Weather woes wash out Thursday at USRA National Championships, makes for humongous Friday show
Print this page
October 2, 2014

KANSAS CITY, Kan.—What started Wednesday night continued into the morning and early afternoon Thursday, forcing Lakeside Speedway and USRA officials to cancel Thursday’s program at the inaugural USRA National Championships presented by McCarthy Auto Group.

With 15 qualifying heats and one of six “B” Mains in the books Wednesday night, heavy rain and strong winds invaded the historic half-mile clay oval in Kansas City, Kan., forcing postponement of the rest of the night’s show.

With heat races complete, the balance of Wednesday’s show—five more “B” Mains, three “A” Main Qualifiers and Race of Champions qualifying heats—will kick off Friday’s festivities at 6:30 p.m., followed by another complete program.

Fans in attendance or watching live via pay-per-view at on Friday will witness more than 40 races.

After wrapping up the unfinished business from Wednesday’s rain-shortened program, Friday’s round of the USRA National Championships presented by McCarthy Auto Group goes off with another round of heat races and main events for the USRA Modifieds, USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods. Plus the USRA Hobby Stocks and SLMR Late Models join the party too.

General admission tickets are $20 Friday and $25 Saturday. Reserved seats and suite tickets are $25 Friday and $30 Saturday. Pit passes (all ages) are $35 each day.

On Saturday, USRA Modifieds will be racing for $5,000 to win, USRA Stock Cars for $3,000 to win, USRA B-Mods for $3,000 to win and USRA Hobby Stocks for $1,000 to win. Thirty cars will start the main event on Saturday for the top three divisions while 24 will start the USRA Hobby Stock and SLMR Late Model finales.

Every day, every division and every lap of the USRA National Championships will be broadcast live by Visit for ordering information and don’t miss a moment of the action.

The Lakeside Speedway is a 4/10-mile semi-banked dirt oval located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City, Kan.). For more information call 913-299-9206 or check out the track’s website at

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, COMP Cams, Day Motor Sports, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, MSD, Nitroquest Media, RACEceiver,, Radical Race Gear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive,, Erson Cams, New Vision Graphics, McCarthy Auto Group.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, COMP Cams, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, PBM Performance Products, QA1 Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Tiger Rear Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA PARTICIPATING TRACKS: Battleground Speedway, Bloomfield Speedway, Bronco Raceway Park, Buena Vista Raceway, Callaway Raceway, Cedar County Raceway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Dodge County Speedway, El Paso Speedway Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Gator Motorplex, Hamilton County Speedway, Hancock County Speedway, Heartland Park Topeka, Humboldt Speedway, Huset’s Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Marshalltown Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, Mountain Creek Speedway, Nevada Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red River Speedway, Royal Purple Raceway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, South Texas Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Texana Raceway park, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway, West Siloam Speedway.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group