Karrick shines in Warrensburg
Print this page
May 2, 2015  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo.--The Warrensburg area finally caught a reprieve from Mother Nature Saturday night and Central Missouri Speedway roared back to life with a total of 85 drivers on hand. The race program consisted of USRA Modifieds, Street Stocks, Lightning Sprints, B-Mods, and Pure Stocks on Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, and Ram night at the races.

The night featured a total of 18 events, which wrapped up just after 10 p.m. When all was said and done, Tim Karrick claimed his second-consecutive USRA Modified main event.

Last to compete for the night was the USRA Modified division with 24 cars on hand. A pair of Kansans dominated heat one as John Allen beat Justin Johnson to the line for the win. Heat two went to Robbie Test of Jefferson City over Shad Badder. Tim Karrick of Basehor, Kansas claimed heat three over Jim Moody, who finally seemed to turn his luck around.

John Allen and Robbie Test earned the front row starting positions by accumulating the most passing points in the preliminary heat races. Karrick and Johnson started in row two with Badder and Moody side-by-side in row three once the 25-lap main event went green. Test and Karrick had a classic battle swapping the lead a few times within the first five laps until Karrick found his preferred line to take sole possession of the lead with Test dropping back to second.

A yellow flag flew for a slowing Lewis Jackson on lap seven as the field regrouped for the restart. Karrick then led Badder, Test, Moody, Allen, and Terry Schultz inside the top five. By lap eight, Badder was doing everything he could to challenge Karrick but Karrick began pulling away until another caution a few laps later waived over the filed.

For the lap 9 restart Karrick led Badder, Moody, Schultz, Allen, and Test. Brian Johnson and Gunner Martin got together in turn four to draw a caution but thankfully both drivers were able to return to the event for the final laps. Karrick led Badder and Moody, who had a classic battle going for second behind the leader.

Several green flag laps were clicked off by the ‘Mighty’ Modified drivers with Karrick never missing a beat at the front of the field despite Moody and Badder doing all they could to catch him. In the end, Karrick claimed his second straight CMS win of the year ahead of Badder, Moody, Schultz, and former track champion Aaron Marrant in fifth. Rounding out the top ten were, Allen, Dalton Kirk, Test, Matt Johnson, and Danny Scrogham.

Next week once again features another weekly racing program at CMS featuring USRA B-Mods competing for national B-Mod points. All drivers must have a USRA license already or purchase a temporary license on site.


USRA Modified - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 3 1K Tim Karrick Basehor, Ks 100.00
2 4 73B Shad Badder Bates City, Mo 95.00
3 5 00 James Moody Odessa, Mo 91.00
4 7 90 Terry Schultz Sedalia, Mo 87.00
5 11 70 Aaron Marrant Orrick, Mo 84.00
6 1 98 John Allen Chanute, Ks 81.00
7 8 30 Dalton Kirk Edgerton, Ks 78.00
8 2 27T Robert Test Jr Jefferson City, Mo 76.00
9 15 16S Matt Johnson Archie, Mo 74.00
10 16 92 Danny Scrogham Peculiar, Mo 72.00
11 12 65 Tyler Davis Haysville, Ks 70.00
12 17 75 Gunner Martin, Mo 68.00
13 10 19K Eddie Bray Jr. Archie, Mo 66.00
14 13 0 Richard Layne Kansas City, Mo 64.00
15 14 75B Tad Davis Mount Hope, Ks 62.00
16 22 209 Josiah Stephens Grain Valley, Mo 60.00
17 18 32P Nicholas Pence Raymore, Mo 58.00
18 23 23 Steven Twenter Sedalia, Mo 56.00
19 9 68 Dean Wille Warrensburg, Mo 55.00 DNF
20 19 82 David Wood Richmond, Mo 54.00 DNF
21 6 7J Justin Johnson Olathe, Ks 53.00 DNF
22 20 97K Bryan Johnson Independence, Mo 52.00 DNF
23 24 24JR James Dean Eaton Bates City, Mo 51.00 DNF
24 21 3J Lewis Jackson Wellsville, Ks 50.00 DNF

CMS is pleased to announce the debut of the "CMS Victory Lane Kids Club" beginning this Saturday, May 2nd. Although we plan to announce additional details regarding this program in the coming weeks, we can announce now that all kids 12 and under can sign up to be a member and it’s absolutely free!

Some of the activities we have in mind include guest flagging and presenting trophies to the main event winners, plus earning a medal for having their name drawn! Look for additional details at the track this weekend on both sides of the speedway.

Pit gates will open at 4:30 p.m. this Saturday followed by grandstand admission beginning at 5 p.m. General Admission for adults is $12, Military members w/I.D. and College Students w/I.D. $10, Kids aged 6 to 12 just $5, Children 5 and under are free. Driver's pill draw closes at 6:15 (no passing points awarded if late), Driver's Meeting 6:30, Hot Laps at 7, and Racing at 7:30.

CMS is located just past the round-a-bout on Hwy 13 three and a half miles north of Warrensburg, Missouri from the junction of Highways 50 and 13. From Interstate 70 Higginsville/Warrensburg Hwy 13 exit, the track is located 12.5 miles south on Hwy 13. On race day call 660-747-2166 for race status.

CMS thanks its primary sponsors for their support this season! Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Pepsi, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7 FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD.

This year’s list of outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Roundabout Café, Batliner Recycling, RockAuto.com, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Blue Springs Chiropractic, Economy Lumber, Brooks Automotive LLC, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, OK Tire Stores, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, Finish Line Performance, Wolf Tire Service, Economy Lumber and Hardware, Rod End Supply, JA Performance and Outdoor Services, Seeburg Mufflers, RockAuto.com, and RacinDirt.com.

CMS is located 3.5-miles north of Warrensburg, MO from the junction of Highways 50 and 13 in Warrensburg. From the Higginsville/Warrensburg exit off I-70, head south on Highway 13 for twelve and half miles towards Warrensburg.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group