Moody rolls to Kids Night victory at Central Missouri Speedway
Print this page
August 2, 2014  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo. -- Kids Night at Central Missouri Speedway is a family event the fans as well as drivers always look forward to and last night was another special one with a large crowd on hand to witness all the action. The night was even more special for the kids, especially for the boys and girls who left the track with new bikes and backpacks from random drawings along with hundreds of goodie bags filled with various school supplies and race related trinkets.

The dirt track magic also continued as Odessa driver Jim Moody drove up front all night to win his fifth USRA Modified feature.

Each week, USRA Modified heat races bring close racing action as drivers attempt to make the grid for the $1,000-to-win, $160-to-start main event. On Saturday evening, Jim Moody from Odessa edged Aaron Marrant in heat one, Jimmy “Dean” Eaton from Bates City claimed heat two for his first win of the year and Danny Scrogham from Peculiar raced his way to victory lane in heat three.

Ultimately, Moody was the car to beat as he led the early portion of the USRA modified feature with Aaron Marrant attempting to nose in on the preferred low side. After several early cautions in the race, drivers somewhat settled in a good pace with Marrant, Tyler Schmidt and Terry Schultz all in play. After a pair of restarts after a lap-16 caution and an additional slowdown on lap 20, Moody retained his lead over Marrant and Tyler Schmidt.

As the final double checkered flags flew for the night’s action, Moody kept the USRA modified championship points battle close by claiming his fifth victory lane celebration this year. Aaron Marrant had a successful return to action after missing a couple weeks looked strong all night long and finished second. Schmidt, also absent for a few weeks posted another strong finish as the Kansan finished a strong third. Terry Schultz made a late move up into fourth on the high side while Tim Karrick claimed fifth.

Central Missouri Speedway now takes a two-week break and hopes that race families and fans will enjoy the activities at the Missouri State Fair. Racing returns to CMS on Saturday, Aug. 23, with guest class the Allstar Midget Series along with the USRA Modifieds, B-Modifieds, Street Stocks and Pure Stocks.

Be sure to visit CMS online at for the latest schedule updates, news, and information! On race day, be sure to call the Track Report Line for general information at (660) 747-2166. Follow us on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at CMS may also be found on Instagram.

Primary sponsors for CMS this season include Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, Sunoco Race Fuels, Good Time Oldies 1450 KOKO/98.5 FM The Bar, Pepsi, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7 FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, KRLI Country 103.9 FM, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD.

This year’s list of outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Roundabout Café, Batliner Recycling, Blue Springs Chiropractic, OK Tire Stores, Rick Darling Performance, Reece Nichols Realty LLC, Bodee's Racers Auction, Finish Line Performance, Economy Lumber and Hardware, Brooks Automotive LLC, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, JA Performance, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, Rod End Supply, Quality Home Improvements, Wolf Tire Service, Miller Lite, Goody’s Steakburgers, The Cornerstone Agency, Impact Signs Awnings and Wraps, Lek-Tro-Mek Service Co., Seeburg Mufflers,, and

CMS is located 3.5-miles north of Warrensburg, MO from the junction of Highways 50 and 13 in Warrensburg just north of the new Hwy 13 by-pass round-a-bout, or from the Higginsville exit off I-70, head south on Highway 13 for twelve and half miles. Full standings and results located at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 2, 2014


1. 00 Jim Moody, Odessa
2. 34A Aaron Marrant, Orrick
3. 66T Tyler Schmidt, Easton, Kan.
4. 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia
5. 1k Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
6. 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.
7. 97k Brian Johnson, Independence
8. 86 Buddy Benedict, Independence
9. 96 Chad Lyle, Oak Grove
10. 19k Eddie Bray, Archie
11. 39 Luke Driskell, Stilwell KS
12. 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar
13. 0 Richard Layne, Kansas City
14. 23 Steve Twenter, Sedalia
15. 24jr Jimmy Eaton, Bates City
16. 2D Dean Bachner, Olathe, Kan.
17. 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg
18. 51B Brandon Hill, Holden
19. 07 Dave Ralph, Raymore
20. 112 Justin Moon, Sedalia
21. 99w Dennis Walrath, Clinton
22. 75 Gunner Martin, Blue Springs
23. 32p Nick Pence, Raymore
DNS - 17k Kyle Westerhold, Blue Springs
DNS - 75rpm Scotty Martin, Independence

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group