Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl set for July 4-5 in Warrensburg
Print this page
June 22, 2014  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo. -- One of the most highly anticipated events of the year in the entire Midwest is less than two weeks away as Central Missouri Speedway (CMS) in Warrensburg, Missouri is set to host the 9th Annual Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl for USRA Modifieds on Friday, July 4 and Saturday, July 5. The event pays $5,000 to the winner and all 24 cars on the starting grid will take home $1,000 just to start the race!

CMS hosted its first "big-money" Modified events beginning in 1998 centered around the summer holiday weekends. On July 4, 1998, Justin Boney became the first Independence Day weekend special-event winner. In the following years, Chad Lyle (3 wins), Richard Layne, Tim Karrick, Jason Hughes (2 wins), Dean Wille, Kelly Shryock (2 wins), Jeremy Payne, Terry Phillips, and Dustin Boney added their names to the winner's list. In 2008, promoters Earl and Susan Walls upped the event purse and began paying the current $5,000-to-win/$1,000-to-start for the event.

The upcoming event marks the 44th special event for CMS for Modifieds over the years, and coupled with the weekly first-place payout of $1,000-to-win, it's no wonder the track is known as "The Home of the Mighty Modifieds!" Who will take home the win this year's BBQ Bowl is anyone's guess as inquiries have been coming in from throughout the Midwest about the event. Current CMS track point's leader and current national USRA point's leader Terry Schultz will represent the local contingent as Moody will look to defend home-turf after capturing the $3,000-to-Win Memorial Weekend event earlier in the season.

For complete details and information regarding the Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl, visit or call the Track Report Line at 660.747.2166. CMS is located 3.5-miles north of Warrensburg, MO from the junction of Highways 50 and 13 in Warrensburg just north of the new Hwy 13 by-pass round-a-bout, or from the Higginsville exit off I-70, head south on Highway 13 for twelve and half miles.


Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group