Marrant, Richards win at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
September 27, 2013  |  by Bob Libbey

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- Aaron Marrant finished of the regular season in grand style by winning the USRA Modified feature Friday night at the Lakeside Speedway. Marrant, who started fifth, initially had to find the fast way around Josh Everhart and then fend off Matt Dotson. Dotson, who led laps 12-17, finished second, holding off 2013 track champion Nic Bidinger. Terry Schultz and 2012 track champion, Tim Karrick, rounded out the top five.

Jake Richards made the best of a borrowed car in the USRA B-Mod feature by taking home his third trophy of the season. Starting fifth, the Edwardsville driver needed seven of the 15 laps to get around early leaders Kelby Ostrnader and Gene Claxton. Trying for a third victory in a row, Brad Smith wasn’t able to work through the field in time to mount a challenge, finishing second. Marrant, Yancy Shepard and Mike Higley rounded out the top five.


“Racing on the River’s Edge” continues this Wednesday-Saturday, Oct. 2-5, with the inaugural Sunflower Showdown presented by Kenny's Tile. The event will feature USRA/USMTS Modifieds racing all four days with a $10,000-to-win main evnet on Saturday. Factory Stocks, Grand Nationals and USRA B-Mods join the action on Wednesday and Thursday while the Lucas Oil MLRA Late Models share the spotlight on Friday and Saturday with a $5,000 top prize up for grabs on the final night.

General admission tickets Wednesday-Friday are $20 for adults (17 and older), $10 for juniors (ages 13-16) and $5 for kids (ages 6-12). On Saturday, adults are $25, juniors are $15 and kids are $10. Children ages 5 and under are admitted free in general admission seating each night. A limited number of suite tickets are also available for $30 Wednesday-Friday and $40 Saturday. To order tickets, call 515-832-7944 or 515-832-6000, Monday through Friday between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Central time.

The Lakeside Speedway is a half-mile slightly-banked dirt oval located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City, Kan.). The track hotline is 913-299-2040 or check out the track’s website at

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at or check out our YouTube channel at


USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, September 27, 2013


Heat #1: 1. Aaron Marrant, 2. Brad Smith, 3. Troy Carlyle, 4. Randal Schiffelbein Jr., 5. Curtis Dreasher, 6. Dakota Foster, 7. Jamie Custer, 8. Cody Thornton, 9. Tim Galvan.

Heat #2: 1. Jake Richards, 2. Kelby Ostrander, 3. Nick Newton, 4. Yancy Shepard, 5. David Hartman, 6. Heath Murry, 7. Shawn Burns, 8. Paul West, 9. Jacob Hobscheidt.

Heat #3: 1. Gene Claxton, 2. Mike Higley, 3. Jason Park, 4. Kevin Sloan, 5. Sam Schuler Jr., 6. Shelby Manthe, 7. Don Marrs, 8. Shane Patch, 9. Shadren Turne.

Heat #4: 1. Chad Clancy, 2. Luke Nieman, 3. Matt Pugh, 4. Mason Daughters, 5. Keith Cobb Jr., 6. A.J. Tice, 7. Brian Murphy, 8. Scotty Moore, 9. Robert Isabell III.

"B" Feature: 1. Dakota Foster, 2. Brian Murphy, 3. Scotty Moore, 4. Shawn Burns, 5. Shelby Manthe, 6. Paul West, 7. Cody Thornton, 8. Jamie Custer, 9. Jacob Hobscheidt, 10. A.J. Tice, 11. Robert Isabell III, 12. Heath Murry, 13. Shadren Turner, 14. Shane Patch, 15. Don Marrs, 16. Tim Galvan.

"A" Feature: 1. Jake Richards, 2. Brad Smith, 3. Aaron Marrant, 4. Yancy Shepard, 5. Randal Schiffelbein Jr., 6. Chad Clancy, 7. Gene Claxton, 8. Nick Newton, 9. Kelby Ostrander, 10. Mike Higley, 11. Mason Daughters, 12. Troy Carlyle, 13. Luke Nieman, 14. Jason Park, 15. Dakota Foster, 16. Keith Cobb Jr., 17. David Hartman, 18. Kevin Sloan, 19. Matt Pugh, 20. Sam Schuler Jr., 21. Shawn Burns, 22. Scotty Moore, 23. Curtis Dreasher, 24. Brian Murphy.


Heat #1: 1. Nic Bidinger, 2. John Allen, 3. Terry Schultz, 4. Jason Park, 5. Matt Dotson, 6. Scott Crystal, 7. Shad Badder.

Heat #2: 1. Mark Hoover, 2. Trevor Hunt, 3. Tim Karrick, 4. Larry Harvey Jr., 5. Nick Newton, 6. Steve Hanna, 7. Tom Gris.

Heat #3: 1. Dalton Kirk, 2. Donnie Burlington Jr., 3. Mark Schafman, 4. Terry Bruner, 5. Josh Everhart, 6. Sam Florence.

Heat #4: 1. Aaron Marrant, 2. Luke Driskell, 3. Zach Sanders, 4. Justin Johnson, 5. Darren Bennett, 6. Jeff Smith.

Feature: 1. Aaron Marrant, 2. Matt Dotson, 3. Nic Bidinger, 4. Terry Schultz, 5. Tim Karrick, 6. Trevor Hunt, 7. John Allen, 8. Zach Sanders, 9. Shad Badder, 10. Dalton Kirk, 11. Mark Hoover, 12. Mark Schafman, 13. Larry Harvey Jr., 14. Darren Bennett, 15. Scott Crystal, 16. Jason Park, 17. Sam Florence, 18. Jeff Smith, 19. Josh Everhart, 20. Nick Newton, 21. Justin Johnson, 22. Luke Driskell, 23. Terry Bruner, 24. Donnie Burlington Jr., 25. Steve Hanna, 26. Tom Grist.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group