Great racing action on a hot Sunday evening at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
July 6, 2014  |  by Rick & Alan Staley

WINSTON, Mo. -- In an epic race with only one caution, the USRA B-Mods would see the familiar face of Chad Clancy #21c in the winner’s circle Sunday at the I-35 Speedway. Clancy would charge through the pack from a fourth row inside starting spot passing second place finisher Randy Ainsworth #57, as they were side by side for the lead many laps. Jim Cameron #96c would hold off a very fast Dakota Foster #5 as they would race side by side for third and fourth, Cameron would claim third with Foster fourth. Ronnie Miller #76 was the big gainer of the night with yet another solid top five finish. Heat race winners were Mitch Booher #22b, Josh Barnes #52j and Randy Ainsworth #57. Compliments go to all drivers in this class for a fine night of great racing action.

USRA Stock Cars came out in big numbers as all were chasing the $550 payday. The big guns were loaded as the feature got under way with the #01i of Mike Harward jumping to an early lead and never looking back on his way to victory. Jake Cameron #86c would challenge Harward nearly every lap however could not find a way around the fast race car and would be forced to settle for second place. Corey Strothman #c4 and Gary Harward #23 would battle for the third and fourth spot, swapping positions nearly every lap. When the checkers were shown Strothman was third while Harward was fourth. After mechanical issues in the heat race Jeff Dixon #88, in a barrowed race car, would start shotgun on the field and battle his way to a great fifth place finish. Heat race winners included Corey Strothman #c4, Mike Harward #01i, and Billie Hoover #21h.

After driver introductions on the front stretch race fans counted down and gave the command to fire the engines for the USRA Modified feature. Derrick Hicks #78 would take the early lead and continue to set the pace for over half the race until a very fast Mark Schafman #34 would eventually pass Hicks for the lead. Schafman would use the inside line to his advantage and hold off a late race charge from Zach Sanders #69 making it a drag race to the checkers. Schafman would pick up his first ever victory at I-35 Speedway edging the second place finisher of Sanders at the line. Early race leader Hicks would fade slightly to place an impressive third, as Ryan Cook #27 would come from the back of the pack to place fourth. Outside pole sitter Shane Bailey #5d would recover from an early race mishap and race his way to a solid top five finish. Heat race winners were John Hanson #2h and Bud Wilson #75.

Just as the night began with a bang the night would end with a bang as well with a great Fireworks Spectacular. I-35 Speedway would like to thank each and every one of our fans, drivers, and workers for making this race one of the best of the season. See everyone next Saturday Night for Tompkins Industry Night at the Races and the return of Midwest Lightning Sprints. Hope to see everyone back at the track next week for more “Dirt Trackin at its Best”.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Sunday, July 6, 2014


1. 34 Mark Schafman
2. 69 Zach Sanders
3. 78 Derrick Hicks
4. 27 Ryan Cook
5. 5d Shane Bailey
6. 2h John Hanson (heat winner)
7. 4d Shawn Lee
8. 75 Bud Wilson (heat winner)
9. 29s Jeff Smith


1. 01i Mike Harward (heat winner)
2. 86c Jake Cameron
3. C4 Corey Strothman (heat winner)
4. 23 Gary Harward
5. 88 Jeff Dixon
6. 21h Billie Hoover (heat winner)
7. 77t Trent Jeanes
8. 77 Dean Wray
9. 23g Greg Gilbert
10. 75 Tracy Summers
11. 12c John Crews
12. 00 Nick Whalen
13. 7t Tyler Clark
14. 18t Josh Adair
15. 63 Dan Stimson
16. 83 Gary Ainsworth
17. 65x Thomas Roberts
18. 44f Bruce Fair
19. 4v Tyler Veach
20. 7k Randy Smith Sr
21. 4 Darrell Whit


1. 21c Chad Clancy
2. 57 Randy Ainsworth (heat winner)
3. 96c Jim Cameron
4. 5 Dakota Foster
5. 76 Ronnie Miller
6. 18k Danan Knott
7. 15b Wes Bestgen
8. 17x Clint Baker
9. 22b Mitch Booher (heat winner)
10. 52j Josh Barnes (heat winner)
11. 95 Mike Nelson
12. 54 Lynn Starry
13. 32p Jeremy Pittsenbarger
14. 52r Richard Biggs
15. 11d Caleb Dennis
16. 12 Jeff Stotts
17. 319 Daniel Harris
18. 31 David Coates
19. 9h Nic Hanes
20. 52m Dustin Miller

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group