Schott, Kanz continue early season strength at Deer Creek
Print this page
May 9, 2015  |  by Bill Nelson

SPRING VALLEY, Minn.--After a week of solid rain the crew was able to put together another good racetrack and with the help of the drivers room was found in the pit area for all the racers that showed even with unusable portions of the pits due to saturated grounds.

The Wagner Trucking USRA B-Mods had the caution fever tonight. Andrew Bleess jumped into the lead from his front row starting spot. Cory Crapser and Erik Kanz were close behind in second. On lap two Kanz moved under Bleess to take over the lead while Kylie Kath pulled alongside of Crapser for the third spot.

The caution fest started on lap three with the first yellow. Over the next four laps the yellow waved a lot eventually causing officials to drop five laps after the fifth green flag incident brought out the yellow hanky. After clicking off a couple laps Shaun Walski took over the second spot behind Kanz.

The Final caution flew on lap ten causing officials to call for a green white checker dash to the finish. Kanz took home the checker with Walski and Kath in a tight battle for second.

At the finish Walski, Kath, Crapser and Brandon Hare rounded out the top five behind repeat winner Kanz.

Heat races were won by Trevor Fecht, Crapser, Ben Moudry and A.J. Zvorak

The NAPA AutoCare USRA Modifieds were up for the final feature of the night. As the feature rolled onto the track the track li ghts were turned on for the final race which was completed just about 8:30 for a nice quick show on this Mother's Day Weekend.

Jake Timm and Jacob Bleess battled hard for the first two laps until Timm took control of the race. Joel Alberts sat in third early while Lucas Schott and Keith Foss raced for the fourth spot. With four down Schott took over the third spot running around the bottom of the speedway. Schott moved alongside of Bleess as they raced for the second spot.

With seven complete Foss moved past Alberts for the fourth spot while two laps later Brandon Davis worked past Alberts for a top five position. On lap twelve Davis moved past Foss for the fourth position. A caution on lap thirteen sat Timm with issues going into turn one with him and Schott making contact ending Timm's night.

On the restart Schott led with Davis and Bleess racing for the second spot. Davis took over the second spot and sat to the inside rear corner of Schott looking for a mistake to get around him.

Schott was consistent on his line and on lap twenty Davis made a bid for the top spot that didn't work giving Schott some breathing room over the remaining laps.

At the checkers it was Schott with the win, Davis, Bleess, Foss and Alberts rounded out the top five.

Heat races were won by Josh Angst, Bleess and Alberts.

Racing action resumes next Saturday with the annual School Bus Races raising money for the local schools along with racing action in all regular classes. Action begins at 5:00.


A-Feature: Erik Kanz, Shaun Walski, Kylie Kath, Cory Crapser, Brandon Hare, Alex Williamson, Cole Queensland, John VanMinsel, A.J. Zvorak, Kadden Kath, J.T. Wasmund, Jackson Hale, Mike Chisholm, Andrew Bleess, Josh Ihlenfeld, Nick Wagner, Ben Moudry, Trevor Fecht, Cole Lanergan, Derek Clement Tammy Soma Clark, David Pitz, Kenny Boge Jr., Scott Demmer.

B-Feature: Clement, Soma Clark, Chisholm, Lanergan, Christian Warner, Taylor Ausrud, Russell Quinnell, Jayden Larson, Jerry Young, Channing Warner.

Heat 1: Fecht, Kylie Kath, Pitz, Wasmund, Ihlenfeld, Soma Clark, Warner, Young.

Heat 2: Crapser, Bleess, Kanz, VanMinsel, hale, Chisholm, Warner, Quinnell.

Heat 3: Moudry, Williamson, Walski, Kadden Kath, Wagner, Clement, Ausrud.

Heat 4: Zvorak, Demmer, Hare, Queensland, Boge, Larson, Lanergan.


Feature: Lucas Schott, Brandon Davis, Jacob Bleess, Keith Foss, Joel Alberts, Joe Horgdal, Zack VanderBeek, Jason Cummins, Bob Timm, Brent Larson, Steve Wetzstein, Dustin Sorensen, Josh Angst, Corey Crapser, Darwyn Karau, Joe Ludemann, Greg Jensen, Owen Grube, Doug Hillson, Alan Wagner, Jake Timm.

Heat 1: Angst, J. Timm, Karau, Sorensen, Davis, Grube, Ludemann.

Heat 2: Bleess, Schott, Larson, Foss, Wetzstein, VanderBeek, Crapser.

Heat 3: Alberts, Cummins, B. Timm, Wagner, Jensen, Hillson, Horgdal.

For more information, visit or "LIKE" our Facebook Page. You can also follow us on Twitter @DeerCreekSpeed (#TheCreek) or on our YouTube channel.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group