Martin doubles down at Lucas Oil Speedway
Print this page
June 27, 2015  |  by Dan Robinson

WHEATLAND, Mo.—On a Chamber-of-Commerce-type summer evening with unseasonably mild temperatures and nearly 100 cars in the pits at Lucas Oil Speedway, Logan Martin doubled down to take top honors in both the USRA Modifieds and USRA B-Mods.

Hermitage Lumber put up extra cash for the Pitts Homes USRA Modifieds as the special $750-to-win main event was captured by West Plains's Logan Martin in a caution-plagued event. Jeff Cutshaw started second and finished second but only after he was forced to go tailback after bringing out a caution early in the race as he slowed in turn 2.

The 2014 Lucas Oil Speedway track champion put on an absolute driving clinic as he weaved his way to the front running out of laps at the end to challenge Martin for the win. Cutshaw did capture the mid-season championship by virtue of his second-place finish. Hermitage's Eric Turner slid back to third at the finish after starting on the pole. A pair of Jasons finished in fourth and fifth with Jason Russell fourth and Jason Pursley 9n fifth at the finish. The main event was cut to 20 laps due to time limits.

The final main event of the evening once again saw Martin as the last man standing in the Andy's Frozen Custard Victory Lane as he led flag to flag for the USRA B-Mod win. Wheatland's Mike Striegel took the second spot and the mid-season championship. Three-time and defending track champion Kris Jackson took the final podium spot with his third-place finish. Shane Essary made a rare appearance driving Chuck Dobson's #6 to finish in fourth with Stockton's Robb Ewing rounding out the top-5.

Coming up this Thursday, July 2, Casey's General Stores and KY3 TV present a special Thursday Night Thunder edition of the Lucas Oil Speedway Weekly Championship Series as the drivers battle in the ALPS Food Stores Late Models, the Pitts Homes USRA Modifieds, the Carson's Corner Napa Factory Stocks, and the USRA B-Mods.

Visit participating area Casey's locations for $2 discount coupons to the night's activities. As part of the evening's "Salute to America" all veterans with ID and scouts in uniform will be admitted free. The lake area's wildest fireworks show courtesy of AM Pyrotechnics will light up the night sky at the conclusion of the racing program as we celebrate our nation's independence.

There will be no racing at Lucas Oil Speedway on Saturday, July 4.

Visit for the complete event information including times, pricing, and ticket information or call the track hotline at (417) 282-5984. In addition, fans can get social with Lucas Oil Speedway by following @LucasSpeedway on Twitter, clicking "Like" at and on


Heat 1: 1. Logan Martin (West Plains, MO), 2. Jim Cihy (Warsaw, MO), 3. Joshua Barnes (Cameron, MO), 4. Tanner Calhoun (Hermitage, MO), 5. Russell Niehoff (Lockwood, MO), 6. Jenica Thomas (Conway, MO), 7. Morgan Campbell (Nevada, MO), 8. Robert Heydenreich (Bolivar, MO).

Heat 2: 1. Justin Hunt (Flemington, Mo), 2. Kris Jackson (Lebanon, MO), 3. Gary Fain (Lone Jack, MO), 4. Davis Givens (Hutchinson, KS), 5. Andy Chrisenberry (Chilhowee, MO), 6. Nate Thomas (Conway, MO), 7. Wesley Smith (Nixa , MO), 8. Josh Bell (Ozark, MO).

Heat 3: 1. Andy Bryant (Fort Scott, KS), 2. Robb Ewing (Stockton, MO), 3. Doug Bragg (Rogersville, MO), 4. Cody Nivens (Pleasant Hope, MO), 5. Cayden Campbell (Nevada, MO), 6. RIchard Biggs (Sugar Creek, MO), 7. Daniel Yocom (Ash Grove, MO), 8. Tyler Brown (Richland, MO).

Heat 4: 1. Mike Striegel (Wheatland, MO), 2. Shane Essary (Aurora, MO), 3. Cale Turner (Fulton, MO), 4. Tony Moore (Lebanon , MO), 5. David Harris (Chilhowee, MO), 6. Steven Short (Urbana, Mo), 7. Donald Jackson (Lebanon, MO), 8. Donald Herbst (Milo, MO).

