Scharkey dominant, Wytaske repeats at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
August 1, 2014  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. -- Racing action returned to Chateau Raceway after a one week break under perfect conditions. This week’s program was presented by Midwest Repairables of New Richland and Rolling Green Fence of Austin. The second Gold Rush was held for the kids at intermission this week.

Josh Mattick took off from row one in the L&D Ag USRA B-Mod feature. Brad Minkse got turned into the backstretch wall on lap two and at the same time Mattick slowed in turn four to end his night. Taylor Ovrebo took the lead at that point with Mark Wytaske and A.J. Zvorak in pursuit. Everyone kept an eye on Kylie Kath who took the Brew Pub Pizza Challenge and drove from last to fifth in four laps.

A yellow on lap 5 tightened up the field and Wytaske drove past Ovrebo to take the lead. Kath got by Zvorak for third on lap seven and then passed Ovrebo for second on the ninth circuit. Another caution came out and that put Kath on Wytaske’s bumper for the restart and it looked like the bonus might be claimed for the first time.

Kath gave a good drive to challenge Wytaske but spun on lap 15 and lost a lot of ground. Wytaske won his second in a row with Ovrebo second. Kadden Kath finished in third while Ryan Stebbins was fourth and Taylor Ausrud rounded out the top five.

Todd Scharkey absolutely dominated the French’s Repair & Fabrication USRA Modified 25-lap feature. Scharkey started outside of row one and led from start to finish for his fourth win of the season. Pat Graham ran second until he broke on lap 17. Jacob Dahle had a good late race run to finish second with Joe Horgdal, Darwyn Karau and Doug Hillson in the top five.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, Aug. 1, 2014


Feature: Todd Scharkey, Jacob Dahle, Joe Horgdal, Darwyn Karau, Doug Hillson, Greg Jensen, Dennis Hillson, Pat Graham, Damon Haslip, Jim King.

Heat #1: Scharkey, Karau, Haslip, Dennis Hillson, Doug Hillson.

Heat #2: Dahle, Jensen, Horgdal, Graham, King.


Feature: Mark Wytaske, Taylor Ovrebo, Kadden Kath, Ryan Stebbins, Taylor Ausrud, A.J. Zvorak, KLylie Kath, A.J. Johnston, Morgan Schrage, Josh Ihlenfeld, Blake Arndt, Tanner Johnston, Josh Mattick, Brad Minske, Jack Koster, David Henderson.

Heat #!: Zvorak, Wytaske, Mattick, Arndt, Ovrebo, Minske, Schrage, T. Johnston.

Heat #2: Kylie Kath, Koster, A. Johnston, Henderson, Kadden Kath, Stebbins, Ausrud, Ihlenfeld.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group