Johnson tames Central Missouri Speedway
Print this page
August 1, 2015  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo.—Central Missouri Speedway hosted Kids Night and Salute to Military Night at the track Saturday and even though late-afternoon thunderstorms forced officials to delay the normal start time, 60 drivers checked in to compete in USRA Modifieds and three other classes.

Once the track crew worked the racing surface back into shape those in attendance witnessed lightning-fast action throughout the night capped off by a spectacular finish to the evening with three new feature race winners on the year.

USRA Modifieds headlined the night with three heat races to determine the lineup of the 25-lap main event. Gunner Martin raced to his fifth heat-race victory of the year in the opening event with Terry Schultz and Aaron Marrant second and third. Brian Johnson secured his first heat win of the year ahead of Richard Layne and Mike Eisenhut in heat two while Matt Johnson nailed down the win in heat three in front of Jared Rogers and Dean Wille.

Brian Johnson and Martin, both in search of their first main-event wins of the year led the field of 20 USRA Modifieds to the initial green flag with Johnson grabbing the early race lead in front of Matt Johnson and Martin. By lap four, Martin’s bad luck in the main events this season continued as he exited the track with heavy smoke training from his #75 car.

Schultz moved into the second spot in the ensuing laps and began to put heavy pressure on Brian Johnsonfor the lead as Matt Johnson, Marrant, and Wille all occupied spots within the top five. On lap seven, Marrant’s solid run inside the top five came to a halt as his car came to a halt in between turns one and two. Marrant was able to continue as the field once again returned to green-flag racing.

Not long after the restart, Schultz found his way to the front but a single-car spin by Wille in turn one drew a second caution and forced the field to be realigned based on the last completed lap and Brian Johnson went back to the lead. For the restart Brian Johnson again was under heavy pressure from Schultz and Matt Johnson, who ran several laps together in a bid for second.

Meanwhile, 19th-starting Jason Bodenhamer climbed his way to the top five by lap 15 with Tim Karrick also advancing towards the top five from thirteenth on the grid. As the laps wound down Brian Johnson maintained his lead over Schultz and Matt Johnson until one final caution with four laps remaining came out for a single car spin by Layne.

On the restart, Johnson had a somewhat scary moment as his car skated up the embankment losing grip and nearly costing him the lead. Matt Johnson was able to use the high side to get an advantage over Brian Johnson but as the pair approached turn three Brian Johnson was able to sneak back underneath to maintain the lead.

In a tight battle to the finish Brian Johnson came out on top with Matt Johnson able to maintain second ahead of track point’s leader Schultz who came away third. Karrick made a few late-race passes to come away fourth as Marrant rebounded from his earlier turn one mishap to round out the top five. Finishing out the top ten were Bodenhamer, Dalton Kirk, Danny Scrogham, Jared Rogers, and David Wood.

All kids 12 and under received several complimentary items from area businesses, fans, drivers, and track staff during their annual Kids Night festivities, which included foot races on the tracks, raffles for bicycle giveaways, free Dilly Bars courtesy of Dairy Queen, goodie bags full of various store coupons, toys, and school supplies and a free drink and hot dog courtesy of CMS Owners/Promoters Earl and Susan Walls.

This year’s Kids Night contributors included Amanda and Gary Akers Racing, Danny Scrogham Racing, John and Debbie Miller, Quality Home Improvements by Hershel Thompson, Jayhawk Millwright/Phil Heavelow, Dairy Queen of Warrensburg, McDonald’s of Warrensburg, Casey’s of Warrensburg, Dawn Standridge, Taelor and Chad Eickleberry, Brett Wood Racing, Josh Guy Racing, Zack Smith Racing, Rob Gard Racing, Wal-Mart of Warrensburg, Bobby Raybourn and Levic Plastics, Victory Trophies by Dione, Tim Karrick Racing, Alan Miller, Earl and Susan Walls and Track Staff, Monica Brockway, the National Guard, Dean Wille racing, Dean Truelove Racing, and Carlyle Plumbing. Thank you everyone!

Next week on August 8th weekly racing continues at the speedway with KMMO Radio and Scout Night at the races featuring action in the USRA Modified, Street Stock, B-Mod, and Pure Stock divisions. Just six nights of competition remain on the 2015 CMS racing schedule.

Check out CMS online at for all the latest schedule updates, news, and information! On race day, call the Track Report Line for general information at (660) 747-2166. Follow us on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at CMS may also be found on Instagram.

Pit Gates open at 4:30, Admission Gates open at 5, driver's pill draw cutoff is at 6:15 (no passing points awarded to driver if late draw), Drivers Meeting at 6:30, Hot Laps at 7, and Racing at 7:30! General Admission Adults $12, Military/Students w/ID $10, Seniors 65 and over $10, Kids 6 to 12 years $5, all children 5 and under free! Permanently confined to wheelchair, free! All weekly racing pit passes are $30. On race day call the track report line at 660-747-2166.

CMS is located just past the round-a-bout on Hwy 13 three and a half miles north of Warrensburg, Missouri from the junction of Highways 50 and 13. From the Interstate 70 Higginsville/Warrensburg Hwy 13 exit, the track is located 12.5 miles south on Hwy 13.

CMS thanks its primary sponsors for their support this season! Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Pepsi, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7 FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD.

This year’s list of outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Roundabout Café, Batliner Recycling,, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Blue Springs Chiropractic, Economy Lumber, Brooks Automotive LLC, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, OK Tire Stores, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, Finish Line Performance, Wolf Tire Service, Rod End Supply, JA Performance and Outdoor Services, Seeburg Mufflers,, and

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 1, 2015


1. 97k Brian Johnson, Independence
2. 1x Matt Johnson, Archie
3. 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia
4. 1k Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
5. 70 Aaron Marrant, Richmond
6. 03 Jason Bodenhamer, Centerview
7. 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.
8. 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar
9. 44 Jared Rogers, Tecumseh, Kan.
10. 82 David Wood, Richmond
11. 32p Nick Pence, Raymore
12. 2 Mike Eisenhut, Topeka, Kan.
13. 3j Lewis Jackson, Wellsville, Kan.
14. 0 Richard Layne, Kansas City
15. 66m Max Grogan, Basehor, Kan.
16. 00p Justin Plumb, Peculiar
17. 22p Matt Plumb, Peculiar
18. 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg
19. 22h Clay Hale, Cameron
20. 75 Gunner Martin, Blue Springs

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group