Stars shine on Scobee Powerline CARB Night at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
August 8, 2015  |  by Rick Staley

WINSTON, Mo.—Changing things up a bit with a different order of events Saturday, the USRA Stock Cars were the first onto to the track to try and tame the 3/8-mile of dirt at the I-35 Speedway. Heat race winner Jason Estes would charge to the early lead only to develop mechanical problems taking him from contention. Thomas Roberts would inherit the lead and appear to be the top car on this feature event. Roberts would hold off the hard challenge of Dean Wray to capture a trip to the McCarthy Auto Group Winner’s Circle. Wray would finish a close second as Jeff Dixon racing his way to third. Other heat race winner Billie Hoover was among the top contenders only to fade late and place fourth with Jon Boller Jr. fifth.

USRA B-Mods would see a caution-plagued feature event with points leader Tim Eaton taking the early lead. Eaton would slip high off track in turn four opening the door for Dakota Foster to charge past Eaton and claim the $1,000 paycheck. Foster would hold off the always fast Chad Clancy, who would finish a very close second. Jim Cameron and Danan Knott would switch positions several times during the race with Cameron claiming third and Knott fourth. Big mover of the race was Doug Keller finishing fifth and also cashing in on the $100 bonus put up by Finder’s Keeper’s from Excelsior Springs. Heat race winners included Foster, Clancy and Knott.

Next onto the smooth track were the always entertaining USRA Modifieds with great side-by-side racing throughout the field. Heat race winner Sam Florence would charge to the early lead and never relinquish the top spot as he would stand tall in McCarthy Auto Group Victory Lane. Dennis Elliott would search the track both high and low for a way around the fast Florence, but only come close and settle for second. Nick Shenberger continues to improve and notched a solid third place finish. Ryan Schaffer would again find his way to the top finishing fourth. Steven Glenn, after the smoke had settled, was the fifth place finisher. Other heat race winner was Mark Hoover.

In their make-up feature from July 25, the USRA Stock Cars would roar into life closing out the night’s great racing action. Wray would use a pole position starting position to launch his hotrod to the front and on to victory leading every lap. Boller would try to run down the fast Wray only to place second. Billie Hoover would find the high line to his liking and race his way to place third. Roberts would hold off Dixon as the two would race to the line with Roberts fourth and Dixon fifth. Other heat race winner was Estes.

Winners of the Kaster Driver Appreciation Awards were John Hanson (USRA Modifieds), Jim Cameron (USRA B-Mods) and Wray (USRA Stock Cars).

I-35 Speedway would like to thank CARB and Kenny’s Tile for the added money to the USRA B-Mod feature winner. We would also like to thank Finder’s Keeper’s for the added money to the fifth-place finisher in the USRA B-Modified feature. We would like to thank Danan Knott for the donation of the two kid’s bicycles given away during Intermission activities. We honored our fallen friend “Hillbilly” Dwight Smith at the beginning of the night, prayers of comfort to his family.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 8, 2015


1. 5 Dakota Foster
2. 21c Chad Clancy
3. 96c Jim Cameron
4. 18k Danan Knott
5. 77 Doug Keller
6. 22b Mitch Booher
7. 57 Randy Ainsworth
8. 75 David Bouzek
9. 20x Chris Wright
10. 211 Tim Eaton
11. 5R Jason Reeves
12. 92jk Jonathan Knotts
13. 15b Wes Bestgen
14. 9h Nic Hanes
15. 17t Shadren Turner
16. 20 John Woods
17. 11s Steve Starmer
18. 89c Justin Custer
19. 17x Clint Baker
20. 27s Matt Shipers
21. 777 Brad Dittemore
22. 8 Coleman Browning


Make-up Feature (from July 25):
1. 77 Dean Wray
2. 20x Jon Boller Jr.
3. 21h Billie Hoover
4. 65x Thomas Roberts
5. 88 Jeff Dixon
6. 29c Chad Clancy
7. 36s Holden Schultz
8. 997 Jason Estes
9. 54 Eddie Ingram

1. 65x Thomas Roberts
2. 77 Dean Wray
3. 88 Jeff Dixon
4. 21h Billie Hoover
5. 20x Jon Boller Jr.
6. 29 Nate Barnes
7. 41 Bruce Fair
8. 36s Holden Schultz
9. 8 Nathan Carder
10. 997 Jason Estes


1. 42 Sam Florence
2. 29 Dennis Elliott
3. 22 Nick Shenberger
4. R21 Ryan Schaffer
5. 26s Steven Glenn
6. 7d7 Kyle Covert
7. 8 Mark Hoover
8. 22h Clay Hale
9. 5d Shayne Bailey
10. 98 Austin Johnson
11. 2H John Hanson
12. 97 Houston Johnson
13. 23b Mark Botts
14. 78 Derrick Hicks
15. 11 Darren Shaw
16. 69 Zach Sanders

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group