Keeter, Jackson take top spots at Lucas Oil Speedway
Print this page
August 1, 2015  |  by Dan Robinson

WHEATLAND, Mo.—A huge crowd of fans and over 100 cars jammed the pits on Ozarks Food Harvest Food Drive Night Presented by KOLR 10 on Saturday night, Aug. 1. Lebanon's Kris Jackson took top honors in the USRA B-Mods while Mitch Keeter scored a last-lap pass to win the Pitts Homes USRA Modified main event.

First up on the night were the USRA B-Mods as Ryan Gilmore and Kris Jackson led the field to the green flag from the front row and the pair set a fast and furious pace on the refreshed racing surface after intermission. Jackson, Gilmore, Andy Bryant and Mike Striegel were all in the mix early with Jackson in command. Gilmore looped it coming out of turn 4 in heavy traffic but ended up safely out of harms way in the infield as the field continued green flag racing. Jackson held off Bryant to take the win. Fort Scott, Kansan Bryant took runner-up honors after starting in fourth with Wheatland's Mike Striegel holding on for third after starting in sixth. Logan Martin slid back to fourth at the finish after starting in the third spot while Ryan Edde out of Urbana rounded out the top five.

The race of the night this week belonged to the Pitts Homes USRA Modifieds as Webb City's Mitch Keeter scored a last lap pass over Wheatland's Jason Pursley to score the win. Pursley led throughout the 20-lap affair but settled for second as the handling on his Tom Campbell-owned machine seemed to give up just a bit at the finish allowing Keeter to get by. Hermitage's Eric Turner had a strong run to finish in third. Henley's Jason Russell started the main event outside the front row but slid to fourth in the final rundown. West Plains's Logan Martin scored yet another top-five after starting in the eighth position.

The Hunt for the USMTS Casey's Cup rolls through Wheatland for the sixth time next Saturday, Aug. 8, as the stars and cars of the United States Modified Touring Series make their only appearance of 2015 at the "Diamond of Dirt Tracks."

The USRA B-Mods and the Carson's Corner Napa Factory Stocks will also be in action, plus for the third time at Lucas Oil Speedway the Battle of the Badges will visit the facility as the race will feature Missouri's finest law enforcement officers racing to raise money for charity and for the title of Top Cop.

The officers will be driving late model Ford Crown Victoria's that will provide a "cop car" look for the race. Each driver seeks the support of sponsors and must raise at least $500 dollars per race to compete. All the cars on the track were at one point police cruisers. Some of these cars went on to be taxi cabs and have racked up over 300,000 miles on them. Some were pulled out of junkyards and have been given a second chance. The driver and their crew-members have stripped the vehicles of their factory interior and replaced it with roll cages and the safety equipment necessary to be on the track. The Battle of the Badges race will raise money for Special Olympics of Missouri. This is surely an event you won't want to miss!

For complete event information, please visit

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 1, 2015


Heat #1: 1. Kris Jackson, Lebanon; 2. Cory Johnson, Kimberling; 3. Nic Bennett, Gain Valley; 4. Christopher Morelock, Springfield; 5. Justin Hunt, Flemington; 6. Gary Fain, Lone Jack; 7. Jenica Thomas, Conway; 8. Shelby Harman, Walnut Grove; 9. Jeff Scroggins, Brookline; 10. Chuck Dobson, Wheatland.

Heat #2: 1. Ryan Gillmore, Springfield; 2. Gary Clark, Walker; 3. Cayden Campbell, Nevada; 4. Tyler Milner, Huntsville; 5. Scott Chism, Bolivar; 6. Coleman Browning, Cameron; 7. Jim Cihy, Warsaw; 8. Morgan Campbell, Nevada; 9. Larissa Atnip, Jasper; 10. Andy Chrisenberry, Chilhowee.

Heat #3: 1. Logan Martin, West Plains; 2. Michael Stake, Phillipsburg; 3. Cale Turner, Fulton; 4. Michael Maggard, Republic; 5. Cody Nivens, Pleasant Hope; 6. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 7. Austin Johnson, Joplin; 8. Nate Thomas, Conway; 9. Eric Graves, Richland.

