Davis, Anderson, Claxton tops at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
July 31, 2015  |  by Larry Lowery Jr.

KANSAS CITY, Kan.—Every now and then you wonder when someone is going to turn it on.

In the USRA B-Mod division at Lakeside Speedway Gene Claxton hasn’t had the season he wanted in 2015. The CARB Hall of Famer and legendary local racer has been kept out of victory lane this season until last night.

Shadren Turner and Claxton would bring the field to the green to start the A Main. Turner would get the early lead as Claxton fell back to 3rd on the opening lap.

For five laps Turner would lead the field as Claxton regained his composure and quickly ran the leader back down. On lap 5 working the low line Claxton passed Turner for the lead coming out of turn 2.

At the front of the pack it was all Claxton’s race from there. His car and driving were on point as he did not miss a mark running away from the competition and picking up win #1 on the season.

A couple of late race cautions wouldn’t slow down the leader, but it gave the fans a chance to watch a great battle from 2nd on back in the pack.

Turner would hold on to 2nd after battling a host of others to the stripe, the points leader, Ed Noll, came from 6th to finish 3rd, 4th went to Brad Smith and Luke Nieman came home in the 5th spot.

USRA B-Mod heat race winners were Claxton, Turner and Smith.

In the USRA Stock Car feature it was a pair of heavy weights that brought the field to the green flag, points leader Brett Heeter and 6x feature winner in 2015 Kevin Anderson.

The opening lap ended up in a dead heat between the two and several cars were moving around for positions right behind the leaders.

Driving at the front of the pack, Heeter and Anderson would go toe-to-toe for several laps. Heeter worked the extreme high line around the track while Anderson was on the bottom. The two would do this for 4 laps until the first caution would come out on the night. It would be followed quickly by another yellow.

When the race resumed Anderson would take the top spot and begin to establish himself as the frontrunner. Anderson would have a sizable lead with five laps to go. Heeter was still in second and a great battle was going on behind him for third through fifth between Jake Newman, Justin Seifert and Nate Barnes.

At the front of the field it would be Anderson picking up win #7 on the season.

Heeter would finish in the runner-up spot adding to his points lead, winning the battle for 3rd was Newman, Barnes finished 4th and Jeff Elder would sneak into the 5th spot late in the race.

USRA Stock Car heat race winners were Newman and Heeter.

The USRA Modified A Main saw a surprise leader in Jared Steins at the beginning of the feature. Stiens would hold on to the lead in front of the points leader and 5x feature winner, Kerry Davis.

Stiens would hold down the top spot for 5 laps before Davis would make his move. Working the outside line, Davis took his hot rod on a power move as he worked around the leader, Stiens, and blasted to the lead.

Davis would see Stiens battle back, but once at the front of the pack Davis has been tough to overthrow this season. Davis would eventually open up the lead and runaway with win #6 on the season.

Stiens would hold on to the 2nd spot, 3rd would go to Nic Bidinger after a battle with the 4th place finisher, Lance Town and Eric Turner rounded out the top 5 in the fifth position.

USRA Modified heat race winners were Davis and Town.

Next Friday night, August 7, will be Kid's Night with the spectator gates opening at 5 p.m., hot laps will be at 6:45 p.m. and the first race goes green at 7:30 p.m.

Adult tickets are $12, kids 7 to 12 are $6, children under 6 are FREE and military personnel, students and seniors get in for $10 with proper I.D.

For more information on Lakeside Speedway visit them on the world wide web at www.LakesideSpeedway.net, find them on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or follow Lakeside on Twitter at Follow Lakeside Speedway on Twitter @Lakeside_Spdwy.

Lakeside Speedway is a 4/10-mile semi-banked dirt oval located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City, Kan.).

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, July 31, 2015


1. (2) 42 Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.
2. (1) 17T Shadren Turner, Saint Joseph, Mo.
3. (6) 15 Ed Noll Excelsior, Springs, Mo.
4. (3) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
5. (5) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville
6. (8) 21 Rodney Phillips, Kansas City, Mo.
7. (14) 5B Terry Bivins, Lebo
8. (15) 38 Matt Pugh, Overland Park
9. (11) 17K Jayse Clinton, Dearborn, Mo.
10. (16) 56 Cliff Smith, Kansas City, Mo.
11. (12) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee
12. (9) 44 Sam Schuler Jr., Kansas City
13. (19) 27 David Oxford, Kansas City, Mo.
14. (18) 3K Scott Henney, Kansas City
15. (7) 13 Stephen Blake Sr., Shawnee
16. (13) 74 Rodney Schweizer, Kansas City
17. (17) 81K Dakota Kessler, Savannah, Mo.
18. (10) 49 Patrick Royalty, Kansas City
19. (20) 50JR Leroy Morrison, Raymore, Mo.
20. (4) 111 Chase Austin, Eudora


1. (1) 417 Kevin Anderson, Kansas City, Mo.
2. (2) 05 Brett Heeter, Kansas City
3. (3) 222 Jake Newman, Kansas City, Mo.
4. (4) 29 Nate Barnes, Kearney, Mo.
5. (8) 97J Jeff Elder, Smithville, Mo.
6. (11) 37 Justin Seifert, Kansas City
7. (6) 55 Sean Foster, Smithville, Mo.
8. (12) 28D Gary Donaldson, Mo.
9. (10) 7 Marshall Jewett, Gardner
10. (13) 04 Chad Walker, Kansas City
11. (5) T2 Tom Fogarty, Olathe
12. (7) 9 Robert Garst, Topeka
13. (18) 5K Steve Herrick, Topeka
14. (9) 40OZ Blake Peeler, Trimble, Mo.
15. (17) 17 Kevin McGinnis, Kansas City
16. (16) 34S Richard Sparks, Kansas City
17. (15) 0T Bobby Tavis III, Leavenworth
18. (14) 1 Christopher Smith, Kansas City, Mo.


1. (2) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
2. (1) 59 Jared Stiens, Maryville, Mo.
3. (4) 3B Nic Bidinger, Perry
4. (3) 21T Lance Town, Wellsville
5. (7) 16T Eric Turner, Hermitage, Mo.
6. (9) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor
7. (6) 3J Lewis Jackson, Wellsville
8. (10) 39 Luke Driskell, Stilwell
9. (12) 3 Larry “Bubba” Harvey Jr., Kansas City
10. (8) 13H Eric Hanna, Maryville, Mo.
11. (11) 29S Jeff Smith, Kansas City, Mo.
12. (5) 7J Justin Johnson, Gardner
DNS - 5 Kevin McGinnis, Edwardsville
DNS - 175 Jason Park, Kansas City

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group