Elliott doubles up on Tompkins Industries Night at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
June 27, 2015  |  by Rick Staley

WINSTON, Mo.—USRA Modifieds would take to the track first in a make-up feature from May 16 and would set the stage for a great night of racing action Saturday at the I-35 Speedway. Heat race winner Dennis Elliott would start on the front row and lead every lap on his way to McCarthy Auto Group Victory Circle.

Elliott would be challenged early by other heat race winner Zach Sanders who would go on to place second. Michael Dotson would make an impressive charge to the front finishing third holding Tyler Grooms to fourth. Jim Hopkins would see yet another solid finish by placing fifth. Other heat race winner was Jim Moody.

As the green flag dropped on the USRA B-Mods Steve Starmer and Dustin Miller would lead the field through turns one and two. Miller would take the early advantage leading the majority of the feature. One slip off turn three was all it would take for Dakota Foster, coming through the pack, to take the lead and calm the night’s victory. Miller would recover to finish second with Starmer placing third. Tim Eaton again would show poise and consistency as he would place fourth. Big mover of the feature was Shadren Turner who would have to tag to the rear of the field after an early race caution and would race his way to finish fifth. Heat race winners included Miller, Starmer and Danan Knott.

Racing in the USRA Stock Car division as always was fast and competitive. Thomas Roberts would again see the checkers first and claim the night’s top spot. Roberts was challeneged early and often by Jon Boller Jr., who would place second on this night of racing. Richard Moulton would have his best showing of the 2015 racing season by placing a personal best third. Billie Hoover and Chad Walker would duel it out to the end with Hoover fourth and Walker fifth at the line. Two heat race winners and early feature leaders Dean Wray and Jason Estes would have contact off turn four, taking both drivers out of winning contention.

Ending a night of great racing action at I-35 Speedway the USRA Modifieds would see Elliott pick up his second feature win on the night. Heat race winner Elliott and other heat race winner Darren Shaw would start side by side in row one. Shaw would take the early lead using the high line only to see Elliott fire back by on the inside and claim the win. Shaw would be in contention to the checkers and finish the night in second place. Sanders would challenege the two front runners often only to end the night third. Ronnie Woods and Derrick Hicks would battle to the checkers with Woods fourth and Hicks fifth.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank all of our great fans and drivers for making this a special night of racing action. See everyone next Saturday for racing, fireworks, and more “Dirt Trackin' at its Best.”

See you there!

Race Results I-35 Speedway 6/27/2015


Make-up Feature:
1. 29 Dennis Elliott (heat winner)
2. 69 Zach Sanders (heat winner)
3. 55d Michael Dotson
4. 92 Tyler Grooms
5. 71 Jim Hopkins
6. 11 Darren Shaw
7. 2h John Hanson
8. R21 Ryan Shaffer
9. 97 Houston Johnson
10. 98 Austin Johnson
11. 00 Jim Moody (heat winner)
12. 26s Steven Glenn
13. 38 Anthony Logston
14. 5d Shayne Bailey
15. B00k Dylan Book
16. 209 Josiah Stephens
17. 3j Lewis Jackson

1. 29 Dennis Elliott (heat winner)
2. 11 Darren Shaw (heat winner)
3. 69 Zach Sanders
4. 53 Ronnie Woods
5. 78 Derrick Hicks
6. 97 Houston Johnson
7. 71 Jim Hopkins
8. 2h John Hanson
9. 03 Bill Baker
10. 41 Shane Florence
11. 92 Tyler Grooms
12. 55d Michael Dotson
13. 42 Sam Florence
14. 98 Austin Johnson
15. R21 Ryan Shaffer


1. 65x Thomas Roberts
2. 20x Jon Boller Jr
3. 18 Richard Moulton
4. 21h Billie Hoover
5. 04 Chad Walker
6. 97j Jeff Elder
7. 16 Sam Scott
8. 23i Ronnie Ishmael
9. Xx20 Gene Stigall
10. 36s Holden Schultz
11. 77 Dean Wray (heat winner)
12. 997 Jason Estes (heat winner)
13. 88 Jeff Dixon
14. 54 Eddie Ingram


1. 5 Dakota Foster
2. 52m Dustin Miller (heat winner)
3. 11s Steve Starmer (heat winner)
4. 211 Tim Eaton
5. 17t Shadren Turner
6. 57 Randy Ainsworth
7. 10 Johnny McGinnis
8. 18k Danan Knott (heat winner)
9. 22b Mitch Booher
10. 17x Clint Baker
11. 15b Wes Bestgen
12. 777 Brad Dittemore
13. 92 Matt Michaels
14. 96c Jim Cameron
15. 8 Coleman Browning
16. 151 John Anderson
17. 11 Ted Harell
18. 20 John Woods
19. 35 Josh Maxwell
20. 92jk Jonathan Knotts
21. 77 Doug Keller

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group