USRA Modifieds back in action at CMS on Comfort Inn Night
Print this page
August 20, 2014  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo. -- Central Missouri Speedway returns for more exciting dirt track racing action after a two- week break on Saturday, August 23 with USRA Modifieds, Street Stocks, B-Modifieds, and Pure Stocks plus guest class Allstar Midget Series! Grandstand admission gates open at 5 with hot-laps at 7 and racing at 7:30.

Two weeks ago, several new drivers claimed their first main-event wins of the season. However, in the USRA Modified class, Jim Moody of Odessa, Missouri captured his fifth feature win of the year and his victory tightened the point’s championship standings. Terry Schultz from Sedalia, Missouri leads the Modified track championship rankings just ahead of Moody, who sits 54 markers behind Schultz with Tim Karrick, Dean Wille and Aaron Marrant rounding out the top five.

Dean Wille of Warrensburg, Missouri has a stranglehold on the B-Modified rankings with four feature wins and eight top fives to his credit. Wille is providing a unique experience with his partnership for the University of Central Missouri, Society of Engineers-sponsored car. Richard Brainard of Sedalia is second just 32 points ahead of Troy Carlyle along with Eddie Bray, Jr., and Jordan Clemons among the top five. Clemons is the most recent new winner in the B-Modified division.

Brett Wood, also of Warrensburg remains atop the Street Stock division with seven wins to his credit. Jermiah Wilson of Concordia, Missouri is second and has a slim six-point lead over Troy Turley from Knob Noster, Missouri in third; Larry Ferris and Herb Danner round out the top five. Clayton Campbell of Otterville, Missouri picked up his first feature win of the year in the Street Stock division two weeks ago.

The Pure Stock division has added some new cars and drivers in recent weeks. The point’s leader, Leroy Morrison, Jr., a 15-year-old driver from Raymore, Missouri has shown steady improvement this year. Gary Akers claimed the feature win last time out and sits solidly in second with Don Johnson now up to third after his first heat-race win on August 2. Bobby Raybourn drops to fourth after deciding to concentrate his racing program in the Street Stock class. Darrin “The Bear” Christy sits in fifth just 4 markers out of fourth after 3 feature wins this season.

Admission prices for the weekend include $12 for adults, $10 for Military w/I.D. and Senior Citizens 65 and older, Kids ages six to twelve $5, children five and under are free. All pit passes for this weekend are $25. Be sure to visit CMS online at for all the latest news and information. While online, click on the Labor Day weekend of events information tabs regarding the upcoming two-day weekend of events on Saturday, August 30 and Sunday, August 31.

Latest News from the USRA

April 25, 2018
Hamilton County Speedway announces May 5 grand opening, kids night
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, have announced that opening night for the 2018 racing season will happen Saturday, May 5, with an open prread more
April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group