Champions crowned as Waits wins two, Anderson wins first at Deer Creek Speedway
Print this page
August 29, 2015  |  by Bill Nelson

SPRING VALLEY, Minn.—With almost two inches of rain falling at the Deer Creek Speedway on Friday, the track crew had their hands full getting the track ready for racing. Deer Creek Speedway is celebrating their 20th season, and with tight battles and first-time winners the excitement was in the air all night.

Brad Waits won the make-up feature for the USRA Modifieds earlier in the night, completing the show that was previously rained out.

Cole Queensland and Erik Kanz were in a tight battle for the track championship of the Wagner Trucking USRA B-Mods with only two points separating the two as they pulled onto the track. Alex Williamson and Andrew Bleess battled early for the top spot with Williamson gaining the edge by lap 3.

Queensland and Kanz were battling mid-pack for position. Kyle Anderson worked past Bleess and then took the lead on lap 7. By lap 10, Queensland and Brandon Hare were battling for top-5 spots while Kanz slowed with mechanical problems.

Anderson cruised home with the win becoming the 401st different feature winner at the speedway. Queensland rallied to take home second with Williamson, Hare and Bleess rounding out the top 5. Nate Chodur and Ben Moudry took home the "B" features while Bleess, Hare, Kylie Kath, Anderson and Jake Timm won the heat races.

Queensland took home the track title ahead of Kanz, Kylie Kath, Hare and Williamson.

The final race of the night was the NAPA AutoCare USRA Modifieds. Jacob Bleess had a strong run and took the lead early with Jason Cummins in second. Brad Waits started seventh and quickly moved into the top 5, and with three down pulled alongside of Bleess up front. Waits led lap 4 while Bleess remained strong on the top side of the speedway for the first half of the race.

Waits slowly pulled away from the pack while Josh Angst worked into the third spot. Les Duellman caught the fans' attention just past the halfway point as he cracked the top 5 after starting 22nd on the field.

Waits took home the win ahead of Bleess, Angst, Duellman and Dustin Sorensen. Heat races were won by Bleess, Sorensen and Cummins.

Angst took home the track championship ahead of Bleess, Joe Horgdal, Joel Alberts and Darwyn Karau.

Next week will be the annual Labor Day Duel featuring the USMTS Modifieds. All other classes will be on hand to do battle on the 3/8-mile high-banked speedplant. Racing action is set to start at 6 p.m.

For more information, visit or on our Facebook Page. You can also follow us on Twitter (@DeerCreekSpeed) or on our YouTube channel.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, Aug. 29, 2015


"A" Feature: Kyle Anderson, Cole Queensland, Alex Williamson, Brandon Hare, Andrew Bleess, Jake Timm, Ben Moudry, Derek Clement, Kylie Kath, Trevor Fecht, Kadden Kath, Brian Mahlstedt, Scott Demmer, Kaleb Lienhard, Jackson Hale, Nate Chodur, Chad Roseendahl, JT Wasmund, Nick Wagner, Dustin Kruse, John Van Minsel, Steve Amundson, Daniel Christopher, Erik Kanz, Shaun Walski, Lucas Schott.

"B" Feature #1: Chodur, Wagner, Wasmund, A.J. Zvorak, Dan Tenold, Jayden Larson, A.J. Johnston, Kyle Brown, Channing Warner, Russell Quinnell, Jared Clark.

"B" Feature #2: Moudry, Kruse, Walski, Phillip Dunbar, Tanner Johnston, Nick Wagner, Kenny Boge Jr., David Pitz, Scott Kunda, Elizabeth Loberg, Steve Quinnell.

Heat #1: Bleess, Van Minsel, Kadden Kath, Hale, Tenold, Boge, R. Quinnell, Loberg, Zvorak.

Heat #2: Hare, Fecht, Clement, Amundson, Dunbar, Brown, S. Quinnell, A. Johnston, Walski.

Heat #3: Kylie Kath, Schott, Roseendahl, Demmer, Chodur, Wagner, Larson, Clark.

Heat #4: Anderson, Queensland, Kanz, Christopher, Kruse, Wasmund, T. Johnston, Pitz.

Heat #5: Timm, Williamson, Lienhard, Mahlstedt, Wagner, Moudry, Warner, Kunda.


Make-Up Feature (from Aug. 22): Brad Waits, Keith Foss, Jacob Bleess, Darwyn Karau, Josh Angst, Mark Motl, Jake Timm, Brandon Hare, Dustin Sorensen, Joel Alberts, Alan Wagner, Michael Wytaske, Joe Ludemann, Greg Jensen, Joe Horgdal, Brandon Davis, Robby Bunkelman, Les Duellman.

Feature: Brad Waits, Jacob Bleess, Josh Angst, Les Duellman, Dustin Sorensen, Jacob Dahle, Dustin Scott, Joel Alberts, Jake Timm, Brandon Hare, Bill Clemens, Brian Albrecht, Chris Loberg, Alan Wagner, Mark Motl, Dwaine Hanson, Michael Wytaske, Lucas Schott, Steve Wetzstein, Keith Foss, Jason Cummins, Joe Ludemann, Darwyn Karau, Greg Jensen, Joe Horgdal.

Heat #1: Bleess, Wetzstein, Waits, Angst, Foss, Loberg, Clemens, Alberts, Dahle.

Heat #2: Sorensen, Scott, Timm, hare, Ludemann, Karau, Jensen, Horgdal.

Heat #3: Cummins, Schott, Motl, Hanson, Albrecht, Wagner, Wytaske, Duellman.

Latest News from the USRA

March 17, 2018
Morton masters final feature at King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge
Things just kept getting better and better for J.C. Morton this weekend at the Humboldt Speedway for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racinread more
March 16, 2018
Zimmerman on top in Out-Pace USRA B-Mods at Humboldt
Veteran racer Randy Zimmerman of Fort Scott, Kan., flew by leader J.C. Morton on lap 16 of the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature, and then held off multiple challenges over theread more
March 15, 2018
King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge opener to Jolly
Thursday night kicked off the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment at the Humboldt, and the 2018 campaign for the USRA Iron Man Chread more
March 15, 2018
King of America VIII - Thursday A-Main Lineup
Out-Pace USRA B-Mod A-Main lineup for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment on Thursday, March 15, at the Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, more
March 15, 2018
King of America VIII - Thursday B-Main Lineups
Out-Pace USRA B-Mod B-Main lineups for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment on Thursday, March 15, at the Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group