USRA Stock Cars join World of Outlaws at Deer Creek Saturday
Print this page
September 9, 2013

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- The Iron Man Challenge featuring USRA Stock Cars will return to the Deer Creek Speedway this Saturday, Sept. 14, as they join the racing card with the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series for the Asgrow/DeKalb Clash at the Creek.

Two-time defending USRA Stock Car National Champion Mitch Hovden leads the standings by just one point over Tom Schmitt, who won last year’s Iron Man Challenge crown for the USRA Stock Cars, and also won the main event when the full-fendered machines visited Deer Creek two weeks ago.

Last year's series runner-up, Kyle Falck, sits third in the standings and won the last event for the USRA Stock Cars on Sept. 1 at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa.

Veteran Steve Jackson is fourth and Lynn Panos is fifth.

1. Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa ... 895
2. Tom Schmitt, Independence, Iowa ... 894
3. Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa ... 763
4. Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa ... 648
5. Lynn Panos, Calmar, Iowa ... 625
6. Shawn Peter, Mable, Minn. ... 563
7. Jake Ludeking, Decorah, Iowa ... 445
8. Pete Solum, Spring Grove, Minn. ... 401
9. Ryan Goergen, Stacyville, Iowa ... 393
10. Andy Altenburg, Truman, Minn. ... 344

Located 11.3 miles south of I-90 (exit 209) on SR 16, then 0.7 mile north on US 63, the Deer Creek Speedway sits on 60 acres of scenic rural rolling hills with one of America’s most popular state-of-the-art racing complexes and a busy modern campground. Fans can order tickets online at or by calling 877-327-7223.

The next Iron Man Challenge event for the USRA B-Mods will be the following week as they join the USMTS Modifieds for three days—Thursday, Friday and Saturday, Sept. 19-21—at the 15th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree at Deer Creek. The season finale for both classes will take place on Saturday, Sept. 28, during the USRA Iron Man Championships at the Upper Iowa Speedway in Decorah, Iowa.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group