel returned to racing after a six-year absence.

Muilenburg outpaced Methvin to take the win with Snodgrass running third at the end.

Racing action continues Friday night, Aug. 30, with all classes in action. North Central Arkansas Speedway is located between Yellville and Flippin on Hwy. 62-412. For all the latest speedway information please call 870-449-LAPS(5277), or just go to the North Central Arkansas Speedway website at


USRA Weekly Racing Series
North Central Arkansas Speedway, Flippin, Ark.
Friday, Aug. 23, 2013


Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. Kandy Methvin, 3. Jason Snodgrass, 4. Jimmy Joe McDaniel.


Feature: 1. Steve Muilenburg, 2. Ray Flippin, 3. John Briggs, 4. Kandy Methvin, 5. Charlie Gentile, 6. Earl Muilenburg, 7. Cain Foster, 8. Shawn Ply, 9. Josh Farris, 5. Darren Lee.

Latest News from the USRA

June 17, 2018
Gulbrandson wins before rain cuts Mason City show short
With heat races for four classes and one feature race in the books, the rain that had threatened off and on all day finally made good on it’s threats and washed outread more
June 16, 2018
Saturday a night of many firsts at Southern New Mexico Speedway
We all remember our first time to the dirt track. Some were just children, tagging along with family and some were older, but whenever the first time happened, we rememberead more
June 16, 2018
Casey's Night finds Tillman, Gillmore in Springfield Raceway winners circle
The "Quick Quarter"of the Springfield Raceway presented Casey's General Stores Night on Saturday with current USRA Modified track points leader Jody Tillmanread more
June 16, 2018
Crapser captures first USRA Modified win at Deer Creek
This week the school bus races and mascot night were the featured attraction at Deer Creek Speedway. Seven schools were represented in the bus races and five school mascoread more
June 16, 2018
Nobles County Speedway wins to Lund, Christensen, Luinenburg, Coopman
Saturday night at the Nobles County Speedway, passing was a challenge in the Holley USRA Stock Car feature as the leaders hugged the bottom of the track. Spenser Kalass uread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group