Lucas Oil Speedway's Robinson nominated for RPM's Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Award
Print this page
January 8, 2015

WHEATLAND, Mo. -- Dan Robinson, General Manager of Lucas Oil Speedway and Series Director for the Lucas Oil MLRA has been announced as the 2014 Racing Promotion Monthly Great Plains Region Promoter of the Year and joins a prestigious class of promoters in the running for National Auto Racing Promoter of the Year. This honor comes from nomination by peers within the industry and is voted on by promoters from all over the country.

"It's a great honor to even be mentioned in the group of short track promoters that have either been nominated this year or have won the awards previously and I am extremely humbled to be selected as a nominee." stated Robinson. "It's a testament to the great staff we have in place here that give their heart and soul each and every weekend so that our fans, racers, and sponsors can have a wonderful experience at our facility."

Robinson, entering his sixth season at Lucas Oil Speedway in 2015 and his third season guiding the Lucas OiL MLRA is a second-time nominee for the national award. In 2014 Lucas Oil Speedway welcomed record crowds of nearly 100,000 fans through the gates at what is billed as "America's New Motorsports Destination". The facility includes a state of the art 3/8th mile dirt track along with the world's only purpose drag boat racing lake.

Roger Hadan, Eagle (Neb.) Raceway, received the award last year. Previous winners are: Hugh Deery, 1976/1984; J.C. Agajanian, 1977; D. Anthony Venditti, 1978; Jack Gunn, 1979; George Eisenhart, 1980; Dick O'Brien, 1981; Howard Tiedt, 1982; Don Martin, 1983; Glenn Donnelly, 1985; Cary Agajanian, 1986; Bud Lunsford, 1987; Bob Daniels, 1988; Howard Commander, 1989; Ray Wilkings, 1990; Paul Kuhl, 1991; Robert Lawton; 1992; Earl Baltes, 1993; Jody Deery, 1994; Andy Vertrees, 1995; Charles Powell, 1996; C-Ray Hall, 1997; Larry Kemp, 1998; Charles Cathell, 1999; Charles Deery, 2000; Ralph Capitani, 2001; Lanny Edwards, 2002; Bob & Nadine Strauss, 2003; Tom Curley, 2004, Steve York, 2005; John Padjen, 2006; Lynn Phillips, 2007; Joe & Walt Doellefeld, 2008; the Nuckles family, 2009; the Queensland family, Deer Creek (Minn.) Speedway, 2010; and Robert Sargent, Track Enterprises, Macon (Ill.), Paducah (Ky.) Speedways, 2011; Ron Drager and Scott Schultz, Flat Rock (Mich.) and Toledo (Ohio) Speedways, 2012.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing's most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly. Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions. The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers. The award is for the 25th year of sponsorship by Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year ballot will soon reach promoters in the latest issue of Racing Promotion Monthly. The Thirty-Ninth Auto Racing Promoter of the Year will be revealed during the 42nd Annual RPM@Daytona National Workshop at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, Daytona Beach, FL, February 16 & 17, 2015. For more information, please visit

Please visit for the most up to date information about Lucas Oil Speedway. Lucas Oil Speedway is located at Highways 83 and 54 in Wheatland, MO. A campground with shower and bathroom facilities is also available. With it's entrance located just outside the pit gate this sprawling scenic camping facility will continue to enhance the racing experience at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks.

In addition, fans can get social with Lucas Oil Speedway by following @LucasSpeedway on Twitter, clicking "Like" at and on

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group