Pittman pits, passes field to take USRA Modified win at Cresco
Print this page
May 15, 2005

CRESCO, Iowa -- Despite chilly weather and a wet weekend in the area, a stout field of 85 cars gave the hearty fans their money's worth Sunday at the Cresco Speedway. Feature wins in the USRA Casey's General Stores Championship Series went to Kevin Pittman (USRA Modifieds), Tom Schmitt (USRA Stock Cars) and Dillon Anderson (USRA Hobby Stocks). Other feature winners were Carissa Wagner (Street Stocks) and Steve Dwyer (Hornets).

Hornets kicked off the feature race action with the season's largest field on a sticky-fast racing surface. Steve Dwyer of La Crosse, Wis. made the journey to Cresco worthwhile as he stormed from the eighth starting spot to win going away in the 10-lap main event. John Schroeder, Adam Ewing, Andy Stinsor and Nathan Cahoon completed the top-5 finishers.

In the 12-lap Street Stock main event, Carissa Wagner of Monona showed the boys the fast way around the Cresco oval and picked up the feature win to the delight of the fans. Jason Hovey gave chase, but had to settle for the runner-up spot at the checkers while polesitter Andy Kelly wound up third. Scott Spide and Austin Curtain rounded out the top-5.

The USRA Hobby Stock feature saw Decorah drivers Dillon Anderson and Kevin Donlan lead the pack to the checkers. Hometown favorite Steve Holthaus started and finished third, while Shane Panos took fourth and Kurt Krauskopf finished fifth.

Tom Schmitt of Independence started 10th in the USRA Stock Car main event, but the aid of a late-race caution and a perfectly-handling car on the high side of the race track kept Schmitt in the hunt as he got around Tory Reicks to take the checkered flag to score his third straight USRA Stock Car victory at Cresco. Jake Ludeking followed Reicks to the finish line, with Lynn Panos and Shay Curtin taking fourth and fifth, respectively.

Just like Schmitt, Waterloo's Kevin Pittman had his work cut out for him as he started the 25-lap USRA Modified feature in the 10th position. Pittman's workload became much heavier early on as he was forced to the pits to change a flat tire during a caution flag. "Porky" returned to the track in last place, but he didn't stay there for long as he powered through the field to take the lead late in the race, then held off ninth-starting Darin Duffy for his second straight win at the Cresco Speedway. Kerry Ledebuhr finished third in the main event, while Doug Hillson was fourth and Brad Bakken wound up fifth.

Racing continues in the USRA Casey's General Stores Championship Series next Sunday, May 22, at the Cresco Speedway with action getting underway at 6 p.m. For more information call the Cresco Speedway office at 515-832-7944 or visit www.CrescoSpeedway.com.



USRA Casey's General Stores Championship Series

Cresco Speedway, Cresco, Iowa

"A" Main Finishes - Sunday, May 15, 2005

(starting position in parentheses)


1. 7d Steve Dwyer, La Crosse, Wis. (8)

2. 18 John Schroeder, Castalia (4)

3. 77 Adam Ewing, Monona (2)

4. 7k Andy Stinsor, Ridgeway (1)

5. 72c Nathan Cahoon, Monona (3)

6. 86 Ryan Happel, Holmen, Wis. (6)

7. 17 Randy Koshatka, Cresco (5)

8. 7R Andy Rocksvold, Decorah (7)

9. 31 Dan McCready, Elgin (11)

10. 28 Alex Langland, Waukon (10)

11. 27 Doug Lind, Rushford, Minn. (12)

12. 4d Frank Durnan, Elgin (9)


1. 41 Carissa Wagner, Monona (2)

2. 8 Jason Hovey, Decorah (3)

3. 27k Andy Kelly, Lanesboro, Minn. (1)

4. 18 Scott Spide, Ridgeway (4)

5. 40 Austin Curtain, Waukon (9)

6. 56h Brandon Hare, Elma (5)

7. 38 Nick Schwebach, Caledonia, Minn. (6)

8. 29 Cody Cook, Decorah (7)

9. 5 Keith Schwartzhoff, Decorah (11)

10. 1d Koal Deering, Postville (13)

11. 20 Beau Langland, Waukon (8)

12. 14 David Kjome, Decorah (15)

13. 41b Marc Banks, Waucoma (14)

14. 26 Joe Rask, Caledonia, Minn. (12)

15. 85 Jesse Holzer, Calmar (10)

DNS - 16 Jeremy Oakes, Spring Grove, Minn. (16)


1. 44 Dillon Anderson, Decorah (2)

2. 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah (7)

3. 70 Steve Holthaus, Cresco (3)

4. 58 Shane Panos, Decorah (5)

5. 60 Kurt Krauskopf, Decorah (4)

6. 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah (9)

7. 00 Danny Cole Jr, Lansing (11)

8. 85 Ben Moudry, Protivin (10)

9. 28s Jake Sweeney, Monona (13)

10. 9 Patty Fosaaen, Waukon (6)

11. 29x Paul Fauser, Elgin (16)

12. 41 Darin Balk, Waucoma (1)

13. 04 Sam Wenthold, Waucoma (14)

14. 77 Steve Bartlett, Decorah (12)

15. 37 Carl Colsch, Eitzen, Minn. (17)

16. 5 Russell Einck, Calmar (15)

17. 10 Bryan Webb, Decorah (8)

DNS - 3 Casey Walsh, Lansing


1. 18 Tom Schmitt, Independence (10)

2. 27t Tory Reicks, Waucoma (3)

3. 69 Jake Ludeking, Decorah (2)

4. 97 Lynn Panos, Protivin (13)

5. 40 Shay Curtin, Waukon (1)

6. 42 Junior Boyer, Calmar (7)

7. 27 Jason Schlangen, Cresco (9)

8. 23 Brian Gjere, Mabel, Minn. (6)

9. 5 Mike Bergan, Ridgeway (4)

10. 51 Jeff Vsetecka, Charles City (11)

11. 62 Kevin Bidne, Decorah (5)

12. 33d Kevin Donlan, Decorah (12)

13. 8 Mike Kelly, Lanesboro, Minn. (17)

14. 27x Shawn Peter, Mabel, Minn. (8)

15. 14 Mike Krambeer, Postville (14)

16. 10j Jason Bakkum, Waukon (16)

17. 11 Jake Lampert, Caledonia, Minn. (15)


1. 26p Kevin Pittman, Waterloo (10)

2. 19 Darin Duffy, Hazleton (9)

3. 11 Kerry Ledebuhr, Winona, Minn. (5)

4. 72 Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie, Minn. (3)

5. 50 Brad Bakken, Garner (6)

6. 24 Tim Heins, Elkader, Minn. (2)

7. 90 Chuck Stanton, New Hampton (16)

8. 55 Brian Shaw, Brownsdale, Minn. (18)

9. 00T Travis Chapman (13)

10. 35k Ron Konkel, Caledonia, Minn. (7)

11. 70 Matt Sweeney, Waukon (12)

12. 93 Bob Fischer, Lyle, Minn. (15)

13. 99 Jeff Mason, Sumner (11)

14. 28t Todd Ihde, Decorah (1)

15. 35 Jeff Schluetter, New Hampton (4)

16. 15m Matt Cahoon, Farmersburg (14)

17. 1r Ryan York (8)

18. 32 Larry Schmidt, New Hampton (17)

DNS - 54 Bobby Sorensen, Rochester, Minn. (19)

Latest News from the USRA

April 25, 2018
Hamilton County Speedway announces May 5 grand opening, kids night
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, have announced that opening night for the 2018 racing season will happen Saturday, May 5, with an open prread more
April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group