Season Championship Night wraps up regular season action at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
August 30, 2013  |  by Dan Bailey

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. -- Drivers wrapped up the regular season points battles of the 2013 season at Mississippi Thunder Speedway Friday night by pushing it all the way to the final checkered flags of weekly points paying action. In six of the eight weekly divisions, track championships were wrapped up in style with feature wins.

Josh Angst grabbed his second Mississippi Thunder Speedway track championship in the USRA Modified division. His first was 2010. Angst stepped away from a very strong pack to collect his fourth feature win of the year Friday night.

In the USRA B-Mod division, Jacob Bleess worked his way to the front of the field to nail down his fifth feature win on 2013.

Track champions in all weekly divisions, as well as other top-10 finishers in the division’s points battles, will be crowned and awarded the spoils of a strong season at the 2013 Mississippi Thunder Speedway awards banquet on Dec. 7 at the River Port Inn & Suites in Winona, Minn.

Racing resumes next week with the $10,000-to-win Baehman Law B-Mod Nationals.

Wednesday, Sept. 4, is an evening of open practice for USRA Modified and B-Mod competitors from 6-9 p.m.
• Pit gate opens at 4 p.m.
• $20 car & driver and $10 per pit person.
• Grandstands will be open to public at no charge.
• Pit concessions and limited tower concessions will be available.

Thursday, Sept. 5, is the first night of green-flag action with a 7 p.m. start:
• Pit gate opens at 3 p.m.
• Grandstands open at 5 p.m.
• $30 pit pass or $90 3-day pass for Thursday-Saturday; dids 6-15 $15 (non-competitors), kids 5 & under free.
• General admission: adults $12, seniors $10, students $5, kids 12 & under free, family pass $25.
• Kitchen concessions will be open at 11 a.m. for lunch.
• Open mechanical bull riding.
• Post-race entertainment provided by Rip Rorrin Entertainment.

Friday, Sept. 6, is the second night of on-track entertainment with a 6 p.m. start:
• Pit gate opens at 3 p.m.
• Grandstands open at 5 p.m.
• $30 pit pass, kids 6-15 $15 (non-competitors), kids 5 & under free.
• General admission: adults $15, seniors $12, students $5, kids 12 & under free, family pass $35.
• Kitchen concessions will be serving breakfast from 9-11 a.m.
• Mechanical bull riding competition with mens competition paying $200, $100 and $50; Womens competition paying $500, $300 and $200 for top-3 finishers decided by popular vote.
• Post-race entertainment provided by Rip Rorrin Entertainment in the party tent.

The three-day extravaganza wraps up Saturday, Sept. 7 (rain date Sunday, Sept. 8), with a start time of 6 p.m. including B-Mains, Non-Qualifier feature, $10,000-to-win A-Main and complete $1000-to-win USRA Modified show:
• Pit gate opens at 3 p.m.
• Grandstands open at 5 p.m.
• $35 pit pass, kids 6-15 $15 (non-competitors), kids 5 & under free.
• General admission: adults $18, seniors $16, students $5, kids 12 & under free, family pass available.
• Kitchen concessions will be serving breakfast from 9-11 a.m., open all day.
• B-Mod A=Main driver introduction ceremony.
• Huge fireworks display during the show.

Mississippi Thunder Speedway is located 3.0 miles north of Fountain City on SR 35. For more information, call 608-687-3282 or visit on the World Wide Web.


USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, Aug. 30, 2013


Heat #1: 1. Kylie Kath, 2. Alex Williamson, 3. Casey Knutson, 4. Erik Kanz, 5. John Feirn, 6. Kyle Brown.

Heat #2: 1. Jacob Bleess, 2. Kadden Kath, 3. Dan Hovden, 4. John Doelle, 5. Parker Hale, 6. Brandon Reutzel, 7. Nick Frion.

Heat #3: 1. Jake Timm, 2. Troy Hovey, 3. Chris Gilbertson, 4. Ryan Konkel, 5. Dan Wheeler, 6. Jon Van Minsel, 7. Shaun Walski, 8. Darran Jonsgaard.

Feature: 1. Jacob Bleess, 2. Alex Williamson, 3. Kylie Kath, 4. Troy Hovey, 5. Jon Van Minsel, 6. Erik Kanz, 7. Kadden Kath, 8. Dan Hovden, 9. Parker Hale, 10. Dan Wheeler, 11. Jake Timm, 12. Shaun Walski, 13. Casey Knutson, 14. Chris Gilbertson, 15. John Feirn, 16. Darran Jonsgaard, 17. John Doelle, 18. Nick Frion, 19. Kyle Brown, 20. Ryan Konkel, 21. Brandon Reutzel.


Heat #1: 1. Damon Haslip, 2. Jake Timm, 3. Tom Brink, 4. Lance Hofer, 5. Leroy Scharkey, 6. Brian Albrecht.

Heat #2: 1. Bob Timm, 2. Troy Girolamo, 3. Keith Foss, 4. John Doelle, 5. Les Jonsgaard, 6. Hank Rollinger Jr.

Heat #3: 1. Eric Pember, 2. Dan Bohr, 3. Brandon Davis, 4. Josh Angst, 5. Bob Sammann, 6. Chris Loberg.

Feature: 1. Josh Angst, 2. Keith Foss, 3. Jake Timm, 4. Bob Timm, 5. Brandon Davis, 6. Eric Pember, 7. Tom Brink, 8. Damon Haslip, 9. John Doelle, 10. Lance Hofer, 11. Dan Bohr, 12. Troy Girolamo, 13. Brian Albrecht, 14. Leroy Scharkey, 15. Chris Loberg, 16. Les Jonsgaard, 17. Bob Sammann, 18. Hank Rollinger Jr.

Latest News from the USRA

May 19, 2018
Auringer, Jackson, Caudle, Stanton, Coopman claim Hamilton County Speedway checkers
The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive finally outlasted Mother Nature to complete the second Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series event of the season Satread more
May 19, 2018
Dycus dominates Devil's Bowl
With 30 USRA Modifieds rolling into the famed half-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway, the Touring Outlaw Modified Series were led by their two-time series champion Tristonread more
May 19, 2018
Sorensen sweeps NAPA North Star Nationals
The USRA Modifieds were on the card Saturday as part of the NAPA North Star Nationals at Deer Creek Speedway. A huge crowd was on hand to watch the USRA Modifieds and theread more
May 19, 2018
Dotson, Elliott, Nunnikhoven, Galvan outduel everybody on Earley Tractor Night at I-35 Speedway
The USRA Modifieds took to the track first Saturday on Earley Tractor Night at the I-35 Speedway to make up their feature from May 5. Dennis Elliott took the lead on the read more
May 19, 2018
Gallardo strikes back at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Military and public safety personal packed the stands for Military & Public Safety Night on a beautiful May 19 edition of the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series at the Southern New Mexico more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group