Marrant goes the distance for $1,500 Central Missouri Speedway payday
Print this page
June 20, 2015  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo.—The weather finally cooperated for racing at Central Missouri Speedway (CMS) on a Saturday evening as temperatures soared into the nineties for KMZU 100.7 FM ‘The Farm’ night at the races. Fans were entertained to a weekly race program in all divisions highlighted by a $1,500-to-win USRA Modified special event won by former CMS track champion Aaron Marrant of Orrick, Mo.

Twenty-one USRA Modifieds took to the track for three preliminary heat races with Danny Scrogham grabbing heat one ahead of Jason Pursley and Terry Schultz. Aaron Marrant won easily in heat two ahead of Gunner Martin and Eric Turner. The final heat went to Dalton Kirk ahead of Jim Moody and Shad Badder.

Dalton Kirk of Edgerton, Kan., led the initial stages of the 30-lap main event over a stellar field of drivers including Marrant, Martin, Badder, Schultz and Moody. Throughout the field drivers raced hard for every position and after a few early cautions, the middle lane of the track started to come into play for drivers that moved off the bottom lane. Marrant took advantage of the middle to grab the lead on lap 13.

Throughout the field, drivers that chose to move up a lane were rewarded with forward advancement toward the front of the field including Schultz who went from sixth to second in a furious charge over the final ten laps. Shad Badder, Eric Turner, Robbie Test, Dean Wille, and Nick Pence also moved forward.

Marrant kept his winning line and drove away from all pursuers with his first ‘Mighty’ Modified special event victory since September 6, 2009. After winning two main events in one night last weekend, Schultz settled for second this week one rung ahead of Kirk who completed the podium in third. Shad Badder and Eric Turner, making his debut in the Christina Smith-owned number 16s, rounded out the top five.

Action at CMS resumes next Saturday, June 27 for Midwest Coating Race Night featuring a $500-to-win Pure Stock special event, along with the Memorial Day weekend Street Stock make-up feature for those that have qualified, along with the weekly Street Stock, B-Mod, Lightning Sprint and USRA Modified programs.

Check out CMS online at for all the latest schedule updates, news, and information! On race day, call the Track Report Line for general information at (660) 747-2166. Follow us on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at CMS may also be found on Instagram. Full race results may be found on Speednet, point your web browser to

Pit Gates open at 4:30, Admission Gates open at 5, driver's pill draw cutoff is at 6:15 (no passing points awarded to driver if late draw), Drivers Meeting at 6:30, Hot Laps at 7, and Racing at 7:30! General Admission Adults $12, Military/Students w/ID $10, Seniors 65 and over $10, Kids 6 to 12 years $5, all children 5 and under free! Permanently confined to wheelchair, free! All weekly racing pit passes are $30. On race day call the track report line at 660-747-2166.

CMS is located just past the round-a-bout on Hwy 13 three and a half miles north of Warrensburg, Missouri from the junction of Highways 50 and 13. From the Interstate 70 Higginsville/Warrensburg Hwy 13 exit, the track is located 12.5 miles south on Hwy 13.

CMS thanks its primary sponsors for their support this season! Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Pepsi, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7 FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD.

This year’s list of outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Roundabout Café, Batliner Recycling,, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Blue Springs Chiropractic, Economy Lumber, Brooks Automotive LLC, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, OK Tire Stores, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, Finish Line Performance, Wolf Tire Service, Rod End Supply, JA Performance and Outdoor Services, Seeburg Mufflers,, and

Main Event Results 6-20-15

1. 70 Aaron Marrant, Richmond
2. 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia
3. 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.
4. 73b Shad Badder, Oak Grove
5. 16 Eric Turner, Hermitage
6. 75 Gunner Martin, Blue Springs
7. 00 Jim Moody, Odessa
8. 27t Rob Test, Jefferson City
9. 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg
10. 32p Nick Pence, Raymore
11. 44 Jared Rogers, Tecumseh, Kan.
12. 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar
13. 38c Jason Pursley, Hermitage
14. 3j Lewis Jackson, Wellsville, Kan.
15. 23 Steve Twenter, Sedalia
16. 97k Brian Johnson, Independence
17. 96 Chad Lyle, Oak Grove
18. 0 Richard Layne, Kansas City
19. 209 Josiah Stephens, Grain Valley
20. 03 Jason Bodenhamer, Centerview
21. 2d Dean Bachner, Olathe, Kan.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group