Iron Man Challenge boasts 34 dates on 2014 schedule
Print this page
February 3, 2014

WEBSTER CITY, Iowa—A record number of dates featuring exciting, new venues and familiar facilities highlights the 2014 schedule released today for the Iron Man Challenge featuring USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods.

The fifth season for the campaign boasts 34 dates at 17 of the finest dirt ovals in Kansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

The Iron Man Challenge will run in conjunction with the USMTS Modifieds at most events. Both classes will be in action opening weekend when they compete at Heartland Park in Topeka, Kan., and Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway on Friday and Saturday, March 14-15.

Two weeks later, USRA B-Mods will share the spotlight all three days at the King of America IV Modified Nationals in Humboldt. The event pays $500 to win Thursday, $2,000 to win Friday and $1,000 to win on Saturday night.

The season finale for both divisions will take place at the inaugural USRA Nationals slated for Oct. 2-4 at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan.

Both classes will be in action on 18 nights during the 2014 campaign. USRA B-Mods will fly solo at 14 events and USRA Stock Cars have two dates to themselves.

Overall, there are 19 nights of racing for the USRA Stock Cars and 32 shows for the USRA B-Mods. Points for the Iron Man Challenge will include the best 12 finishes for USRA Stock Cars and best 15 for USRA B-Mods.

2014 Iron Man Challenge Schedule:
Fri Mar 14 ... Heartland Park Topeka, Topeka, Kan. [SC] [BM]
Sat Mar 15 ... Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, Kan. [SC] [BM]
Thu Mar 27 ... Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, Kan. [BM]
Fri Mar 28 ... Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, Kan. [BM]
Sat Mar 29 ... Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, Kan. [BM]
Sat Apr 5 ... Upper Iowa Speedway, Decorah, Iowa [SC] [BM]
Fri Apr 11 ... Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan. [SC] [BM]
Thu Apr 24 ... Cedar County Raceway, Tipton, Iowa [BM]
Fri Apr 25 ... Bloomfield Speedway, Bloomfield, Iowa. [SC] [BM]
Sat Apr 26 ... I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo. [SC] [BM]
Sat May 24 ... Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn. [SC] [BM]
Sun May 25 ... Upper Iowa Speedway, Decorah, Iowa [SC] [BM]
Tue Jun 3 ... Marshalltown Speedway, Marshalltown, Iowa [SC] [BM]
Wed Jun 4 ... Hancock County Speedway, Britt, Iowa [BM]
Thu Jun 5 ... Fairmont Raceway, Fairmont, Iowa [BM]
Fri Jun 6 ... Rapid Speedway, Rock Rapids, Iowa [SC] [BM]
Sat Jun 7 ... I-90 Speedway, Hartford, S.D. [BM]
Wed Jun 18 ... Valley Speedway, Grain Valley, Mo. [BM]
Thu Jul 3 ... Upper Iowa Speedway, Decorah, Iowa [SC] [BM]
Thu Jul 24 ... Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn. [SC]
Fri Jul 25 ... Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn. [BM]
Fri Aug 15 ... Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis. [BM]
Wed Aug 27 ... Cedar County Raceway, Tipton, Iowa [BM]
Thu Aug 28 ... Hamilton County Speedway, Webster City, Iowa [SC] [BM]
Sat Aug 30 ... Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn. [SC] [BM]
Sun Aug 31 ... Cresco Speedway, Cresco, Iowa [SC] [BM]
Sat Sep 13 ... Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn. [SC]
Thu Sep 18 ... Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn. [BM]
Fri Sep 19 ... Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn. [BM]
Sat Sep 20 ... Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn. [BM]
Sat Sep 27 ... Upper Iowa Speedway, Decorah, Iowa [SC] [BM]
Thu Oct 2 ... Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan. [SC] [BM]
Fri Oct 3 ... Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan. [SC] [BM]
Sat Oct 4 ... Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan. [SC] [BM]

 [SC] = USRA Stock Cars, [BM] = USRA B-Mods

Both Iron Man Challenge champions will earn $1,500 as part of the series points fund, plus numerous contingency awards from several generous USRA sponsors.

The season-ending Iron Man Challenge points fund for each class is as follows: 1. $1500, 2. $1000, 3. $800, 4. $600, 5. $500, 6. $400, 7. $300, 8. $250, 9. $225, 10. $200.

To be eligible for points funds, drivers must possess a valid USRA license, utilize the American Racer KK704 tire on all four wheels and compete in at least half of the Iron Man Challenge events for their division. Licensed USRA drivers in both classes will also earn national points in the USRA Weekly Racing Series.

Two-time USRA Stock Car national champion Mitch Hovden of Decorah, Iowa, is the defending Iron Man Challenge USRA Stock Car champion. Former champions include Tom Schmitt (2012), Mike Van Genderen (2011) and Nathan Wood (2010).

Cory Crapser of Chippewa Falls, Wis., captured the 2013 Iron Man Challenge title for the USRA B-Mods. Former champions include Trevor Hunt (2012) and Cayden Carter (2011).

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, Day Motor Sports, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, Nitroquest Media, RACEceiver,, Radical Racegear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive, Erson Cams, New Vision Graphics.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, COMP Cams, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, PBM Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Tiger Rear Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA MEMBER TRACKS: Callaway Raceway, Chateau Raceway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Dodge County Speedway, El Paso Speedway Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Heartland Park Topeka, Humboldt Speedway, Huset’s Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, LA Raceway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, NAPA Speedway, Nevada Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red River Speedway, Royal Purple Raceway, RPM Speedway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Tucson International Raceway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway, West Siloam Speedway.

Latest News from the USRA

June 17, 2018
Gulbrandson wins before rain cuts Mason City show short
With heat races for four classes and one feature race in the books, the rain that had threatened off and on all day finally made good on it’s threats and washed outread more
June 16, 2018
Saturday a night of many firsts at Southern New Mexico Speedway
We all remember our first time to the dirt track. Some were just children, tagging along with family and some were older, but whenever the first time happened, we rememberead more
June 16, 2018
Casey's Night finds Tillman, Gillmore in Springfield Raceway winners circle
The "Quick Quarter"of the Springfield Raceway presented Casey's General Stores Night on Saturday with current USRA Modified track points leader Jody Tillmanread more
June 16, 2018
Crapser captures first USRA Modified win at Deer Creek
This week the school bus races and mascot night were the featured attraction at Deer Creek Speedway. Seven schools were represented in the bus races and five school mascoread more
June 16, 2018
Nobles County Speedway wins to Lund, Christensen, Luinenburg, Coopman
Saturday night at the Nobles County Speedway, passing was a challenge in the Holley USRA Stock Car feature as the leaders hugged the bottom of the track. Spenser Kalass uread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group