Sanders, Roberts, Ainsworth, Boller bag Tompkins Industry Night wins at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
August 30, 2014  |  by Rick & Alan Staley

WINSTON, Mo. -- The pressure was on in the USRA Hobby Stock division as the familiar #47x, normally driven by Conner Masoner with two feature wins on the season, would see Jon Boller Jr behind the wheel. Boller, knowing that Masoner would never let him live it down, had to put the #47x in victory lane. Boller would lead every lap and was never challeneged on his way to earning the nights top spot. Great racing ensued throughout the pack as Mich Ross #34 would hold off the hard racing of #23g Greg Gilbert to finish second, with Gilbert third. Corey Myers #15 would run side by side with #10x of John Chipp with Myers gaining the advantage as they would finish fourth and fifth respectively. Heat race winners were Carson Masoner #13x and John Chipp #10x.

USRA B-Mods would witness the familiar face in I-35 Speedway’s winners circle as Randy Ainsworth #57 would pick up win number three on the 2014 racing season. Ainsworth was challenged every step of the way in a great battle by Jim Cameron #96c who would end the night second. Doug Keller #77 continues his consistency by placing third and holding the very fast Clint Baker #17x to fourth. USRA National Point Leader Chad Clancy #21c would recover from an early race mishap and race back to fifth. Heat race winners included Gregg Truelove #44, Luke Neiman #181, and Ronnie Miller #76. B-Feature winner was Dustin Miller #52m.

In an action packed USRA Stock Car feature the plot ever thickens in the I-35 Speedway point’s race. Thomas Roberts #65x would battle early race leader Jeff Dixon #88, swapping the lead continually until mid-way through the race when Roberts would gain the advantage and never look back claiming win number seventy-seven on his illustrious career. Dean Wray #77 would search all over the track to find a way around Roberts to no avail finishing second. Jason Estes #18e would pass onetime leader Dixon to finish third, leaving Dixon to fourth. Billie Hoover #21h, after recovering from a flat tire, would race his way back up to finish fifth. Heat race winners Dean Wray #77 and Jason Estes #18e.

USRA Modifieds would not disappoint in one of the fastest features anyone would ever witness on a three-eighths mile speedway. Current point leader Zach Sanders #69 would charge through the pack passing Jim Hopkins #71 in the latter stages to claim feature win number seven of this 2014 racing season. Hopkins would not go quietly as he would continue to challenge Sanders for the lead and finish a strong second place for the night. Dennis Elliott #29 continues to rack up top fives by placing third. Sam Florence #42 was the hard charger of the feature by coming through the pack and placing fourth. Derrick Hicks #78 was a top contender all night and would round out the feature’s top five. Heat race winners included Sam Florence #42, Jim Hopkins #71, and Dennis Elliott #29.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank all drivers and fans for a great night of racing excitement. We would like to thank John Brown and Donnie Brown for their contributions towards the upcoming kids nickel drop and we will also be giving away two more bicycles in the upcoming weeks. Special thanks to all the kids who participated in the bike races on the front strait as all were deemed winners. We invite everyone back next week for Rod End Supply Night at the Races featuring all the normal classes plus Midwest Lightning Sprints and Non-Wing Sprint Cars. See you next week for more “Dirt Trackin’ at its Best.”

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, August 30, 2014


1. 47x Jon Boller Jr.
2. 34 Mich Ross
3. 23g Greg Gilbert
4. 15 Corey Myers
5. 10x John Chipp (heat winner)
6. 1/2 John Willard
7. 13x Carson Masoner (heat winner)
8. 66 Tyler Clark
9. 20c Chris Onstot


1. 57 Randy Ainsworth
2. 96c Jim Cameron
3. 77 Doug Keller
4. 17x Clint Baker
5. 21c Chad Clancy
6. 10 Johnny McGinnis
7. 3d Matt Dorssom
8. 21 Jacob Bleess
9. 181 Luke Nieman (heat winner)
10. 52m Dustin Miller
11. 3c Justin Custer
12. 22b Mitch Booher
13. 319 Daniel Harris
14. 42 Gene Claxton
15. 44 Gregg Truelove (heat winner)
16. 2 Andrew Bleess
17. 7t Blaine Nolker
18. 76 Ronnie Miller (heat winner)
19. 95 Mike Nelson
20. 125 Luke Maddox
21. 31 David Coates


1. 65x Thomas Roberts
2. 77 Dean Wray (heat winner)
3. 18e Jason Estes (heat winner)
4. 88 Jeff Dixon
5. 21h Billie Hoover
6. 86c Jake Cameron
7. 75 Tracy Summers
8. 80 Ron Callahan
9. 18 Richard Moulton
10. 4 Darrel Whitt
11. 83b Brandon Beam
12. 52 Chris Reiff


1. 69 Zach Sanders
2. 71 Jim Hopkins (heat winner)
3. 29 Dennis Elliott (heat winner)
4. 42 Sam Florence (heat winner)
5. 78 Derrick Hicks
6. 75 Bud Wilson
7. 26s Steven Glenn
8. 0 Richard Layne
9. 17$ Shane Lawson
10. 26 Randy Smith
11. 38 Anthony Logston
12. 2h John Hanson
13. 92 Tyler Grooms
14. 98 Austin Johnson
15. 41 Shane Florence
16. 4d Shawn Lee
17. 5d Shane Bailey

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group