Dotson claims victory at Central Missouri Speedway
Print this page
June 27, 2015  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo.—Racing took place at Central Missouri Speedway in front of an enthusiastic crowd of dedicated race fans on Saturday on a rare perfect weather night for this season.

USRA Modifieds had their final weekend to prepare for the Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl over the Fourth of July Weekend. Tim Karrick claimed heat one with Robbie Reed and Danny Scrogham in close pursuit. Terry Schultz won in convincing fashion in heat two ahead of Luke Feeback and Earl Roark. The third heat of the night went to Matt Dotson ahead of Aaron Marrant and Kevin Blackburn. The final heat of the night had Robbie Test finishing ahead of Brian Johnson and Nick Pence.

The USRA Modifieds then completed the night’s racing events with their 25-lap main event. Karrick looked to be the early favorite in the one-caution event. Feeback looked strong in his first appearance in a few years. Robbie Test also stayed up in the top-five all night with a solid run. Brain Johsnon also had a solid performance.

Lapped traffic plagued Karrick as he tried to maintain the lead as Dotson went around him for the lead using the high line. Meanwhile, Schultz tried to move up some on the track but didn’t find it to his liking and slide back down low, eventually settling for third.

As the final double checkers of the night flew for the modified feature Matt Dotson claimed the victory for his first CMS win of the year. In victory lane, Dotson felt elated to come away with the win against a tough field of cars. Karrick hung on for second, Schultz was third, Test had his best CMS finish in fourth, while Aaron Marrant advanced to round out the top five.

Next weekend marks the Tenth Annual Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl with two nights of heart pounding USRA Modified events as well as a full night of action for both programs. Night one on Friday, July 3 features a $1,500-to-win Street Stock special and extra start money on the line for USRA B-Mods, who will be competing for track and national USRA points.

ULMA Late Models return for the second stop of their annual Triple Crown Shootout. An anonymous donor has added $50 for the winner, making the late model victory worth $650. The Allstar Midget Series is set to return for the first time this year after being rained out over the Memorial Day weekend.

USRA Modifieds have the featured race of the weekend when they compete in the 50-lap, $5,000-to-win and $1,000-to-start main event on Saturday evening. USRA Modifieds have two chances to make it on to the 24-car starting grid for the main event as drivers will complete in two rounds of heat races, and C and B features as needed to ultimately determine the inside row starts, 12 cars, on night one, and then coming back on night two to determine the outside row starting positions, eventually filling the field for the main event of the night. Saturday night will also feature a complete fireworks show for everyone to enjoy. On Friday night, join us for an after-race tech barn party with Char karaoke, which starts after the final checkered flag of the evening. Those attending the party are encouraged to bring their own chairs and beverages.

Track points and USRA national points will be awarded to both the USRA Modified and USRA B-Mod divisions on both nights.

Check out CMS online at for all the latest schedule updates, news, and information! On race day, call the track report line for general information at (660) 747-2166. Follow us on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at CMS may also be found on Instagram.

Complete information regarding this coming weekend’s special events may be found on the CMS website at and then clicking on the tab titled “10th Annual Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl Information Station. You will find all you need to know including complete entry information for USRA Modifieds and Street Stocks for their special events as well as all car class payouts and program flow of events for both Friday and Saturday, plus much more!

For both Friday and Saturday night during the Tenth Annual Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl, Pit Gates open at 4:30, Admission Gates open at 5, driver's pill draw cutoff is at 6:15 (no passing points awarded to driver if late draw), Drivers Meeting at 6:30, Hot Laps at 7, and Racing at 7:30! General Admission Adults $15, Military/Students w/ID $12, Seniors 65 and over $12, Kids 6 to 12 years $5, all children 5 and under free! Permanently confined to wheelchair, free! All special-event pit passes are $35. On race day call the track report line at 660-747-2166.

CMS is located just past the round-a-bout on Hwy 13 three and a half miles north of Warrensburg, Missouri from the junction of Highways 50 and 13. From the Interstate 70 Higginsville/Warrensburg Hwy 13 exit, the track is located 12.5 miles south on Hwy 13.

CMS thanks its primary sponsors for their support this season! Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Pepsi, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7 FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD.

This year’s list of outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Roundabout Café, Batliner Recycling,, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Blue Springs Chiropractic, Economy Lumber, Brooks Automotive LLC, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, OK Tire Stores, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, Finish Line Performance, Wolf Tire Service, Rod End Supply, JA Performance and Outdoor Services, Seeburg Mufflers,, and


Main Event:
1. 88d Matt Dotson, Hallsville
2. 1k Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
3. 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia
4. 27t Rob Test, Jefferson City
5. 70 Aaron Marrant, Richmond
6. 95k Kevin Blackburn, Fulton
7. 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar
8. 22 Curt Rackers, Holts Summit
9. 5 Robbie Reed, Mexico
10. 17 Earl Roark, Henley
11. 03 Jason Bodenhamer, Centerview
12. 22x Luke Feeback, Harrisonville
13. 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, Kan.
14. 32p Nick Pence, Raymore
15. 75 Gunner Martin, Blue Springs
16. 67 Tim Dotson, Sturgeon
17. 7j Justin Johnson, Gardner, Kan.
18. 23 Steve Twenter, Sedalia
19. 2 Mike Eisenhut, Topeka, Kan.
20. 0 Richard Layne, Kansas City
21. 97k Brian Johnson, Independence
22. 39 Luke Driskell, Stilwell, Kan.
23. 209 Josiah Stephens, Grain Valley
24. 14 Kyle Graves, Fulton
25. 2d Dean Bachner, Olathe, Kan.
26. 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group