Heat #4: 1. Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan.; 2. Mike Striegel, Wheatland; 3. Ryan Edde, Urbana; 4. Robb Ewing, Stockton; 5. Joshua Barnes, Cameron; 6. Tyler Brown, Richland; 7. Robert Heydenreich, Bolivar; 8. Davis Givens, Hutchinson, Kan.; 9. Steven Short, Urbana.

B-Feature #1: 1. Chuck Dobson, Wheatland; 2. Gary Fain, Lone Jack; 3. Robert Heydenreich, Bolivar; 4. Justin Hunt, Flemington; 5. Scott Chism, Bolivar; 6. Nate Thomas, Conway; 7. Larissa Atnip, Jasper; 8. Austin Johnson, Joplin; 9. Eric Graves, Richland; 10. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 11. Davis Givens, Hutchinson, Kan.

B-Feature #2: 1. Tyler Brown, Richland; 2. Jim Cihy, Warsaw; 3. Coleman Browning, Cameron; 4. Cody Nivens, Pleasant Hope; 5. Jenica Thomas, Conway; 6. Steven Short, Urbana; 7. Joshua Barnes, Cameron; 8. Shelby Harman, Walnut Grove; 9. Morgan Campbell, Nevada; 10. Jeff Scroggins, Brookline; 11. Andy Chrisenberry, Chilhowee.

A-Feature: 1. Kris Jackson, Lebanon; 2. Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan.; 3. Mike Striegel, Wheatland; 4. Logan Martin, West Plains; 5. Ryan Edde, Urbana; 6. Michael Stake, Phillipsburg; 7. Michael Maggard, Republic; 8. Tyler Brown, Richland; 9. Nic Bennett, Gain Valley; 10. Gary Clark, Walker; 11. Jim Cihy, Warsaw; 12. Justin Hunt, Flemington; 13. Cale Turner, Fulton; 14. Robb Ewing, Stockton; 15. Gary Fain, Lone Jack; 16. Cody Nivens, Pleasant Hope; 17. Coleman Browning, Cameron; 18. Cayden Campbell, Nevada; 19. Robert Heydenreich, Bolivar; 20. Tyler Milner, Huntsville; 21. Cory Johnson, Kimberling; 22. Chuck Dobson, Wheatland, Mo), 23. Ryan Gillmore, Springfield; 24. Christopher Morelock, Springfield.


Heat #1: 1. Jason Pursley, Hermitage; 2. Lance Town, Louisburg, Kan.; 3. Eric Turner, Hermitage; 4. Steve Picou, High Ridge; 5. Chase Domer, Nevada; 6. Brandon Givens, Hutchinson, Kan.; 7. Lucas Gibbs, Udall, Kan.; 8. David Ralph, Raymore.

Heat #2: 1. Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar; 2. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 3. Chase Jones, Eldorado Springs; 4. Daniel Wosoba, El Dorado Springs; 5. John Fellers, Flemington; 6. Jack Simpson, Springfield; 7. Terry Kirk, Urbana.

Heat #3: 1. Jason Russell, Henley; 2. Logan Martin, West Plains; 3. John Allen, Chanute, Kan.; 4. Jeremy Chambers, Parsons, Kan.; 5. Christopher Moon, Sedalia; 6. Nathan Vaughn, Lincoln; 7. Rick Beebe, Shawnee, Kan.

Feature: 1. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 2. Jason Pursley, Hermitage; 3. Eric Turner, Hermitage; 4. Jason Russell, Henley; 5. Logan Martin, West Plains; 6. John Allen, Chanute, Kan.; 7. Chase Domer, Nevada; 8. Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar; 9. Brandon Givens, Hutchinson, Kan.; 10. Steve Picou, High Ridge; 11. Chase Jones, Eldorado Springs; 12. Lance Town, Louisburg, Kan.; 13. John Fellers, Flemington; 14. Christopher Moon, Sedalia; 15. Daniel Wosoba, El Dorado Springs; 16. Jack Simpson, Springfield; 17. Jeremy Chambers, Parsons, Kan.; 18. Lucas Gibbs, Udall, Kan.; 19. David Ralph, Raymore; 20. Nathan Vaughn, Lincoln; 21. Terry Kirk, Urbana; 22. Rick Beebe, Shawnee, Kan.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group