Crapser pleads the fifth in Fountain City
Print this page
August 15, 2014  |  by Jeff Nun,

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis.—With a late-race move, Cory Crapser of Chippewa Falls, Wis., scored his fifth Iron Man Challenge victory Friday night as the USRA B-Mods circled the Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wis.

Crapser, who started fifth, found a way to get by race-long leader Erik Kanz with two laps to go and secured the $600 winner’s share of the prize money.

Kanz held on for second to finish ahead of fellow Winona, Minn., racer Shaun Walski while Casey Knutson of Spring Grove, Minn., claimed the fourth spot and Iron Man points leader Dan Wheeler rounded out the top five.

Tyler Creeley was sixth, Jon Van Minsel came from 14th on the grid to grab the seventh spot, defending USRA B-Mod national champion Troy Hovey was ninth and Alex Williamson completed the first ten to the finish line.

Wheeler remains ahead of Crapser by 25 (1215 to 1190) in the Iron Man Challenge points standings while Jared Timmerman sits third with 1097 markers. Fourth through tenth are Jacob Bleess (778), Dustin Kruse (506), Matt Jones (424), Dan Hovden (410), Jake Richards (399), Ethan Isaacs (395) and Kanz (394).

Up next for the Iron Man Challenge is a tripleheader on Wednesday, Aug. 27, at the Marshalltown Speedway in Marshalltown, Iowa. Both the USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods will join the USMTS Modifieds on the racing card.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series – Iron Man Challenge
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, August 15, 2014


Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver, hometown and money won. The top 12 drivers in heat race passing points advanced to the “A” Main with the top 8 redrawing for starting positions 1-8.

Heat #1 (8 laps):
1. (3) 07 Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis.
2. (1) Red1 Dan Wheeler, Savage, Minn.
3. (5) 95x Shaun Walski, Winona, Minn.
4. (2) 31 Bill Stettner, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.
5. (7) 7+ Jared Timmerman, Norwalk, Iowa.
6. (4) 20k Kyle Brown, Minnesota City, Minn.
7. (6) 44 Brandon Reutzel, Winona, Minn.

Heat #2 (8 laps):
1. (6) 90 Tyler Creeley, Winona, Minn.
2. (2) 97 Bob Fort, Fountain City, Wis.
3. (1) 6 Dustin Kruse, Brandon, S.D.
4. (5) 4x Troy Hovey, Castalia, Iowa.
5. (7) 1 Jon Van Minsel, Spring Grove, Minn.
6. (4) 15w Alex Williamson, Rushford, Minn.
7. (3) 21 Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.

Heat #3 (8 laps):
1. (1) 23k Erik Kanz, Winona, Minn.
2. (6) 12k Casey Knutson, Spring Grove, Minn.
3. (3) 13 Ryan Konkel, Winona, Minn.
4. (5) 54 John Feirn, Chippewa Falls, Wis.
5. (2) 42 Dan Christopher, Decorah, Iowa.
6. (4) 3a Taylor Ausrud, Hayfield, Minn.
7. (7) 48k Scott Kunda, Winona, Minn.

“A” Main (20 laps):
1. (5) 07 Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis., $600.
2. (2) 23k Erik Kanz, Winona, Minn., $450.
3. (1) 95x Shaun Walski, Winona, Minn., $300.
4. (3) 12k Casey Knutson, Spring Grove, Minn., $250.
5. (7) Red1 Dan Wheeler, Savage, Minn., $200.
6. (4) 90 Tyler Creeley, Winona, Minn., $175.
7. (14) 1 Jon Van Minsel, Spring Grove, Minn., $150.
8. (6) 6 Dustin Kruse, Brandon, S.D., $130.
9. (10) 4x Troy Hovey, Castalia, Iowa, $120.
10. (17) 15w Alex Williamson, Rushford, Minn., $110.
11. (9) 13 Ryan Konkel, Winona, Minn., $100.
12. (8) 97 Bob Fort, Fountain City, Wis., $90.
13. (13) 7+ Jared Timmerman, Norwalk, Iowa, $85.
14. (12) 31 Bill Stettner, Inver Grove Heights, Minn., $80.
15. (11) 54 John Feirn, Chippewa Falls, Wis., $75.
16. (20) 48k Scott Kunda, Winona, Minn., $75.
17. (19) 44 Brandon Reutzel, Winona, Minn., $75.
18. (15) 42 Dan Christopher, Decorah, Iowa, $75.
19. (18) 3a Taylor Ausrud, Hayfield, Minn., $75.
20. (16) 20k Kyle Brown, Minnesota City, Minn., $75.
DNS - 21 Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn., $50.

Lap Leaders: Kanz 1-18, Crapser 19-20.
Next Race: Wednesday, Aug. 27, Marshalltown (Iowa) Speedway.
Points Standings: Wheeler 1215, Crapser 1190, Timmerman 1097, Bleess 778, Kruse 506, Matt Jones 424, Dan Hovden 410, Jake Richards 399, Ethan Isaacs 395, Kanz 394.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, COMP Cams, Day Motor Sports, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, MSD, Nitroquest Media, RACEceiver,, Radical Race Gear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive,, Erson Cams, New Vision Graphics.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, COMP Cams, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, PBM Performance Products, QA1 Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Tiger Rear Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA PARTICIPATING TRACKS: Battleground Speedway, Bloomfield Speedway, Bronco Raceway Park, Buena Vista Raceway, Callaway Raceway, Cedar County Raceway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Dodge County Speedway, El Paso Speedway Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Gator Motorplex, Hamilton County Speedway, Hancock County Speedway, Heartland Park Topeka, Humboldt Speedway, Huset’s Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Marshalltown Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, Mountain Creek Speedway, Nevada Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red River Speedway, Royal Purple Raceway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, South Texas Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Texana Raceway park, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway, West Siloam Speedway.

Latest News from the USRA

May 26, 2018
Carney. Flores open on top in Salute To Indy
Opening the two-night Salute to Indy on Saturday at the Southern New Mexico Speedway, the lineup of winners was led by John Carney and Donavon Flores. Carney picked upread more
May 26, 2018
Fuqua dominates USRA Modified feature at Show-Me 100
Darron Fuqua continued his strong season by leading all 30 laps of the Pitts Homes USRA Modified feature during Saturday night's 26th annual Show-Me 100 presented by read more
May 26, 2018
Elliott, Anderson, Noll steady wild Trailer Town Night at I-35 Speedway
Another stout field of Out-Pace USRA B-Mods took to the dry-slick track Saturday on Trailer Town Night at I-35 Speedway. The class is one of the most competitive at the Iread more
May 26, 2018
Hovden, Chisholm collect Iron Man Challenge laurels at Deer Creek Speedway
Mitch Hovden and Jim Chisholm shared the spotlight Saturday night as the Iron Man Challenge charged into the Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn., for the 16th Annread more
May 25, 2018
Results from Rapid Speedway
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series results for Friday, May 25, from the Rapid Speedway in Rock Rapids, more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group