Martin earns pole position for $5,000-to-win Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl
Print this page
July 3, 2015  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo.—Night one of the 10th Annual Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl kicked off Friday evening as 100 drivers filed in along with the great Central Missouri Speedway (CMS) race fans. It was a big night in many ways for several drivers competing in the USRA Modifieds and USRA B-Mods.

For night one qualifying for Saturday’s $5,000-to-win USRA Modified event Gunner Martin earned starting position number one for the event by accumulating more passing points in his two heat races than any other driver. Also locking themselves into the finale from the combined points from the heat races were Jim Moody, Terry Schultz, Eric Turner, Jon Sheets and Dalton Kirk. Six additional drivers made their way onto the starting grid through the B-main, those drivers were Aaron Marrant, Chad Lyle, Jason Bodenhamer, Lewis Jackson, Jason Pursley and Luke Driskell.

Another complete program is on hand for the USRA Modifieds as the outside row starting positions will be determined throughout preliminary heat races and any needed “B” or “C” main events. After the conclusion of Saturday’s big race there will be a fireworks display for all to enjoy.

First-time winners always receive a thundering applause from the knowledgeable and courteous CMS fans and that is just what Grain Valley’s Nic Bennett heard after he claimed his first-ever checkered flag in the USRA B-Mod main event. Bennett ran comfortably up front with a few challenges from Dean Wille until Wille slipped back to eighth in the run down. Bennett grabbed the victory from pole position ahead of Springfield’s Cody Nivens, Brett Wood of Warrensburg, Jason Billups of Holt, and Russell Niehoff of Lockwood.

Action resumes Saturday, July 4 with USRA Modifieds, Pure Stocks, USRA B-Mods, and Street Stocks. Pit gates open at 4:30, grandstands at 5, driver pill draw cutoff is 6:15, Driver’s Meeting 6:30, Hot Laps roll out at 7, while racing begins at 7:30. General Admission for adults is $15, Seniors 65 and over $12, Military w/I.D. $12, kids ages 6 to 12 years $5, five years and under free. All pit passes are $35.

For anyone wondering, it is an all-new program on Saturday for all classes including USRA Modifieds, the driver did not have to race Friday night and can come in and still earn the outside row starting positions on the grid for the 50-lap finale. Past BBQ Bowl winners include Justin Boney (1998), Chad Lyle (1999/2000/2001), Richard Layne (2002), Tim Karrick (2003), Jason Hughes (2004/2006), Dean Wille (2005), Kelly Shryock (2007/2011), Jeremy Payne (2008), Terry Phillips (2009), Dustin Boney (2010), and Zack VanderBeek (2014). Note: the track was not in operation in 2012 and 2013.

There are no track registration fees for any car classes this weekend! USRA Modified are subject to an entry fee. All pit passes are $35 and are separate from entry fees. Complete details regarding the entire race weekend may be found on the track’s website at Look for the tab titled “10th Annual Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl Information Station!” You will find all you need to know about this weekend’s activities through this tab. Visiting drivers are highly encouraged to visit the track’s website and read the general race rules book. At CMS, we use the rulebook, enforce it, and run a very swift-moving program. Look under the Drivers tab on the website for complete rules information.

Camping is permitted on CMS grounds but there are no amenities. All overnight guests are responsible for cleaning their respective areas. There is plenty of parking on both sides of the speedway, there is grandstand seating on both the front and “pit” side of the speedway. No coolers are allowed, there is a fully stocked concession stand on both sides of the speedway to serve the fans and drivers.

Check out CMS online at for all the latest schedule updates, news, and information! On race day, call the Track Report Line for general information at (660) 747-2166. Follow us on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at CMS may also be found on Instagram.

On race day call the track report line at 660-747-2166. CMS is located just past the round-a-bout on Hwy 13 three and a half miles north of Warrensburg, Missouri from the junction of Highways 50 and 13. From the Interstate 70 Higginsville/Warrensburg Hwy 13 exit, the track is located 12.5 miles south on Hwy 13.

CMS thanks its primary sponsors for their support this season! Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Pepsi, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7 FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD. This year’s list of outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Roundabout Café, Batliner Recycling,, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Blue Springs Chiropractic, Economy Lumber, Brooks Automotive LLC, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, OK Tire Stores, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, Finish Line Performance, Wolf Tire Service, Rod End Supply, JA Performance and Outdoor Services, Seeburg Mufflers,, and

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group