Falck finds victory lane at Deer Creek Speedway
Print this page
August 31, 2013

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- Kyle Falck of Decorah, Iowa, earned his first Iron Man Challenge win of the season Saturday night in the 20-lap USRA Stock Car main event at the Deer Creek Speedway near Spring Valley, Minn.

Falck, who pocketed $750 for the victory, held off two-time USRA Stock Car National Champion Tom Schmitt at the finish line. Ironically, Falck finished second in last year’s Iron Man Challenge points after a total-wins tie-breaker gave Schmitt the title.

Schmitt barely nipped Lynn Panos for the runner-up position after Panos came from the 17th starting spot to make a charge at the end. Arlen Hoy and Kevin Donlan were fourth and fifth while Ned Kalis, Danny Cole, Ryan Goergen, Brent Tweten and Steve Jackson rounded out the top 10.

The points battle tightened up significantly as points leader Mitch Hovden dropped out with three laps to go and wound up 13th. Schmitt now trails Hovden by just 14 points (808 to 794). Falck jumped up to third ahead of Jackson and Panos sits fifth in the current standings with just three races remaining in the Iron Man Challenge for the USRA Stock Cars.

Both the USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods will return to the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa, tomorrow (Sunday, Sept. 1) with the USMTS Modifieds and USRA Hobby Stocks joining the stellar line-up on the 4/10-mile clay oval at the Howard County Fairgrounds.

USRA Stock Cars will pay $750 to win with a minimum $100 to start the main event. The entry fee is $25 for licensed or $35 for non-licensed drivers. USRA B-Mods will battle for $500 to win and no less than $75 to start the feature race. The entry fee is $20 for licensed or $30 for non-licensed drivers.

Pit gates open at 4:00, grandstands open at 4:30, hot laps begin at 6:00 and the first heat race gets the green flag at 6:30. Grandstand admission is $17 for adults ages 18 and older, $10 for students ages 13-17 and kids ages 12 and under get in for free. Pit passes are $35.

Fans can save $2 on an adult grandstand ticket with a coupon available on race day at the Casey’s General Store located at 601 2nd Ave. SW in Cresco.

The Cresco Speedway is located 2 blocks north of SR 9 on SW 7th. Race day info is available by calling 563-547-3400 or at www.mhcfair.com. The Howard County Fairgrounds campground features seasonal camping with water, electrical hook-ups and a sewer dumping station.

To learn more about the USRA, visit www.usraracing.com or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/usraracing, follow us at www.twitter.com/usraracing on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/usratv.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series – Iron Man Challenge
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, Aug. 31, 2013

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver, hometown, laps completed and money won. All drivers advanced to the “A” Main with the top 8 redrawing for starting positions 1-8.


Heat #1 (8 laps):
1. (1) G12 Ryan Goergen, Stacyville, Iowa.
2. (2) 121g Arlen Hoy, Marble Rock, Iowa.
3. (4) 14z Ned Kalis, Wells, Minn.
4. (5) 27 Shawn Peter, Mable, Minn.
5. (6) 00 Danny Cole, Lansing, Iowa.
6. (7) 37 Pete Solum, Spring Grove, Minn.
7. (10) 48 Casey Sebastian, Cresco, Iowa.
8. (3) 45k Brad Klaassen, Adrian, Minn.
9. (8) 97 Lynn Panos, Calmar, Iowa.
10. (9) 55 Derek Dettmann, Monroe, Iowa.

Heat #2 (8 laps):
1. (2) 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah, Iowa.
2. (1) 18 Tom Schmitt, Independence, Iowa.
3. (4) 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa.
4. (6) 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa.
5. (5) 2j Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa.
6. (7) 5x Luke Sathoff, Jackson, Minn.
7. (8) 22 Justin Arends, Little Rock, Iowa.
8. (3) 11 Jake Lampert, Caledonia, Minn.
9. (9) 20 Brent Tweten, Chatfield, Minn.

“A” Main (20 laps):
1. (3) 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa, 20, $750.
2. (4) 18 Tom Schmitt, Independence, Iowa, 20, $550.
3. (17) 97 Lynn Panos, Calmar, Iowa, 20, $450.
4. (8) 121g Arlen Hoy, Marble Rock, Iowa, 20, $325.
5. (6) 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah, Iowa, 20, $275.
6. (7) 14z Ned Kalis, Wells, Minn., 20, $225.
7. (9) 00 Danny Cole, Lansing, Iowa, 20, $170.
8. (1) G12 Ryan Goergen, Stacyville, Iowa, 20, $150.
9. (18) 20 Brent Tweten, Chatfield, Minn., 20, $140.
10. (10) 2j Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa, 20, $130.
11. (14) 22 Justin Arends, Little Rock, Iowa, 20, $125.
12. (13) 48 Casey Sebastian, Cresco, Iowa, 19, $125.
13. (5) 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa, 17, $125.
14. (16) 11 Jake Lampert, Caledonia, Minn., 13, $125.
15. (11) 37 Pete Solum, Spring Grove, Minn., 13, $125.
16. (2) 27 Shawn Peter, Mable, Minn., 12, $100.
17. (12) 5x Luke Sathoff, Jackson, Minn., 6, $100.
18. (15) 45k Brad Klaassen, Adrian, Minn., 6, $100.
19. (19) 55 Derek Dettmann, Monroe, Iowa, 6, $100.

Next Race: Sunday, Sept. 1, Cresco Speedway, Cresco, Iowa.
Points Standings: Hovden 808, Schmitt 794, Falck 672, Jackson 574, Panos 544, Peter 479, Jake Ludeking 445, Goergen 348, Andy Altenburg 344, Dustin Wannarka 331.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, COMP Cams, Day Motor Sports, Dominator Race Products, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, Nitroquest, RACEceiver, RacinDirt.com, Radical Racegear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive, Erson Cams, New Vision Graphics, Something Inked.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race Wheels, AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, Crane Cams, Edelbrock, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, PBM Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Tiger Rear Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group