Dunn tops TOMS thriller at Superbowl Speedway
Print this page
August 23, 2014

GREENVILLE, Texas -- Clyde Dunn Jr. passed Billy Brierton with three laps to go, and then went on to capture Saturday night's Texas Outlaw Modified Series main event at the Superbowl Speedway in Greenville, Texas,

Charlie Smith led the first three laps before Brierton took over on lap 4. Seven laps later, Cody Smith snuck into the lead but Bierton fought back and regained control on lap 15.

The next seven laps saw Brierton setting the pace while Dunn slowly worked his way into position to strike. With three to gom Dunn droive past Bierton and led him to the checkered flag to collect the $1,500 winner's share of the prize money.

Charlie Smith held on for third, Josh Landers came home in fourth and Troy Taylor rounded out the top five finsihers.

Bobby Malchus earned the Hard Charger Award by advancing nine positions in the 25-lapper.

Special thanks to James and Becky Bryant and their staff at the Superbowl Speedway, and to the fine TOMS sponsors: Cam Chassis, Sustaire Plumping, Elite Plumbing, Day Motor Sports, Five 1 Seven Design, Dirt Defender, Fritz Foto, Modified Madness, Plumbing Solutions, Loves Graphics and Fanning Plating.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Texas Outlaw Modified Series
Superbowl Speedway, Greenville, Texas
Saturday, Aug. 23, 2014


Heat #1: 1. Clyde Dunn Jr., 2. Sean Jones, 3. Charlie Smith, 4. Colby Smith, 5. Kyle Sweeney, 6. Dustin Hyde, 7. Gene Keel.

Heat #2: 1. Wesley Veal, 2. Kevin Sustaire, 3. Josh Landers, 4. Troy Taylor, 5. Danny Veal, DNS - Bobby Malchus.

Heat #3: 1. Cody Smith, 2. Billy Brierton, 3. Mike Dillard, 4. Manual Williams, 5. Manual Williams II, 6. Bryan Gunwall.

A-Main: 1. Clyde Dunn Jr., 2. Billy Brierton, 3. Charlie Smith, 4. Josh Landers, 5. Troy Taylor, 6. Danny Veal, 7. Wesley Veal, 8. Kevin Sustaire, 9. Dustin Hyde, 10. Bobby Malchus, 11. Kyle Sweeney, 12. Colby Smith, 13. Sean Jones, 14. Cody Smith, 15. Gene Keel, 16. Manual Williams II, 17. Bryan Gunwall, 18. Manual Williams, 19. Mike Dillard.

Lap Leaders: Charlie Smith 1-3, Brierton 4-11, Cody Smith 12-14, Brierton 15-22, Dunn 23-25.

Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group