Schmidt takes first CMS victory
Print this page
September 6, 2014  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo. -- On a cool late summer evening, 90 drivers checked in for competition at Central Missouri Speedway (CMS) as the season continues to wind down. When the night concluded, one driver added his name to the winners list for the first time this year as Tyler Schmidt of Easton, Kan., dominated the 25-lap USRA Modified main event.

The final class to complete their heat races of the night was USRA Modifieds. For heat #1, Jim Moody of Odessa picked up the win over Tim Karrick. Heat #2 went to Schmidt over Gunner Martin, with heat #3 going to Robbie Read of Mexico, Mo., over Dean Wille. Eddie Bray Jr. of Archie crossed the line ahead of road-course racer Ron Keith to take the win in the final heat race.

The always stout field of ‘mighty modifieds’ rounded out the night’s action with an action-packed 25-lap main event. Schmidt started on the pole and although he was scheduled to start second, Moody was unable to make the call due to mechanical problems. Martin and Keith ran strong in their heat races to secure solid starting positions behind Schmidt.

Although the field was deep with talent, including the likes of John Allen, USRA national points leader Terry Schultz, two-time track champion Aaron Marrant and veteran driver Rick Beebe , Schmidt was on a mission and seemed unstoppable in capturing the $1,000-to-win main event.

Eighth-starting Karrick recorded his best CMS feature finish of the year in second. Ninth-starting Matt Johnson also advanced through the field to claim third while 15th-starting Bodenhamer continued his successful night by claiming fourth while Martin slipped to fifth, Reed rounded out the top six.

Next Saturday, September 13 is the final night of action at CMS for 2014. Pure Stocks, Street Stocks, B-Mods, and USRA Modifieds will be in action; however, the field for the USRA Modifieds is already set from the Labor Day Weekend postponed race. The USRA ‘mighty modified’ drivers who are locked into the postponed $1,500-to-win 35-lap A-main event are:

66T-Tyler Schmidt, Easton, KS 00-Jim Moody, Odessa
03-Jason Bodenhamer, Centerview 107-Shad Badder, Oak Grove
16-Austin Siebert, Grandview 87-Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, KS
97-Cade Dillard, Robeline LA 68-Dean Wille, Warrensburg
21-Johnny Fennewald, Appleton City 49-Bob Timm, Winona MN
23-Steve Twenter, Sedalia 36-Logan Martin, West Plains
88D-Matt Dotson, Hallsville y9-Aaron Marrant, Orrick
20-Jason Thompson, Concordia 1k-Tim Karrick, Basehor, KS
7j-Justin Johnson, Gardner, KS 22x-Dustin Boney, Gower
90-Terry Schultz, Sedalia 16s- Matt Johnson, Archie
30-Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, KS 27T-Robbie Test, Kaiser
17-Lucas Conley, Spring Hill KS 95-Kevin Blackburn, Fulton

Only the above-listed USRA Modified Drivers will be competing next Saturday. For all the other classes, an all-new night of racing will take place to determine the final championship standings. Gates will open at 5 with racing at 7:30. For additional information call the track report line at 660-747-2166 or visit CMS online at

Be sure to visit CMS online at for the latest schedule updates, news, and information! On race day, be sure to call the Track Report Line for general information at (660) 747-2166. Follow us on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at CMS may also be found on Instagram.

Primary sponsors for CMS this season include Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, Sunoco Race Fuels, Good Time Oldies 1450 KOKO/98.5 FM The Bar, Pepsi, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7 FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, KRLI Country 103.9 FM, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD.

This year’s list of outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Roundabout Café, Batliner Recycling, Blue Springs Chiropractic, OK Tire Stores, Rick Darling Performance, Reece Nichols Realty LLC, Bodee's Racers Auction, Finish Line Performance, Economy Lumber and Hardware, Brooks Automotive LLC, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, JA Performance, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, Rod End Supply, Quality Home Improvements, Wolf Tire Service, Miller Lite, Goody’s Steakburgers, The Cornerstone Agency, Impact Signs Awnings and Wraps, Lek-Tro-Mek Service Co., Seeburg Mufflers,, and

CMS is located 3.5-miles north of Warrensburg, MO from the junction of Highways 50 and 13 in Warrensburg just north of the new Hwy 13 by-pass round-a-bout, or from the Higginsville exit off I-70, head south on Highway 13 for twelve and half miles. Full standings and results located at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, September 6, 2014


1st- 66T-Tyler Schmidt, Easton, KS
2nd- 1k-Tim Karrick, Basehor, KS
3rd- 16s- Matt Johnson, Archie
4th- 03-Jason Bodenhamer, Centerview
5th- 75-Gunner Martin, Blue Springs
6th- 5-Robbie Reed, Mexico
7th- 68-Dean Wille, Warrensburg
8th- 98-John Allen, Chanute, KS
9th- 19k-Eddie Bray, Archie
10th- 20-Ron Keith, Shawnee KS
11th- 90-Terry Schultz, Sedalia
12th- 86-Buddy Benedict, Independence
13th- 5k-Terry Kirk, Urbana
14th- 17-Lucas Conley, Spring Hill KS
15th- 67-Tim Dotson, Sturgeon
16th- 23-Steve Twenter, Sedalia
17th- 2D-Dean Bachner, Olathe, KS
18th- 66-Eric Johnson, Columbia
19th- 88-Aaron Marrant, Orrick
20th- 21D-Larry Clawson, Pleasant Valley
21st- 22B-Rick Beebe, Shawnee, KS
DNS- 00-Jim Moody, Odessa

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group