Sanders, Estes, Cameron, Masoner collect I-35 Speedway checkers
Print this page
August 23, 2014

WINSTON, Mo. -- USRA Hobby Stocks saw a repeat winner Saturday night at the I-35 Speedway as Conner Masoner led every lap to claim the night’s top spot. Masoner was able to hold off the hard charge of Mich Ross, who finished a close second. Heat race winner and polesitter Tobin Bartlett raced strong for the lead early and slipped to third in the closing laps. Greg Gilbert was the hard charger of the feature, coming from the back to the front and placing fourth, as heat race winner Tyler Clark rounded out the top five.

In an action-packed feature, the USRA B-Mods saw Ronnie Miller take the lead early and appeared to have the car to beat until mechanical issues brought his night to an end early. With heat race winner Miller having issues, Jim Cameron inherited the lead and claimed the victory. Current points leader Chad Clancy battled his way past almost all challengers to place second. Heat race winner Dustin Miller had a stellar night, challenging for the lead early and taking the checkers in third. Randy Ainsworth came from the back of the pack to finish fourth, holding Clint Baker to fifth. The other heat race winner was Dakota Foster.

In one of the most exciting features of the night, the USRA Stock Cars continued to be the class watch. Jason Estes led early only to see Dean Wray use the high line to perfection on his way to the front. Wray continued to lead until the white flag lap when his Mopar powerplant let go, allowing Estes to pick up his first feature win of the 2014 racing season while driving for Jake Cameron. Current points leader Thomas Roberts drove his Boller Motorsports hot rod through the pack to finish second. Trent Jeanes was always in contention for the win as he notched another solid third-place finish. Darrel Whitt continued to wheel his racecar with class and style as he placed fourth. Jon Boller Jr. rounded out the evening's top five in an impressive feature. Heat race winners were Whitt and Estes.

High-flying, fire-breathing, alcohol-burning USRA Modifieds ended the night in epic fashion with two- and three-wide racing action throughout the field. Points leader Zach Sanders continued his impressive season, logging win number 6 as he led every lap for the victory. Dennis Elliott was the big mover of the race, coming through the pack to finish second. Elliott and Steven Glenn put on a show racing side by side, lap after lap to the checkers with Glenn settlimg for third. Bud Wilson and Richard Layne also battled side by side to the checkers with Wilson fourth and Layne fifth. Heat race winners were Shane Lawson and Layne.

It was great to see Darren Shaw back at the race track and in the pace truck for the USRA Modified feature event as he is recovering from a serious neck injury. I-35 Speedway would like to thank all of our great drivers and loyal fans for another outstanding night of dirt track racing. We have to comment on the good sports that participated in the “Pedal Tractor Clash” during intermission activities. Great racing action pursued between Allen Staley, Thomas Roberts and Richard Biggs as they truly battled to the checkered flag. Congratulations to race announcer Allen Staley as he picked up the victory by putting his leg-powered Allis Chalmers WD 45 in victory lane.

We would like to invite everyone back next week for Tompkins Industries Night as all regular classes will be in action along with the Show-Me Vintage Racers. See you Saturday night, Aug. 30 , for more “Dirt Trackin' at its Best.”

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 23, 2014


1. 47x Conner Masoner
2. 34 Mich Ross
3. 28 Tobin Bartlett (heat winner)
4. 23g Greg Gilbert
5. 7t Tyler Clark (heat winner)
6. 66 Cody Wright
7. 10x John Chipp
8. 13x Carson Masoner
9. 7k Randy Smith Sr.
10. 47 Nick Hitt


1. 96c Jim Cameron
2. 21c Chad Clancy
3. 52m Dustin Miller (heat winner)
4. 57 Randy Ainsworth
5. 17x Clint Baker
6. 31 David Coates
7. 33j Jason Billups
8. 22b Mitch Booher
9. 15b Wes Bestgen
10. 52r Richard Biggs
11. 7 Bobby Russell
12. 95 Mike Nelson
13. 76 Ronnie Miller (heat winner)
14. 3c Justin Custer
15. 12 Jack Stotts
16. 7k Doug Keller
17. 5 Dakota Foster (Heat Race Winner)


1. 86e Jason Estes (heat winner)
2. 65x Thomas Roberts
3. 77t Trent Jeanes
4. 4 Darrel Whitt (heat winner)
5. 14x Jon Boller Jr.
6. 77 Dean Wray
7. 111 Justin Bevill
8. 18 Richard Moulton
9. 75 Tracy Summers
10. 88 Jeff Dixon


1. 69 Zach Sanders
2. 29 Dennis Elliott
3. 26s Steven Glenn
4. 75 Bud Wilson
5. 0 Richard Layne (heat winner)
6. 2h John Hanson
7. 92 Tyler Grooms
8. 17$ Shane Lawson (heat winner)
9. 26 Randy Smith
10. 5d Shane Bailey
11. 38 Anthony Logston
12. 71 Jim Hopkins
13. 98 Austin Johnson

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group