Bidinger, Shepard, Whitham win at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
May 23, 2014  |  by Bob Libbey

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- Nic Bidinger flexed his USRA Modified muscle Friday night at the Lakeside Speedway with a third win of the season in the 25-lap feature. Mark Schafman, Tim Karrick and Trevor Hunt put up a good fight but couldn’t match Bidinger’s consistency even through lapped traffic. The three swapped position lap after lap with Schafman ending up in second, Hunt in third and Karrick in fourth. Darron Fuqua rounded out the top-five. Bidinger is the only repeat winner in a division that has had seven different feature winners.

The USRA B-Mod 15-lap feature saw 7 different lead changes among 4 different drivers. Pole sitter, Doug Keller, led the first two laps only to give the position to Tim Powell. Powell battled with Keller and Chad Clancy, leading laps 3-6. Clancy led his only lap of the event after that when Powell got back around him to lead laps 8 – 10. While those two and now Brad Smith were busy battling each other, Yancy Shepard, was working his way through the field on the high side of the track and snuck in to lead lap 11. Powell was able to regain the lead on lap 12 and just when it looked like he was going to register a first win of the season, Shepard got by him at the line. Smith bested Clancy for third while Jake Richards rounded out the top-five.

The USRA Stock Car 15-lap feature was also a crowd pleaser with 5 lead changes among 4 drivers. Dean Hensler took advantage of a great start to lead the first lap from a fourth place starting position. While competitive, it would be his only lap led as Kevin Anderson would get around him to lead lap two. Even that was short lived as Justin Siefert motored to the lead on lap 6. Just when it looked like Siefert was going to three-peat, a broken axle ended his night prematurely. Anderson inherited the lead on lap 9 but bunching up the cars helped Anthony Whitham position himself to take the lead on lap 12. Whitham, Anderson, Joe Smith, Marshall Jewett and current point leader, Breet Heeter, battled it out to the end with Whitham collecting a first career victory. Heeter was door to door with Smith, edging him slightly for second. Jewett who ran as high a second, finished fourth while Anderson rounded out the top-five.

“Racing on the river’s edge” continues every Friday night through October with the USRA A-Modifieds, Grand Nationals, USRA B-Modifieds and USRA Stock Cars. Gates open at 5:00pm, hot laps at 6:45pm, and the first race gets under way at 7:30pm. Adult ticket prices are $12.00, kids 7-12 $6.00, and children 6 and younger admitted FREE. Senior Citizen’s and military personnel with ID are admitted for $10.

For more information on special events or ticket information call the Lakeside Speedway office at (913) 299-9206 or visit our official website at You can also find us on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or Tweet us at #lakeside.

Latest News from the USRA

April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
April 20, 2018
Jackson grabs Lebanon Midway Speedway season opener
Current Out-Pace USRA B-Mod national points leader Kris Jackson jumped to the early lead over polesitter Aaron Scroggins and never looked back in grabbing the season openread more
April 20, 2018
Scott, Egbert, Gillmore grab opening night checkers at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Opening night of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout was a windy and cold one, but the racing made it all worth it. Ninety-five cars and drivers accumulated within thread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group