Elliott, Wray, Ainsworth, Gilbert top Winnerís Circle Awards Night at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
September 20, 2014  |  by Rick & Alan Staley

WINSTON, Mo. -- USRA Hobby Stocks would take to the track next as Greg Gilbert #23g would use a pole starting spot to his advantage by taking the lead early and leading every lap on his way to claiming the checkers and victory number three this 2014 racing season. Bruce Lewis Jr #77L would hang tough throughout the feature and beat his sibling to the line to place second with brother Larry Lewis #7k placing third. Josh Adkins #15 would have mechanical issues late in the feature to place fourth as Scott Snyder #23bs would round out the top five. Heat race winner was Mich Ross #34.

In a talent loaded action packed feature the USRA B-Mods would not disappoint. Eddie Schwope Jr #91 would take the lead and look like the car to beat in the early stages of the race. Schwope would be challenged by Travis Walker #71 early and often only to see Randy Ainsworth #57 charge his way to the lead on his way to McCarthy Auto-Group Winner’s Circle. Ainsworth would use a high side maneuver to his advantage passing both Schwope, who would finish second, and Walker, who would place third, in one daring move. Big movers of the race were Jim Cameron #96c, finishing fourth, and Jacob Ebert #94 who would recover from an early race mishap to finish fifth. Heat race winners included Randy Ainsworth #57, Jack Stotts #12, and Travis Walker #71.

Never disappointing in quality and again astonishing the crowd with great racing action the USRA Stock Cars put on a whale of a show. Dean Wray #77 would use his front row starting spot to again see the checkers first on his way to claiming the nights top spot. Wray would be challenged late by John O’Neal Jr #33 with a drag race to the line as O’Neal would be forced to settle for second by half a car length. Thomas Roberts #65x would pilot his racecar to a consistent third place finish in an ever-tightening point’s battle with Wray. Darrel Whitt #4 and Chris Reiff #52 would have their own race within a race by battling side by side for the majority of the feature. Whitt would eventually gain the advantage by placing fourth with Reiff fifth. Heat race winners were Dean Wray #77 and John O’Neal Jr #33.

In a race to be remembered those High Flying-Alcohol Drinking-Fire Breathing USRA Modifieds would race their hearts out for all in attendance. In a barrowed car, point leader Zach Sanders #24j would gain the lead early only to see Sam Florence #42 fly by in turn one on the high side. Sanders would return the favor with a slide job in turn four to retake the lead and look to be the man to beat. As the racing action continued Bud Wilson #75 would make his presence felt and challenge both leaders. As the laps continued to click away Dennis Elliott #29 would move through the pack, coming from a fifth starting spot, passing all contenders claiming victory number six this 2014 racing season. Sam Florence would use the extreme high line off turn four in the closing laps to bring home his hotrod in second place, leaving Sanders third. Mike Van Genderen #57V would impress all by racing his way through the pack to finish fourth as Bud Wilson would slip late and place fifth. Heat race winners were Dennis Elliott and Bud Wilson.

I-35 Speedway would like to congratulate our hula-hoop contestants as all were declared winners and would receive trophies for their efforts. We would like to thank drivers and fans alike for another stellar night of racing and family fun. See everyone next week for McCarthy Auto-Group Championship night at the Races plus Midwest Lightning Sprints will be in attendance. Mark your calendars for October 10-11 2014 as I-35 Speedway will hold the Open Wheel Nationals. See everyone next week for more “Dirt Trackin at its Best”.

See You There!!

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, September 20, 2014

USRA Hobby Stocks:
1. 23g Greg Gilbert
2. 77L Bruce Lewis Jr
3. 7k Larry Lewis
4. 15 Josh Adkins
5. 23bs Scott Snyder
6. 34 Mich Ross (heat winner)

USRA B-Mods:
1. 57 Randy Ainsworth (heat winner)
2. 91 Eddie Schwope Jr
3. 71 Travis Walker (heat winner)
4. 96c Jim Cameron
5. 94 Jacob Ebert
6. 32p Jeremy Pittsenbarger
7. 22b Mitch Booher
8. 20j Jayden Bears
9. 95 Mike Nelson
10. 44r Jeff Roberts
11. 14s Casey Schroff
12. 319 Daniel Harris
13. 77 Doug Keller
14. 15b Wes Bestgen
15. 12 Jack Stotts (heat winner)
16. 44 Gregg Truelove
17. 76 Ronnie Miller
18. 97 Eddie Schwope III
19. 27c Jordan Clemons
20. 41 Shane Florence

USRA Stock Cars:
1. 77 Dean Wray (heat winner)
2. 33 John O’Neal (heat winner)
3. 65x Thomas Roberts
4. 4 Darrel Whitt
5. 52 Chris Reiff
6. 75 Tracy Summers
7. 21h Billie Hoover
8. 86c Jake Cameron
9. 74s Adam Swearingin

USRA Modifieds:
1. 29 Dennis Elliott (heat winner)
2. 42 Sam Florence
3. 24j Zach Sanders
4. 57v Mike Van Genderen
5. 75 Bud Wilson (heat winner)
6. 26s Steven Glenn
7. 2h John Hanson
8. 92 Tyler Grooms
9. 38 Anthony Logston
10. 26 Randy Smith
11. 98 Austin Johnson

Latest News from the USRA

January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
January 12, 2018
Jegtvig posts Friday night victory at Wild Wet Shootout
Blake Jegtvig became the fourth different winner in as many USRA Modified main events Friday night during Round 4 of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootoread more
January 10, 2018
Schott scores in Wild West Shootout Wednesday night action
Lucas Schott scored the USRA Modified victory Wednesday evening during the third round of the Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group