Karrick, Wray, Higley winners on Worth Harley Davidson Night at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
July 25, 2014  |  by Rick & Alan Staley

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- USRA Modifieds were in fine form as two of the greats would battle side by side early using both high line and low line on a near perfect racing surface Friday night at the Lakeside Speedway. The familiar face of Tim Karrick would put his McCarthy Auto Group #1k into McCarthy Auto-Group victory lane. Karrick would use the high line to perfection as he would pass Mark Schafman and never look back on his way to victory. Dustin Boney would find the high line late to power his way to a second place finish. Kerry Davis would search the track high and low looking for speed and get by the fast Schafman to finish third, leaving the one-time leader Schafman fourth. Mark Hoover was among the top runners the entire race and would end the night in fifth place. Heat race winners were Karrick and Schafman.

USRA B-Mods witnessed the return of Mike Higley after a two-month layoff race his way past all challengers to McCarthy Auto-Group victory lane. Higley and Yancy Shepard would exchange the lead multiple times with Higley prevailing in the end. Current point leader Chad Clancy would battle Ed Noll side by side to the checkers to finish second, leaving a very fast Noll in third place. Shadren Turner was the big mover of the race coming through the pack to place a very consistent fourth, with Jake Richards fifth. Heat race winners included Higley, Clancy, Noll and Jacob Hobscheidt. The B-Feature winner was Luke Nieman.

As usual, the USRA Stock Cars would put on an edge of the seat nail biting feature to the checkered flag. Dean Wray would pick up feature number one at Lakeside Speedway on the 2014 racing season. Wray would battle side by side with Kevin Anderson gaining inches per lap to edge Anderson at the line leaving Anderson in second. Gene Stigall continues to find Lakeside Speedway to his liking backing up his two feature wins with a solid third place finish. Big mover of the race was Marshall Jewett using the high line to move through the pack on his way to a fourth place finish. Early race leader Eddie Ingram would fade late to place fifth. Heat race winners were Joe Smith Jr., Ingram and Anderson.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale, Scott takes title at Wild West Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group