B-Feature: 1. Richard Biggs (Sugar Creek, MO), 2. Russell Niehoff (Lockwood, MO), 3. Andy Chrisenberry (Chilhowee, MO), 4. Steven Short (Urbana, Mo), 5. Morgan Campbell (Nevada, MO), 6. Tanner Calhoun (Hermitage, MO), 7. Nate Thomas (Conway, MO), 8. Jenica Thomas (Conway, MO), 9. Daniel Yocom (Ash Grove, MO), 10. Donald Jackson (Lebanon, MO), 11. Wesley Smith (Nixa , MO), 12. Josh Bell (Ozark, MO), 13. Robert Heydenreich (Bolivar, MO), 14. Tyler Brown (Richland, MO), 15. Donald Herbst (Milo, MO), 16. David Harris (Chilhowee, MO).

A-Feature: 1. Logan Martin (West Plains, MO), 2. Mike Striegel (Wheatland, MO), 3. Kris Jackson (Lebanon, MO), 4. Shane Essary (Aurora, MO), 5. Robb Ewing (Stockton, MO), 6. Doug Bragg (Rogersville, MO), 7. Cayden Campbell (Nevada, MO), 8. Cale Turner (Fulton, MO), 9. Joshua Barnes (Cameron, MO), 10. Davis Givens (Hutchinson, KS), 11. Cody Nivens (Pleasant Hope, MO), 12. Jim Cihy (Warsaw, MO), 13. RIchard Biggs (Sugar Creek, MO), 14. Gary Fain (Lone Jack, MO), 15. Justin Hunt (Flemington, Mo), 16. Steven Short (Urbana, Mo), 17. Tony Moore (Lebanon , MO), 18. Morgan Campbell (Nevada, MO), 19. Jenica Thomas (Conway, MO), 20. Andy Chrisenberry (Chilhowee, MO), 21. Andy Bryant (Fort Scott, KS), 22. Russell Niehoff (Lockwood, MO), 23. Nate Thomas (Conway, MO), 24. Tanner Calhoun (Hermitage, MO).


Heat 1: 1. Logan Martin (West Plains, MO), 2. Chase Jones (Eldorado Springs, MO), 3. Jason Pursley (Hermitage, MO), 4. Tim Setzer (Archie, MO), 5. John Allen (Chanute, KS), 6. Colton Eck (Goddard, KS), 7. David Ralph (Raymore, MO), 8. Daniel Wosoba (El Dorado Springs, MO), 9. Lance Town (Louisburg, KS).

Heat 2: 1. Jason Russell (Henley, MO), 2. Jeff Cutshaw (Bolivar, MO), 3. Lucas Gibbs (Udall, KS), 4. Terry Kirk (Urbana, MO), 5. Mike Floyd (Holt Summit, Mo), 6. Kyle Westerhold (Blue Springs, MO), 7. John Fellers (Flemington, MO), 8. Justin Moon (Sedalia, MO), 9. Tracy Wolf (Buffalo, MO).

Heat 3: 1. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 2. Chase Domer (Nevada, MO), 3. Steve Picou (High Ridge, MO), 4. Brandon Givens (Hutchinson, KS), 5. Charles Benedict Jr (Independence, MO), 6. Nathan Vaughn (Lincoln, MO), 7. Christopher Moon (Sedalia, MO), 8. Johnny Fennewald (Appleton City, MO).

Feature: 1. Logan Martin (West Plains, MO), 2. Jeff Cutshaw (Bolivar, MO), 3. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 4. Jason Russell (Henley, MO), 5. Jason Pursley (Hermitage, MO), 6. Lucas Gibbs (Udall, KS), 7. Tim Setzer (Archie, MO), 8. Christopher Moon (Sedalia, MO), 9. John Allen (Chanute, KS), 10. Steve Picou (High Ridge, MO), 11. Nathan Vaughn (Lincoln, MO), 12. Justin Moon (Sedalia, MO), 13. Brandon Givens (Hutchinson, KS), 14. Charles Benedict Jr (Independence, MO), 15. Colton Eck (Goddard, KS), 16. Kyle Westerhold (Blue Springs, MO), 17. Chase Jones (Eldorado Springs, MO), 18. Johnny Fennewald (Appleton City, MO), 19. Daniel Wosoba (El Dorado Springs, MO), 20. Mike Floyd (Holt Summit, Mo), 21. Terry Kirk (Urbana, MO), 22. Chase Domer (Nevada, MO), 23. David Ralph (Raymore, MO), 24. Tracy Wolf (Buffalo, MO), 25. John Fellers (Flemington, MO), 26. Lance Town (Louisburg, KS).

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group