VanderBeek pockets $5,000 for Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl victory at Central Missouri Speedway
Print this page
July 5, 2014  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo. -- The 9th annual Tom Wilson BBQ Bowl Memorial was another exciting race night for fans and drivers with action-packed excitement throughout the evening. USRA modified drivers worked hard all weekend through qualifying races and two 20 lap scrambles starting on Friday and ending with a victory lane celebration for Zack VanderBeek of New Sharon, Iowa, who captured the $5,000-to-win special modified pay day with the Wilson family watching from the grandstands.

USRA Modified drivers returned to action at CMS Saturday evening for their final chance to qualify for the main event, which started on Friday night when Jeff Cutshaw captured the pole position. The USRA drivers thrilled the crowd with stellar competition during 4 heat races with Shad Badder in front on heat one, John Allen from Chanute Kansas grabbed the checkers in heat two, followed by Darren Fuqua from Mayetta, Kansas took heat three, and Matt Dotson from Sturgeon going to victory in the final heat.

Passing points determined the top twelve drivers after their heat race results. At intermission those drivers drew for the top 12 starting spots in the 20 lap scramble. The scramble was filled with some exciting moments as John Allen initially led the event. Matt Dotson drove past him using the high side and moved his machine into the outside row one starting spot. Behind him, Allen, Jason Bodenhamer, Darron Fuqua, Robbie Reed, Tim Karrick, Shad Badder, Terry Schultz, Robbie Test, Logan Martin, Aaron Marrant and Zack Sanders filled the final 12 starting positions for the feature.

The weather became a factor late in the evening as a quick rain shower started to wet the track down with the 24 starters on the grid for the final 50-lap special event.

As the rain subsided, the Tom Wilson Memorial feature started with Cutshaw and Dotson trying to gain the early advantage along with Allen and Fuqua. Dotson started to use to use the side while Cutshaw and Allen swapped second and third until the yellow flew for Marrant on the front stretch on lap seven.

By lap 10 Dotson had moved up front with Fuqua, Allen, Cutshaw and Reed in the top five. The second and final yellow caution flag flew after Bodenhamer spun in turn four while running sixth. Danny Crane and Karrick avoided contact along with the rest of the field and were able to continue. After the restart, the field settled in to a flow of two and three-wide racing all around the track.

Some drivers chose the bottom line earlier on; however, Jim Moody started working the high side and moved into the top three by lap 20. Meanwhile, Dotson maintained his lead, but Vanderbeek started his forward push in lapped traffic and worked his way up to second on lap 41 as he moved past Fuqua, who was just behind Dotson at the time. By lap 45, Vanderbeek moved past Dotson in turn four and hung on to his lead for the remaining five laps as Dotson held strong in second.

As the double checkers flew for the $5,000 payday, Zack VanderBeek celebrated his win behind the wheel of his familiar Casey’s General Store #33z machine. Close behind was Dotson who led the first 45 laps, followed by Fuqua third, Reed, from Quincy, Illinois fourth, Moody fifth, Cutshaw sixth, Schultz advanced from 16th 7th, Dennis Elliott from Mt. Ayr, Iowa finished eighth, Danny Crane ninth, Tyler Schmidt rounded out the top ten.

Next week, regular weekly racing returns to CMS with the USRA Modified $1,000-to-win weekly payout. Street Stocks, B-Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Special Guest Class, ULMA Late Models will all compete.

Be sure to visit CMS online at for the latest schedule updates, news, and information! On race day, be sure to call the Track Report Line for general information at (660) 747-2166. Follow us on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at CMS may also be found on Instagram.

Primary sponsors for CMS this season include Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, Sunoco Race Fuels, Good Time Oldies 1450 KOKO/98.5 FM The Bar, Pepsi, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7 FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, KRLI Country 103.9 FM, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD.

This year’s list of outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Roundabout Café, Batliner Recycling, Blue Springs Chiropractic, OK Tire Stores, Rick Darling Performance, Reece Nichols Realty LLC, Bodee's Racers Auction, Finish Line Performance, Economy Lumber and Hardware, Brooks Automotive LLC, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, JA Performance, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, Rod End Supply, Quality Home Improvements, Wolf Tire Service, Miller Lite, Goody’s Steakburgers, The Cornerstone Agency, Impact Signs Awnings and Wraps, Lek-Tro-Mek Service Co., Seeburg Mufflers,, and

CMS is located 3.5-miles north of Warrensburg, MO from the junction of Highways 50 and 13 in Warrensburg just north of the new Hwy 13 by-pass round-a-bout, or from the Higginsville exit off I-70, head south on Highway 13 for twelve and half miles. Full standings and results located at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, July 5, 2014


1. (9) 33Z Zack Vanderbeek, New Sharon, Iowa
2. (2) 88D Matt Dotson, Hallsville, Mo.
3. (8) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, Kan.
4. (10) 5 Robbie Reed, Mexico, Mo.
5. (5) 00 Jim Moody, Odessa, Mo.
6. (1) 98C Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar, Mo.
7. (16) 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia, Mo.
8. (3) 29 Dennis Elliott, Mt. Ayr, Iowa
9. (19) 78 Danny Crane, Columbia, Mo.
10. (17) 66T Tyler Schmidt, Easton, Kan.
11. (11) 17H Brent Holman, Rogers, Ark.
12. (20) 36 Logan Martin, West Plains, Mo.
13. (7) 9 Eric Turner, Hermitage, Mo.
14. (12) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
15. (4) 98 John Allen, Chanute, Kan.
16. (14) 73B Shad Badder, Bates City, Mo.
17. (24) 69 Zach Sanders, Kearney, Mo.
18. (6) 03 Jason Bodenhamer, Centerview, Mo.
19. (18) 27T Robbie Test, Kaiser, Mo.
20. (23) 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.
21. (15) 2 Grant Junghans, Manhattan, Kan.
22. (13) 96 Chad Lyle, Oak Grove, Mo.
23. (22) 34A Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
24. (21) 77 Steven Bowers Jr., Topeka, Kan.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group