Bob Timm finally revisits Mississippi Thunder Speedway victory lane
Print this page
May 8, 2015  |  by Dan Bailey

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis.--After spending all day on the dirt track trying to whip Mississippi Thunder Speedway into race-ready condition following a week of heavy rains, Bob Timm ended the evening sitting on an area of the facility which needed no grooming, no drying and no packing. A 10x30 foot piece of concrete which could be rained on 24 hours straight and still support a race car; the Mississippi Thunder Speedway victory lane.

Rains through the entire week had many thinking that Mississippi Thunder Speedway might not even see a green flag Friday evening, May 8, but Timm and his track crew got to work as soon as possible after the rains ended to insure that racers and fans alike could enjoy another night of dirt track action.

"We've been working the track all day trying to get it into shape," smiled Timm in victory lane, "honestly, there was a short time earlier today when we weren't even sure if we'd be racing tonight. But with the great crew we have here, and a whole lot of equipment, we worked all day to get the track ready for racing tonight."

After spending all day on the track with heavy equipment, Timm then spent the evening on the track with his Oak Ridge Fabrication #49 USRA Modified and enjoyed something which has mysteriously eluded him for a while: a visit to his own victory lane.

"You know, after more than 200 feature wins in my career I never thought it would take this long to get another one. Almost two years, but it's great to be back."


For the second week in a row Chippewa Falls, Wis.'s Cory Crapser showed the competition the back of his #07 and ended up speaking with the fans from victory lane. After 31 cars had battled through four heat races and a B-Main it came down to the opening night feature winner putting in another dominant display on the track to cap the evening.

Crapser started from the front row and immediately pulled away from the pack to set up a huge lead; a caution just past the mid-way point of the 18-lap feature allowed Brandon Hare and the rest of the field to restart right behind Crapser and allow the fans the opportunity to see if anyone could battle the leader for the top spot, but such was not to be the case.

Crapser pulled out to another lead while Hare's tires glossed over allowing others to pass his #56H as it faded to a fifth place finish.

Heat race winners Parker Hale and Dan Hovden battled to second and fourth place finishes respectively with Jon Van Minsel racing beneath the checkered flag between them in third.


After making a setup change that didn't work on Opening Night, Cochrane, WI's Lance Hofer made the perfect adjustments on evening number two of the 2015 season in order to race his #11 USRA Limited Late Model straight into victory lane. Almost exactly one year to the date after picking up his very first USRA Modified feature win, Hofer was celebrating with his first USRA Limited Late Model feature win.

In an all new division which is still attempting to grow to car counts which all feel are on the way, Hofer battled through several cautions and challenges from the rest of the field to acquire the win.

What the green flag action showed is that the new Limited Late Models can give the fans side-by-side battles for position, changes at the front of the pack, and edge-of-your-seat excitement!

Polesitter Quinn Arnoldy leapt to the early lead of the 20-lap feature, holding off challenges from Cody Gardner and heat race winners Justin Sass and Troy Hovey before Hofer was able to work through the battles, take the lead and race on to the victory.

Racing resumes Friday night, May 15, with the first green flag waving at 7 p.m. for the Rivercity Manufacturing USRA Modifieds, USRA Limited Late Models presented by Liquid Nitro Energy Drink and Steve Yaggy Trucking, Black Horse Bar & Grill USRA B-Mods, Coordinated Business Systems WISSOTA Super Stocks, redbox+ 600 Mods, Jailhouse Saloon MTS Sportsman and MTS Hornets.

The pit gate and grandstands open at 5 p.m. Family-friendly general admission prices continue at $12 for adults and $10 for seniors and students with valid ID. Children ages 17 and younger are admitted absolutely free.

Mississippi Thunder Speedway is located 3.0 miles north of Fountain City on Wisconsin Highway 35. For more information, call 608-687-3282 or visit on the World Wide Web. Mississippi Thunder Speedway is presenting its seventh season of top-notch dirt track action in Fountain City, Wis. The high-banked 1/3 mile dark-clay oval is quickly becoming known as one of the best speedways in the upper Midwest presenting dirt track racing in a fan and family friendly atmosphere every Friday night throughout the racing season. For all details, continue visiting the Mississippi Thunder Speedway web site:


1. (1) 49 Bob Timm, Winona, Minn.
2. (2) IOU1 Brent Larson, Lake Elmo, Minn.
3. (5) 69 Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn.
4. (4) 4a Joel Alberts, Mantorville, Minn.
5. (10) 24 Brad Waits, Rochester, Minn.
6. (9) 21 Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.
7. (7) 49jt Jake Timm, Wis.nona, Minn.
8. (6) 0 Les Duellman, Winona, Minn.
9. (13) 07 Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis.
10. (12) 05 Jake Hartung, Elmwood, Wis.
11. (8) 11 Lance Hofer, Cochrane, Wis.
12. (11) 18 Mick Glenn, Minnesota City, Minn.
13. (19) 99 Josh Angst, Wis.nona, Minn.
14. (18) 51 Chris Oertel, Marshfield, Wis.
15. (3) 94jr John Doelle, Arcadia, Wis.
16. (17) 3x Bryan Hessler, Chetek, Wis.
17. (15) 15b Steve Bangart, Auburndale, Wis.
18. (16) 44 Leroy Scharkey, Rochester, Minn.
19. (14) 15 Chris Loberg, Menomonie, Wis.

1. (4) 11 Lance Hofer, Cochrane, Wis.
2. (7) 4 Troy Hovey, Decorah, Ia
3. (6) 24 Justin Sass, Elgin, Minn.
4. (3) 81 Cody Gardner, Winona, Minn.
5. (1) 76 Quinn Arnoldy, Winona, Minn.
6. (8) 8 Curt Luhmann, Rushford, Minn.
7. (5) 13 Ryan Konkel, Winona, Minn.
8. (2) 77 Tom Brink, Winona, Minn.
9. (9) 80j Lee Jonsgaard, Minnesota City, Minn.

1. (2) 07 Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis.
2. (3) 28 Parker Hale, Grand Meadow, Minn.
3. (7) 1 Jon Van Minsel, Spring Grove, Minn.
4. (9) 16 Dan Hovden, Decorah, Iowa
5. (5) 56h Brandon Hare, Elma, Iowa
6. (1) 12k Casey Knutson, Spring Grove, Minn.
7. (12) 21 Ryan Olson, Strum, Wis.
8. (10) 85 Ben Moudry, Hastings, Minn.
9. (17) 90 Tyler Creeley, Winona, Minn.
10. (8) 98 Kyle Anderson, Decorah, Iowa
11. (16) 00r Chad Rosendahl, Houston, Minn.
12. (6) 1k Parker Kessel, Waukon, Iowa
13. (22) 31 Bill Stettner, Inver Grove, Minn.
14. (21) 95x Shaun Walski, Winona, Minn.
15. (11) 23k Erik Kanz, Winona, Minn.
16. (20) 55p David Pitz, Elma, Iowa
17. (14) 82 Rick Byrnes, Decorah, Iowa
18. (23) 35x Phillip Dunbar, Rushford, Minn.
19. (15) 51w J.T. Wasmund, Pine Island, Minn.
20. (24) 99 Bill Engler, Hixton, Wis.
21. (19) 19 Nicholas Wagner, Trempealeau, Wis.
22. (13) 15w Alex Williamson, Rushford, Minn.
23. (4) 2 Andrew Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.
24. (18) 42 Dan Christopher, Decorah, Iowa

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group